We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerising Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

This stay was perfect right from the time we entered the hotel until check out.

The check was great the check in staff is lovely and makes you feel at home. The room has great views , almost like a dream the balcony is huge and has a hangjng bed and chairs / tables etc , aircon works fine in room shower pressure all great.

I would like to thanks Mr. Paul for the wonderful hospitality, he is one of the most friendliest and helpful GM i have met staying in different hotels around the world,

Also would like to thank Elizabeth from reservation who did a excellent organisation or the Birthday cake for my FIL, it was priceless.

The hotel location is great , right in the center of stonetown.

I thank also Mr. Sulaiman and Ali from concierge who were always smiling

Fantastic hotel can't wait to stay here again

Thanks again to every member of the hotel for making the stay memorable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Traveller4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

Our room did have an ocean view and balcony, but it took a lot of up and down stairs to get to it (no lift), because basically they have merged two buildings into one to create the hotel. Our room was rather dark and small, but there are other lovely rooms. It all depends what price you are paying. Sadly the bed was hard as nails. The hotel staff did all they could to help us, but even a different mattress didn't help... but the manager was very generous and offered us the buffet lunch, which was very good. Lovely and interesting views from the hotel of life in Stone Town on the water. Nice swimming pool area as well.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Kari837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Kari837,
Our hotel relates so much with the history that Zanzibar is famous for. Its true that our hotel is made up of two old buildings with great history converted into a luxurious hotel. As you walk into our hotel, you will feel like you are entering a Zanzibari museum with a lot to learn about your destination.
We apologize for those areas of our products and services which did not live up to your expectation and promise to work on them.
We hope to host you again soon

With Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I spent 2 nights at the Serena on a work trip. It was amazing. The room as lovely and spacious, had a lovely balcony that overlooked the sea. Room 35 has the most amazing powerful shower.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and full of original local features.
The breakfasts were amazing, such a variety of choice, and I especially enjoyed a glass of champagne with my breakfast on my last morning there.
The hotel is not cheap, but it is really a gorgeous place to stay with friendly and helpful staff always there with a smile and ready to assist.

Room Tip: Room 35 was lovely, can't comment on others as I've only stayed once. It had views of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FionaKTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted that you loved our theme and decor which mirrors the real Zanzibari culture. a stay with us is indeed a real Zanzibar stay. Me and my team would be happy to see you soon for another real Zanzibar experience

With regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel on the second half of our holiday for a relaxing few days. The hotel could not have been better super views from the balcony watching the dhows go by on the ocean. The rooms and the hotel has a lovely colonial feel. Food was first class and the staff excellent even the security were friendly and helpful. We only managed two trips walking tour of stone town a must and the spice tour also worth while, would have done more tours but enjoyed relaxing at the hotel. hope to visit again soon.
Bob and Sue UK

Room Tip: we were on floor three view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank X8981UAsueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Bob and Sue,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you had an amazing time courtesy of our staff on whom we take great pride. Our location within Stone Town is indeed another point to make you want to stay with us as you have rightly put it. Once again I thank you very much and we look forward to your next stone town visit

With Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is rjght on the ocean, which makes it stand out from most.
The hotel can arrange transport from the airport. Its a walking distance from any point of interest, and restaurants. Stuff is friendly, helpfull, and any request or question was answered.
The hotel has great old decoration all over.
Breakfast was good, but you have better options near by for lunch and dinner. Overcooking, not exciting and pricey.
We had a room on the third floor with ocean view. No elevator, but the higher you get, the view becomes unreal. Room is small, but the balcony and view makes it a must pick. Worth every dollar.
Room was clean and well maintained. Its not the best deal, but if you are looking for a stylish stay with perfect view, this is a great choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are very happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you loved our authentic Zanzibar theme and decor. Thank you also for your nice comments on our staff who are indeed a pillar in our business. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing holiday.

Kind regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 km away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
599 reviews
30.8 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,710 reviews
12.8 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 km away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
31.8 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: ₹ 17,602 - ₹ 28,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing