We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon seeing the "real" Stone Town”
Review of The Beautiful Eyes

The Beautiful Eyes
Ranked #23 of 45 things to do in Stone Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We start more than three year ago, a fine art photo gallery in the centre of Stone Town in the former tourist shop of Zakia.The idea to initiate The Beautiful Eyes as a place to present art photography started in May 2008 when three photographers visited Zanzibar for a week of photography. They missed a place to talk, present and even to buy photography.In September 2008 Hans Agterdenbos, one of the three, came back to stone town and started investigations to open a gallery. He met Zakia Abdullah they married in march 2009 and they founded The Beautiful Eyes place to talk about photography, find inspiration and maybe good ideas. Up to the present time ±4500 visitors found the way into there gallery.Some take an original photograph home, others attend one of the workshops the Photowalk© the Shambawalk© the Pembasafari. Most caught some inspiration and all of them left the gallery with a good feeling and positive words
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Hans and Zakia spent the afternoon with me showing me the beauty of Stone Town. I learned a lot about Photography in such a short time, I only wish I lived closer! They both offered great tips, and I loved the interaction with the locals, and of course the kids (they are so cute).

The afternoon provided a great view of Stone Town, a nice learning experience, and I definitely have some fantastic photos.

Highly recommend spending some time with Hans and Zakia, it will be the highlight of your time in Zanzibar.

4  Thank melis38610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

I joined Zakia and Hans for a 3 hour photo walk through Stone Town, and was able to get some great images for my portfolio. Their understanding of the people of Zanzibar let me have access to motifs that without their help would not be accesible to me. As we walked we spoke about the art of photography and the photographer's mindset. It was a truly inspiring and amazing afternoon, that I would recommend to any photographers out there no matter which level of expertise.

Jacob Andersen, Flensburg, Germany

4  Thank JacobKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

THANK YOU to Sakia and Hans of The Beautiful Eyes! The photo walk with them in Stone Town was one of the highlights of our month long holiday in East Africa. If you enjoy photography, then talk a walk with The Beautiful Eyes, make some of the best pictures of your life, and perhaps like me, rekindle your passion for photography.

2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebeautifuleyes, Owner at The Beautiful Eyes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Hi Amanda, what can I say that's what we hope for doing the walk the passion comes back good !!. Please sent us some of the work you make on the walk that night you took beautiful shots show it the world on our photowalk blog. I know you have busy time now you told me but do not forget it.

Warm regards

Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I am not a great photographer, but I wanted to learn. Hans and his wife (who is from Stonetown) took me on wonderful guided walk through the streets of Stonetown teaching me equally about life in Zanzibar and the art of street photography. They clearly know Stonetown and its people well I took me some places I wouldn't otherwise have gone. As for the photographs, well I have much to learn but I finished with a determination to take photography more seriously.

2  Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beautiful Eyes also viewed

 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to The Beautiful Eyes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing