We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
421
222
64
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
222
64
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig joeseafood restaurantindian oceanwrap around balconymain restaurantbeautiful hotelpublic beachterrace restaurantsea viewold worldnice poolwalking tourthe general managerspice tourold buildingno elevatornarrow streets
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Our room did have an ocean view and balcony, but it took a lot of up and down stairs to get to it (no lift), because basically they have merged two buildings into one to create the hotel. Our room was rather dark and small, but there are other lovely rooms. It all depends what price you are paying. Sadly the bed was hard as nails. The hotel staff did all they could to help us, but even a different mattress didn't help... but the manager was very generous and offered us the buffet lunch, which was very good. Lovely and interesting views from the hotel of life in Stone Town on the water. Nice swimming pool area as well.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Kari837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Kari837,
Our hotel relates so much with the history that Zanzibar is famous for. Its true that our hotel is made up of two old buildings with great history converted into a luxurious hotel. As you walk into our hotel, you will feel like you are entering a Zanzibari museum with a lot to learn about your destination.
We apologize for those areas of our products and services which did not live up to your expectation and promise to work on them.
We hope to host you again soon

With Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I spent 2 nights at the Serena on a work trip. It was amazing. The room as lovely and spacious, had a lovely balcony that overlooked the sea. Room 35 has the most amazing powerful shower.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and full of original local features.
The breakfasts were amazing, such a variety of choice, and I especially enjoyed a glass of champagne with my breakfast on my last morning there.
The hotel is not cheap, but it is really a gorgeous place to stay with friendly and helpful staff always there with a smile and ready to assist.

Room Tip: Room 35 was lovely, can't comment on others as I've only stayed once. It had views of the ocean which is lovely in the morning.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FionaKTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted that you loved our theme and decor which mirrors the real Zanzibari culture. a stay with us is indeed a real Zanzibar stay. Me and my team would be happy to see you soon for another real Zanzibar experience

With regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel on the second half of our holiday for a relaxing few days. The hotel could not have been better super views from the balcony watching the dhows go by on the ocean. The rooms and the hotel has a lovely colonial feel. Food was first class and the staff excellent even the security were friendly and helpful. We only managed two trips walking tour of stone town a must and the spice tour also worth while, would have done more tours but enjoyed relaxing at the hotel. hope to visit again soon.
Bob and Sue UK

Room Tip: we were on floor three view amazing
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank X8981UAsueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Bob and Sue,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you had an amazing time courtesy of our staff on whom we take great pride. Our location within Stone Town is indeed another point to make you want to stay with us as you have rightly put it. Once again I thank you very much and we look forward to your next stone town visit

With Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is rjght on the ocean, which makes it stand out from most.
The hotel can arrange transport from the airport. Its a walking distance from any point of interest, and restaurants. Stuff is friendly, helpfull, and any request or question was answered.
The hotel has great old decoration all over.
Breakfast was good, but you have better options near by for lunch and dinner. Overcooking, not exciting and pricey.
We had a room on the third floor with ocean view. No elevator, but the higher you get, the view becomes unreal. Room is small, but the balcony and view makes it a must pick. Worth every dollar.
Room was clean and well maintained. Its not the best deal, but if you are looking for a stylish stay with perfect view, this is a great choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are very happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you loved our authentic Zanzibar theme and decor. Thank you also for your nice comments on our staff who are indeed a pillar in our business. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing holiday.

Kind regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

On the island of Zanzibar and in stone town--it was convenient to walking and exploring. It was on the beach with a great view, and it had air-conditioning. A lot of carved woodwork added a lot of character. The service and the restaurant were excellent. The linens were of good quality, but the bed was rock hard.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovethesnow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review. The woodwork is derived from the history that Zanzibar is famous for. We stand to give you the authentic Zanzibar experience. We have taken note of the comment on our beds and will work on it. we look forward to another visit

Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews