We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangani Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 198
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 200
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maru Maru Hotel(Stone Town)
US$ 232
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 111
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 169
US$ 125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Johari(Stone Town)
US$ 74
US$ 69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 102
US$ 91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 188
US$ 170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
US$ 288
US$ 261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
4
15
22
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
15
22
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a great location but the rooms are average. The aircon is very noisy and not sure it even did anything. The fan did a better job. The bed was pretty hard and made for a short person and I am just 5’10. The breakfast was good (ask for the omelette) with a great view of the water

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank BillyK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zahirabbas M, Manager at Shangani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Luke,

Greetings from Shangani Hotel!

Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconviniences caused. All our rooms are equipped with powerful window AC where guests can manually regulate the temperature. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the view of the ocean.

We will ensure your next visit at our hotel will be the best and i ensure you it will be memorable and comfortable one.

We again thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accomodation in Zanzibar. We look forward to welcoming you again.

If you have any querries please do not hesitate to contact me any time on reservations@shanganihotelznz.com

Regards
Zahirabbas Sajjad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

I'm rating this hotel very good due to it's convenient location, super helpful service and the fact that it doesn't pretend to be 5-star. It's got a quaint character about it, fitting with the location and provides everything you can expect for the price.
The only downside for me was the breakfast. Located on the scenic rooftop and exceptionally friendly service but the food didn't meet my expectations - I was tired and ready for home by this point though so possibly a bit harder to please.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMWreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2017

Hi.

Thank you very much for choosing Shangani Hotel as your accommodation in Stone Town during your recent visit. We are glad that your stay with us was memorable one. Thank you once again for highlighting our good service. we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. and i assure you the breakfast will be super delicious :)








Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I was her for two nights! The hotel is in stone town, 5min walk to forodhani! The rooms are nice with Econ and very quite. The disapointing thing is that they don't have a bar or restaurant within! So if you want to drink and food got to find them outside!

It is located in easly accessible location both by Foot and car as well.
Cost is cheaper

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Elibramack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2017

Greetings from Zanzibar!

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. We are very to have an opportunity to serve you at our Hotel it was a joy and great pleasure. Thank you once again for highlight our nice and quite rooms. We at Shangani Hotel try our best to ensure the stay our guests get the most out of their travel experience.

Shangani Hotel has a rooftop restaurant serving breakfast only, indeed our Hotel is surrounded by good restaurants and bars where you can have an amazing time and delicious meal.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and ensuring your next visit is another amazing experience.

Regards
Zahirabbas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The Shanghai hotel is clean and comfortable and right in the middle of town staff are friendly. I think for the price it is well worth a visit to the Shanghai hotel. I have 4 stares because the t v didn't work

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mthaker2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2017

Greeting from beautiful Island of Zanzibar!

Thank you very much for for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to host you at Shangani and looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. We are glad to hear your stay was comfortable. We would also like to thank you for highlighting about clean hotel and friendly staff. Regarding the TV it was addressed to our technical department and i personally assure you your next visit will be memorable one

Regards
Zahirabbas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

reasonable price,great location whereby you can easily access many areas of stone town on foot.the rooms are nice,clean, and air conditioned.they provide good breakfast and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Aisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews