We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 182
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 155
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Johari(Stone Town)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 82
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zanzibar Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
US$ 151
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 235
US$ 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
US$ 90
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maru Maru Hotel(Stone Town)
US$ 150
US$ 140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 185
US$ 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
411
221
64
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
221
64
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig joeseafood restaurantindian oceanwrap around balconymain restaurantbeautiful hotelpublic beachterrace restaurantsea viewold worldnice poolwalking tourthe general managerspice tourhigh ceilingsold buildingno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is rjght on the ocean, which makes it stand out from most.
The hotel can arrange transport from the airport. Its a walking distance from any point of interest, and restaurants. Stuff is friendly, helpfull, and any request or question was answered.
The hotel has great old decoration all over.
Breakfast was good, but you have better options near by for lunch and dinner. Overcooking, not exciting and pricey.
We had a room on the third floor with ocean view. No elevator, but the higher you get, the view becomes unreal. Room is small, but the balcony and view makes it a must pick. Worth every dollar.
Room was clean and well maintained. Its not the best deal, but if you are looking for a stylish stay with perfect view, this is a great choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are very happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you loved our authentic Zanzibar theme and decor. Thank you also for your nice comments on our staff who are indeed a pillar in our business. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing holiday.

Kind regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

On the island of Zanzibar and in stone town--it was convenient to walking and exploring. It was on the beach with a great view, and it had air-conditioning. A lot of carved woodwork added a lot of character. The service and the restaurant were excellent. The linens were of good quality, but the bed was rock hard.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovethesnow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review. The woodwork is derived from the history that Zanzibar is famous for. We stand to give you the authentic Zanzibar experience. We have taken note of the comment on our beds and will work on it. we look forward to another visit

Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I was a bit concerned booking the Serena based on reviews, but I found the hotel and staff to be incredibly charming and comfortable. I am a solo female traveler and felt completely safe at The Serena. After climbing Kilimanjaro and spending several days on safari, the air conditioner, spacious rooms and delicious food all felt amazingly luxurious.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Julie,

Congratulations on having climbed the tallest peak! Thank you for the trust you put on us based on the reviews. We are happy that you confirmed that indeed the reviews are true. We will look forward to your next visit for another amazing holiday.

Warm regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

From the hotel you can walk to all the sights and wander thru the streets. Numerous good restaurants and coffee shops again within walking distance. Room overlooked the sea with a wrap around balcony. A little cramped due to it being an old renovated building - really well done. Breakfast was fine but the lunch and dinner menus lacked any inspiration. Staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Will154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful and insightful review. Our hotel derives its theme and decor from the history of Zanzibar. We are situated in the middle of and inside the history of Zanzibar. I have taken note of your comments on the menus and we shall do a review of them soon. If you have any thoughts of what you would like to see on our menus, I welcome it. You can share with me on my e-mail- PChaulo@serena.co.tz and we will be happy to use your idea to model a menu geared towards our customers' satisfaction. Thank you once again for taking time to review us. we look forward to your next visit

Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

After a wonderful 10 day trip to Tanzania on safari we headed to Zanzibar for some
beach time. Our first night was spent at the Serena Hotel, in the heart of Stone Town with an amazing view of the sunset on the Indian Ocean.
The rooms were very nice, we had WiFi and they food was delicious.
The following morning when we were packing to head off to a beach resort, to my horror and dismay I could not find my handbag with all my important documents including my Passport!
The tour was scheduled to depart so I remained at the hotel wondering how I
would proceed. The wonderful manager Mr Paul Chaulo sat with me and we reviewed
footage of my entire time at the hotel as we reconstructed where I had been. Finally as we were getting to the end of the possibilities we came across one last place to look.
Incredibly my purse was still there and all the contents intact! We all danced for joy!!
Mr Chaulo. explained that he had recently had these cameras installed. The trip up until
that point had been one of the best ever and fortunately with his help it remains one of the best ever.
I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Get a view of the courtyard or an ocean view if possible and enjkoy the sunset
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank snp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Zanzibar Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Joan,

I remember how happy we all were to discover your handbag with all the contents intact. Am happy that this small touch has made a topic in our TripAdvisor page. I thank you very much for your patience and cooperation that made it work. Me and my team look forward to your next visit to Zanzibar

With Regards,

Paul Chaulo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews