We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat(Bergville)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bingelela Lodge(Bergville)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalmore Farm Guest House(Bergville)(Great Value!)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 104
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Tree Hill(Bergville)
US$ 439
US$ 426
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
288
132
22
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
132
22
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomhappy returnshorse ridingforest retreatwine cellarsuperior suitethe cave barduckmany yearsstandard roomberg resortfamily hotelour waitertable tennisall agesunderfloor heatingbath and shower
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our family have been going there since July 1961. On the first holiday at the Cavern I got bitten by the the Cavern Bug. To keep this infection under control one have to go back at least once a year. I went back more often, and what a pleasant medicine that was! A friend of mine, a Londoner from Wimbledon heard about this place on board a Union Castle liner. In July 1961 Ron Allen And I went to investigate and got bitten by the bug. Now I am a grandfather and all my offspring have been infected. I lived in South Africa for 43 years. Now I live in Europe and can only go there every two or three years and at 82 cannot climb the mountains any more. My last visit was Nov 2011 and we had a fantastic time. An excellent place for star watching as well. Scores very high on all points! AL VAN BASTELAAR

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alvaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

A lovely, small family style hotel in the spectacular surroundings of the Drakensberg mountains of South Africa. Standard rooms are very basic with no TV or other luxuries. The superior rooms are much better with more space, TV and bath. The family cottages are well equipped and a good bet for a family.
There are a number of activities organised, including guided walks and these should be taken advantage of as the walks are great with spectacular views.
The hotel is only 3 stars so one shouldn't expect too much but some of the hotel could definitely do with a refresh and some updating.
Food in the restaurant was adequate but not exciting. Some of the food was served luke warm to almost cold. Vegetarians were reasonably catered for.
Internet is only available in the the lounge areas and for a modest fee.
Overall worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Set at the end of a Valley in the beautiful Drakensberg Mountains, the Cavern Resort is wonderfully set out among the trees, meaning that you're in for a treat observing the colourful and varied Birdlife.
The Room that we stayed in enjoyed a great view across the Bowling green to the Mountains, and we only had to venture onto our private balcony to revel in the beauty of the Setting. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a nice spacious Bathroom en-suite.
We arrived at Lunchtime on our first day, to be greeted by a Buffet Braai Lunch, which was very tasty. The Staff on Reception, and the Porter who helped us with our Luggage to our room made us feel very welcome, and we soon enjoyed a walk around the beautiful Grounds of the Resort.
The Walking Activities seems to be well organised, although unfortunately due to Heavy Rain the night before we were due to go on our walk, we cancelled, and stayed around the Resort. We swam in the lovely big Pool, which we virtually had to ourselves.
Our Meals were varied and tasty, although the Dining room experience, while pleasant, felt a little dated.
Although we had bad luck with the weather (rain), we enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon in the Cavern Bar, and chatted to both the Bar Staff and other Guests, while enjoying watching the African pebble Game of Mancala (or a local version of it). The Staff were happy to explain the rules of this fascinating game, and I'm now addicted!
We would say that one of the most pleasant aspects of our Stay at the Cavern Resort was the friendliness of everyone, particularly the other Guests. We were very impressed with the number of Guests who were on their second, third or even more return visits to the Resort, and this speaks volumes about how nice it was to stay.
This was our first visit to the Drakensberg, and after our Stay at the Cavern, we're sure it won't be our last!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soutietye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at The Cavern for 5 nights in December. It was fantastic - the food, the location, activities for the kids, everything. Right outside our room there were walks we could go on. The resort cat even followed us all the way to the Gorge which was a nice 20 minute walk away - easy to do with our 2 young kids (aged 6 and 4). There were plenty of walks for their age - we did 1 guided walk and the kids even helped gather the firewood to make tea once we were at the top of the mountain! The Spa is HEAVEN but book in advance if going in busy season. The food is so delicious, we ate far too much but couldn't help ourselves. My husband and I played bowls, tennis and croquet a few times and since there was a playground right there the kids could entertain themselves as well. The pool with the slide is great and it was nice to order drinks from the phone by the pool. Our room was adequate and we did know that we chose the option of not having TV or a bar fridge in our room but we missed not having that option once we got there. I'm sure if we asked they would have brought us one but we decided to force ourselves not to watch telly for 6 days! We only got cabin fever on day 4 and decided to eave the resort and go for a drive to nearby Royal Natal National Park. The Cavern caters for families, couples, tourists, hikers etc. The nannies in the playroom were fantastic and I loved the way they set up the placemats, cutlery etc for the kids and the kids had a 3 course meal and felt so important - we are definetly going back!

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask for a room near the playroom - in that way you can sit outside your room enjoying the view but still be in ear-shot of the kids!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NadineinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent 9 days over Christmas at the Cavern (this was our 5th visit - so about time for a review)
Our purpose was a great family holiday covering 3 generations. It lived up to all expectations with daily activities for the children (aged 6 & 8 years). The daily hikes also cater for two types of hikers - those who like a challeng and ans shorter family friendly options.
The SPA is also a great addition with treatment rooms open to the forest.
The children are already planning thier next holiday to the Cavern - we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews