We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 101
View deal
Expedia.com
US$ 99
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/21
Hotels.com
US$ 99
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/21
CheapTicketsUS$ 99
Orbitz.comUS$ 99
TravelocityUS$ 99
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
234
115
35
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
115
35
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal swimming pool small hotel beautiful oasis guest rooms late flight steep stairs unique hotel stayed for two nights roof terrace old house lots of character wonderful stay welcome drink short stay prison island princess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We had a very nice stay at Kholle Boutique Hotel! The satff was super friendly, the food at breakfast and the restaurant were really good (the hibiscus juice is absolutely fantastic!). The whole hotel has been rebuild recently in ancient Stone Town style so it is a true piece of art and history. It is not uncommon to have other tourists stop by and ask permission to take photos of the beautiful doors and architecture. The bed was very comfortable so they must have changed things since the last comments two years ago.
The hotel has a small but nice swimming pool. It also has a massage centre and can organize trips for the guests. It is also very well located to discover the old Stone Town
We really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it

One fair warning however: it is right next to an historical mosque so if you are easily bothered by the calls for prayer (which for me is part of the experience when visiting Muslim countries) you might want to take ear plugs :-)

P.S. I was looking at who posted bad comments on this hotel and was surprised to see 6 recent bad reviews from 6 people from Malta who said they all stayed in this hotel in Jan or Feb 2021. I was there in Feb 2021 and did not have at all the same experience. I wonder how truthfull these comments are... I never saw the people in the hotel during my stay so I wonder if they were even there!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentW925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis Saudubray, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your thorough and very positive comments about Princess Kholle's hideaway. We shall share them with our team.
The House and its restaurant are indeed opened to whoever wishes to enjoy the genuine Swahili style that we tried to bring back to life in this old urban mansion.
It is a fact that we have been recently harassed by a bunch of bad guys who posted a string of nasty comments against the House.
As for the call of the muezzin around 5 a.m. there is little we can do about it. There are more than 50 mosques in the old city of Stone Town and one cannot escape from their calls. Let's say it's part of the exotic charm of the city.
Many thanks again and good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

My husband and I had an amaizing stay at Kholle house, the staff are very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and having dinner with the house chef is a must. Being in the middle of stone town you have peace and quiet and time to unwind in the pool ‍♀️.
I would highly recommend the house for your stay in Stone town.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joycemanahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis Saudubray, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Dear guests,
Many thanks for your beautiful comments about Pricess Kholle's hideaway.
We will definitely share your kind words with our staff.
Sincerely and "kwaheri" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

I've been going to Kholle House for a few years now. Every time I am in stone town i book this hotel and this hotel only. It's exquisite. The hotel and the rooms are beautifully restored to their original features from back 19th century style. Depending on which rooms some are more spacious than the others. and so beautifully decorated, a real eye feast!! The bathrooms are a treat too!! I love this place. They have a roof terrace, it's quite lovely to enjoy your breakfast and meals under the trees in this little den by the pool. No matter which room i stay in i am always happy. The place is spotless clean, the staff willing and lovely. The owners are fab. friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing stay completely immersed in the history stone town's Princess Kholle.

Thank you Kholle House!

Room tip: Love Room 14.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 11asm88n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis Saudubray, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Dear Guest,
We are humbled by your outstanding comments and appreciation about Kholle House.
We actually try our best to keep this old lady fit for accommodating international tourists and travellers in a historical environment but with modern comfort standards.
Our fusion cuisine, between Swahili fragrances and French Creole touches is indeed available for amateurs and connaisseurs.
We shall definitely share your very kind words with our team.
Sincerely and "Kwaheri"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

I have stayed in a lot of places in stone town and this is the best so far. Is very nice and beautiful house, The environment is really natural and cool. Its a right place to rest and overhauling your lifestyles. Very affordable, fantastic food for all meals and the pool is great! The rooms are big and clean and the staff is amazing.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sashar425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis Saudubray, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments which are a relief after a string of six nasty and unfair comments.
All the very best and kwaheri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel and the first impression was anything but what the positive reviews state. Pool is tiny, hotel smelt of mound. When we complained to manager Anne she was so rude and basically said if you don’t like it you can leave. Did nothing to rectify the issues. We appreciate every hotel can have issues beyond their control however having a person who is supposed to be the manager speak to guests in a rude way is not acceptable. If I could leave 0 stars I would. Avoid this place

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nickydd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis Saudubray, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Anything excessive is insignificant...
For the 6th time you guys report the same non sense stories.
We do not understand why Trip Advisor tolerates such a harrassment and we do not understand what your interest in being so nasty. Besides there were 4 of you impatient guys and now we have six reports of this kind. It's fake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews