We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.com
Priceline$160
Vio.com$160
eDreams$148
Agoda.com$160
Destinia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
418
162
45
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
418
162
45
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread basket senior suite rooftop restaurant one night large bathroom beautiful hotel air conditioning boutique hotel old house breakfast and dinner kenyatta road cooked breakfast lounge area dark wood within easy walking distance small hotel top floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 651 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2022 via mobile

Wonderful stay in Kisiwa House the room is well set up and air conditioned. Clean and very comfortable. The staff are welcoming we enjoyed talking to Frank and Charles who helped us during our stay. Lovely terrace breakfast area freshly made to order.

Room tip: Central location, steps to rooms
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank es N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Front Office Manager, Other at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

Dear Es N
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Your compliments about our Hotel are well-received and greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you.
Frank Albert Tiba
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

Gorgeous merchant's house dating back to the 1840s, beautifully renovated and filled with antique furniture and old staircases. Amazing ambience with friendly and genuinely helpful staff. It's a short walk from busy central Stone Town, and we found it very quiet and peaceful (despite a vocal rooster living nearby while we were here). Air conditioning works great, very hot water, super comfortable beds with mosquito nets -- there is little to complain about! The rooftop restaurant was good for breakfast but not really worth a visit for dinner (they are apparently considering making some changes to the menu), and not open during the day, nor do they sell any alcohol. Still very happy to recommend Kisiwa!!

Room tip: No lift/elevator (but you'll get help with your luggage), and no alcohol sold.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 891caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Front Office Manager, Other at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2022

Dear Caroline.
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful review about your stay with us at the Kisiwa House.
We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience with us.
I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and location as much as your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you.
Frank Albert Tiba
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located in Stone Town and it is within walking distance to the city. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is big, clean and sufficiently equipped with shampoo etc. After 15 days in various hotels, it was a pleasure to have a well-functioning and hot shower. Dinner on the roof terrace was excellent, the view of the sea should also be mentioned. Breakfast was also delicious, here you choose from different dishes. The staff are very nice and accommodating. Nevertheless the before arrival we were handled well by the management WhatsApp message we had already know exactly what we are going to do, what to eat as they asked if we are allergic, expected time for arrival and even they sent the menu and we chose what we were going to eat at night.
I really appreciate all the front office team top terrace and the cleaning staff. I am a traveler and here will be my home.

Room tip: Location very close to attractions
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Front Office Manager, Other at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2022

Dear Yan L.
Thank you for this awesome review.
We are delighted to hear you loved our spacious room with a big bathroom, dinner, breakfast, and location we appreciate your compliments on our staff's hospitality.
We look forward to opportunities to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you.
Frank Albert Tiba
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2022 via mobile

Lovely old building in the heart of Stonetown. Large communal area which was comfortable and cool when needed a break from humidity outside. Clean, spacious room and bathroom. Massive breakfast and good value evening meal. Attentive staff. Generally good communication but did have some minor issues.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank timmY166EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Front Office Manager, Other at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2022

Dear Tim M.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff.
Your compliments on our good value evening meal, delicious breakfast, and spacious room and bathroom are wonderfully received.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit soon.
Thank you.
Frank Albert Tiba
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2022 via mobile

Nice and cosy place in Stonetown, beautiful rooftop terrace, nice restaurant up there with very good food. Will be back!! Very nice staff, beautifuö rooms, good aircondition or fan. Best place to stay in Stonetown. Very centrally located

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Somabay120914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Front Office Manager, Other at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2022

Dear Somabay.
Thank you for your excellent review and rating.
Your compliments on our staff, food on the rooftop terrace, and our central location close to all key tourist attractions are gratefully received.
We are happy and proud to receive your high recommendation and look forward to your return.
Thank you.
Frank Albert Tiba
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews