We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Vio.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
56
16
13
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
16
13
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower door pool area lovely hotel third floor fresh fruit mosquito net heart masai stonetown luggage ac alley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2022

Very good location In a safe Neighbour hood in central. Very kind and helpfull staff and the room was a good size and simple furnished.
Only bad thing I can say that it was noisy In the Morning from the staff cleaning In the hall ways by talking loud to eachother.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank salma_Rashid2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 February 2022

Stone Town is not the most beautiful place in the world, but the Antonio Garden Hotel was a nice oasis in the city. It had a nice garden setting and everything was clean. Things also worked well.

The hotel is located on the narrow alleys of Stone Town and can't be reached by car. The entrance looks small, but once you get inside, the hotel is midsized with 30 rooms. All of the rooms are accessed directly from the inner yard.

My room was nice. It had a separate kitchenette area with some basic kitchenware. The room was slightly worn out, but not bad. There were generic power sockets by the bed which would take at least European, US and UK plugs. The aircon worked well and I could adjust the temperature easily. The housekeeping came twice a day, during the day to clean the room and early in the evening to set up the mosquito net over the bed. There was a glass bottle of 1 liter of drinking water in the room, which the maid replaced with a full one when cleaning the room, usually also on evening visits.

As the hotel was on an alley with no cars, there was no traffic noise. However there was a mosque closeby, so the sunrise prayer call was a guaranteed wakeup every morning. There was also a school on the opposite side of the street and it had no windows (it had the window openings, but no glass in them). The pupils often seemed to repeat phrases together, which created a loud voice that could be heard even inside my room.

The WiFi was slowish and sometimes patchy.

The hotel restaurant was located outside by the pool. As a result they also served the pool area too. I had only breakfast there and it left me with mixed feelings. There was enough selection and also warm items. I ate every morning enough to skip lunch. The selection seemed to change from day to day. There was an egg station preparing eggs to order, fresh fruit and vegetables, toast, some bakery products, cereals and a few warm items. The warm items were actually luke warm. As the buffet was outside, cold items not covered were sometimes swarming with flies. The cold items were brought wrapped in a plastic foil, but many of the guests didn't bother putting the foil back after taking some food. The bakery items were not fresh, they were dry. The warm items were not up to Western standards: the presentation wasn't nice (some could say some of the items looked disgusting) and e.g. the oatmeal didn't have much oats in it. Some homeless cats had taken the restaurant as their home.

The pool area had 5 lounging chairs in addition to the restaurant tables.

The front desk was friendly and spoke good English. There was a separate tour desk.

Stone Town is quite compact, so everything there was only a short walk away, including a number of restaurants. The immediate vicinity of the hotel was quiet.

Pick-up from the airport cost $20. The price was a bit on the expensive side, but they came to meet me with a taxi driver and a member of the hotel staff. As the taxi couldn't take you to the hotel, the staff member showed me the way to walk there and carried my luggage.

Overall the hotel provided very good value. Had the breakfast been better, I would have rated the overall experience excellent.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kuu-kanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2022

We stayed for 4 days at this hotel. Our room was nice and comfortable and the a/c was refreshing. The complimentary water is not always filled up unless you specifically ask. The breakfast is really good, except for the coffee (I'd suggest bringing your own or grabbing some at a coffee shop if you love your java). The front desk staff were sometimes clueless, wanting to charge us again for money we had already paid them on the website.
The swimming pool was good.

Room tip: Ask to be away from the front of the hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed at Antonio Garden Hotel for 1 night in Stone Town. The whole proces of booking, checking in and checking out was smooth. Staff was super nice and helpful. The room was super nice - we had a twin setup and the beds were amazing and we had duvets and AC which you dont have a lot of places on the Island. Breakfast was also super nice and we really enjoyed the short stay we had. Will definetely comeback here when in Stone Town.

Room tip: This isn't a beach front place - but its a perfect location as it lets you wander the small streets of Stone Town and really soak in the culture.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sanneht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 December 2021

The restaurant staff specifically, Christopher Ngossi and Charles Ngera who seem to work 16hours a day are respectfull, observant and most efficient. My sister and I found both of them to be alert to all their clients needs. The chef, Nassor Massoud , is a bright light explaining/describingZanzibari foods. He even cooked a just fallen breadfruit a client was holding. What a memorable exerience he offered guests. The meticulous young woman who takes care of the restaurant and pool area is extremely attentive and seems to never stop cleaning. There are also two most accomodating young women who prepare our eggs just as we ask, and with a smile.
Unfortunatley we only used the restuarant before dark as each night they lit the tekki lamps with fuel or whatever it was that caused both of us to get headaches.
We thought it would be nice if the restaurant offered fish fry nights
but even more importantly local music. We certainly don't come here to listen to elevator music as it sometimes the case.
I would also like to ask hotel owners to be aware that your housekeeping staff are forced to carry heavy items up and down the corridors ...get them a hotel trolley be kind.

Room tip: 307 spacious
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tsionmariamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews