We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$131
View deal
Expedia.com
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Priceline
$96
View deal
Hotels.com$132
Travelocity$132
Hurb$145
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
389
294
81
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
389
294
81
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant third floor perfect location prison island indian ocean sunset heart zanzibar stonetown sundowners africa waterfront safari architecture ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2022

We stayed here for two nights to recover from a safari on the mainland, before we moved on to our beach resort. It is clean, centrally located to most Stone Town sites, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooftop environment is very relaxing, although the restaurant food is not the best and they play this weird style of American songs turned into musak that got irritating after a while.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BartonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahipal Singh, Marketing at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear Barton,

Greeting from Maru Maru Hotel, Zanzibar!

Thank you for staying with Maru Maru Hotel and your valuable time to write wonderful review about location, staff and recommendation.

I will share your appreciation with entire team including your feedback. It will help us to achieve next higher level.

Look forward to see you again.


Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

First night we had dinner at the roof top restaurant. We would strongly advice to improve the quality of the food. Also the music that night was far to loud and out of tune. The music the second night was much better, we did not eat again at the restaurant. The roof top terrace has a nice view. Breakfast has lots of choice and a very nice waiter. The rooms are nice but the chairs are screechy. We would advice to put vilt under the legs of the chairs. The ambiance is nice, the location good and the service and friendliness were all in good order.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank anne-marie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahipal Singh, Marketing at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear Anne,

Greeting from Maru Maru Hotel, Zanzibar!

Thank you for staying with Maru Maru Hotel and your valuable time to write wonderful review about location, staff and recommendation.

I will share your appreciation with entire team including your feedback. It will help us to achieve next higher level.

Look forward to see you again.


Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2022

Excellent service and very friendly ready to help staff.
Enjoyed delicious and affordable meals. Enjoyed extra snack from the cake shop and cudos to the person serving that shop.
Cudos to reception area for readily getting us transport to various places we wanted to visit.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vince O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahipal Singh, Marketing at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Dear Edward,

Greeting from Maru Maru Hotel, Zanzibar!

Thank you for staying with Maru Maru Hotel and your valuable time write wonderful review.

I will share your appreciation and feedback with entire team, it will help up to achieve next higher level.

Look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2022

Excellent because I was working at Hotel industry so I don't have a photo from your hotel because i come for interview but I so some aresa at public is nice my be some of the area need to scrbing like back areas

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank edwardmichael2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahipal Singh, Marketing at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Dear Edward,

Greeting from Maru Maru Hotel, Zanzibar!

Thank you for staying with Maru Maru Hotel and your valuable time write wonderful review.

I will share your appreciation and feedback with entire team, it will help up to achieve next higher level.

Look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2022

All staff were excellent, they are very kind and helpful. Perfect location in town. Great room with comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Swimming pool on roof top, I loved reception, I booked hotel one day before 24th for 25th July, and paid through my Cr card, On 25th morning I was there and checked my booking, I did mistake to choose month, It was booked for one month later 25 July, the hotel was fully booked, reception said us wait 20 minutes we will try for you. We waited 20 minutes and after 20 minutes they provided a room, we already cancelled our booking for 25 July. Again we paid but within 4/5 days they refunded that I paid for 25th July. Anyway excellent Hotel, thank you all staffs.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chungbasherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahipal Singh, Marketing at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Maru Maru Hotel, Zanzibar!

Thank you for staying with Maru Maru Hotel and your valuable time to write us.

We always try our best to provide to give best experience and we happy to accommodate you.

I will share valuable feedback with entire team it will help us to achieve next higher level.


Look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews