We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
77
6
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
6
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach villa mobile phone recommend villa lovely villa mr alex fantastic beach excellent location a wonderful stay privacy chef essentials sculptures mauritius boat cyclone
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Stylia, We stayed in a beach villa and the view of the sea was worth the extra money, All the villas are the same on the inside – just the garden and views are different – so really any villa is worth staying in, but if you need to see the sea book a beach villa.
The villa is top standard, it’s like a very posh hotel with loads of space. 3 very good size bedrooms and wonderful ensuite bathrooms – all very modern and equipped. The living area downstairs has wonderful furniture a modern and well equipt kitchen. The services on offer from the team of staff are great. The chef will cook and deliver breakfast, lunch and dinner daily – so you don’t even need to cook! His food was very good and the portions huge.
The villa looks out onto the beautiful beach and blue seas. There is a little natural hedge between the garden and the beach and its elevated, so the garden is very private – no one can look in. The private pool was lovely a great way to cool off and the kids loved it. The beach is accessed down the little path and steps. There are very comfy sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach and the beach is fantastic. The beach is wide and very white and soft – the best and only beach in Trou d'eau douce to go to – the other beaches are narrow and rocky . At the end of the bay you can go snorkelling straight off the beach, there is some nice coral and plenty of fish – we saw all kinds of fish just 50m from the shore including – Picasso, zebra, eels, puffers, swords and loads of others in all different colours – we ticked off everyone on our Mauritius fish chart! . Most of the other beaches in the area you need to catch a boat out to the reef, here you can swim to it. It was great and saved us a fortune on boat trips. We didn’t even go to the island nearby as the sea and beach was just so good.
Just remember to pack your own snorkel and mask. The sea is not as flat as some beaches nearby, but this means you can swim, play in the waves – loads of fun for the kids aged 6 & 8 – but maybe not so great for babies.
I really recommend Villa Stylia, the villas are great, the location amazing – but you may want to hire a car to get out and about.

Room Tip: Beach view villas - amazing sea views
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank abbi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I visited Mauritius last year in October. First of all before I start talking about the villa, October is one of the best time to visit Mauritius as the weather is very pleasant.

Coming to the property, right from the time of booking, the owner Mr Alex was very helpful and guided us throughout.This villa is located in the village Trou D'eau Douce which is not crowded and still lively. There are 6 Villas out of which the front two villas are the ones which have the sea view as the villa's garden is just 10 steps from the main sea. So you are literally staying on the beach. The view is spectacular and you can just spend hours at the beach without any worries.

The villa is spacious and well kept. They have a kitchen with all utensils so you can cook anything you want. They also have their own kitchen so you can order food if you like. There is small swimming pool in the villa which is also well kept and you can have a blast in it. Overall a very pretty, clean and charming villa with an excellent location. The clear blue Sea will mesmerize you. Try to book early to get accommodated in the front two villas. Rest of the villas are also equally good. Its just that you have to walk for half a minute to reach the beach.

Room Tip: front two villas with sea view
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We spent the second half of our week long trip at Stylia Villas, along the east coast of Mauritius. This part of the island is comparatively less developed than areas like Black River or Tamarin where we spent the first few days. Driving across the island, it almost seemed like we had travelled couple of decades back in time.
With that said, this area is gorgeous and if you're looking for a relaxing beach getaway, it just doesn't get better than this. There's miles and miles of sugarcane farms and a long, beautiful coast.
Trou D'eau Douce is a small, charming town with a smattering of cafes and small supermarkets and the villas are just about a 3 - 5 minute drive from the centre of the town so you are never really isolated.
The villas themselves are beautiful. Though not spectacularly appointed, they are spacious, very functional and comfortable. Each villa has a small lawn and a private pool with a waterfall. It's great to lounge around in and soak in the warm sun. Each villa has a boundary wall so you get a lot of privacy and are almost never disturbed by other guests.
We stayed in a garden villa, but the beach was just a few steps down a beautifully manicured wooden pathway. There's a lot of greenery inside the complex and we were quite taken in by the dwarf coconut trees that had coconuts growing within touching distance.
The furnishing of the villas is utilitarian and quite basic and not very plush or luxurious, which is understandable given that it has more of a beach house kind of vibe. My wife found the mattresses to be a bit uncomfortable, though I did not have any problems.
They provided ample crockery and utensils for cooking etc., however, on the negative side, some of the non-stick frying pans were pretty badly scratched up and probably need urgent replacement.
The fridge was stocked with liquor and some basic essentials, all of which were chargeable and at a pretty healthy mark-up compared to market prices. Nothing wrong with that per se, especially since this is a standard industry practice.
The Lizard Adventure:
Our villa was visited by a lizard on a couple of nights. My wife has a huge phobia of these creatures so I urgently called the management for assistance. On the first night, they promptly sent a security guy who quickly dealt with the problem. On the second night, when it happened again, I called Alex, the owner. His attitude and response was very disappointing and he started off on how lizards are harmless and to be expected in a place like this. I told him about my wife's phobia and the fact that the security guy had dealt with the issue the previous day as well, but he continued to be indifferent and did not ultimately send any help. The hospitality industry is all about ensuring your guests' comfort and meeting their needs without being patronizing. That's one area which Alex would perhaps do well to introspect on.
The Beach:
Stylia Villas has a beautiful location and has access to a spectacular beach that is great for long walks in both directions and offers some cordoned off areas for relatively safe swimming. The waters in this area are very clear and while swimming/snorkeling, we could see a variety of fish which was quite exciting. There's a lot that you can explore in that area.
The Stars:
For people coming from large urban areas with a lot of light pollution, a particularly striking sight is the view of the night sky, densely packed with twinkling stars. This for me was a big highlight of the trip as it had been a few years since i last saw so many stars
Connectivity:
The wifi connection here is pretty good and you get coverage in the entire villa. They also give you a cell phone that you can use to call Alex (owner), Aved (Manager) or Rishi (chef), which is a helpful touch. The only TV service available is Canal+, which is almost exclusively French with a couple of English and Indian channels.
Overall we had a relaxing stay in a very peaceful location and enjoyed nature at its best.

Room Tip: The beach villas, if available, are by far worth the investment
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank a_nangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyVillas_Mauritius, Owner at Stylia Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Sir,
First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write this detailed and most important, excellent review of our property. It is much appreciated.
Concerning the “Lizard Adventure” I would like to explain our position:
-In a tropical island like Mauritius, it is very difficult to get rid at 100% of all the insects, lizards included.
-For your information, we do have a contract at the villas with one of the most reputable company on the island (Rentokil) to control this situation but we know that although they are good and so are their products, 100% satisfaction will never be reached
-In this particular case, I regret if I have given the impression that it was none of my concern. Our guest and their wishes/feelings are our main concern but sometimes it is difficult to find a solution. I was not present on that night and as you have realized our service starts early in the morning to end after dinner.
The only solution on that particular night was to call – again – the security guard, who I could not reach at last since it was a “replacement one” on that night and then the Villas Manager (Aved) hoping that he would be available on that evening. I could not promise anything, hence what you perceived in my disinterested attitude, but in the end, both the Villas Manager and the security guard came to solve your problem.
Before ending, I would like once again to thank you very much for your extremely well written review on our property and I hope that you have now understand my dilemma and attitude on that particular night.
I hope to see you soon back at Villas Stylia.

Best Regards,

AlexH (Owner & Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Stylia Villas are perfectly located at a beautiful beach just outside charming Trou d’eau Douce.
Our villa was just behind the beach front villas, but all the villas are in fact at the beach, and you will only have to walk a few meters and you are right there.
The villas are really great and very spacious. Each villa has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms en suite, a huge living room and a nice open plan kitchen. There is a lovely pool in your own private garden, where you can enjoy total privacy.
Interior design is basic but actually very nice and with lots of modern amenities like microwave, cable TV etc. The fridge also works as a minibar, and are stocked with drinks etc. at your request, and as an extra bonus at really competitive prices very close to the ones at the supermarket.
The beach is really amazing and beautiful, has a local vibe and there’s only a few other hotels and private villas along the beach in this particular area, so you definitely get this exclusive feel. Stylia Villas only have a few sunbeds lined up at the beach, but we never had an issue getting sunbeds when staying at the beach. Probably they do have some extra sunbeds at hand if required.
The villas are cleaned daily and the cleaning is absolutely impeccable, and on top the guys are extremely pleasant and helpful.
As described there is a villa manager on site at different hours, and you are handed a cell phone with a few contacts (including the villa manager) to be used for queries. We felt that a manual at the villa including basic practical information, descriptions of tours, prices etc. would have been really handy, especially since prices and itineraries seemed a little randomly presented when asking for tour options etc. We were subsequently informed that these house manuals used to be available at the villas, but temporarily were removed for maintenance and updating.
As mentioned the kitchen facilities were excellent, and as a supplement there is a chef on site cooking your orders. We had opted for half board, partly because a little uncertain of the selections of restaurants close to the villas, but primarily based on all the glorious reviews praising the food served at the villas. To be honest we didn’t find the food or the serving to be fantastic, and actually ended up regretting having chosen the half board option, since you feel a little obliged to stay and have your dinner at the villa. Trou d’eau Douce is within relatively easy walking distance and there are several great restaurants here. They are all offering free transport, so really no problem having dinner out. In fact we choose to skip the booked half board at the end of the week and just go to local restaurants instead. The breakfast at the villas however is really great and definitely worth it. After all, having the option to order lunch/dinner by the chef, is a great alternative to going out each night, and if you feel for relaxing at the villa all day. Note however that having dinner obviously requires ordering in advance, preferably in the morning, due to planning and shopping groceries.
Throughout our stay we noted that the living room was extremely hot in the evenings. Even with the sliding doors fully open the room felt stuffy and not airy at all. Using the fan couldn’t cool down the living room either and on top the fan was extremely noisy. So instead of just enjoying the evenings in the beautiful and spacious living room, the heat made you drowsy and the background noise from the fan made normal conversation tiring. It was considerably breezier closer to the sea, so on top of the beautiful sea view, this could be a solid argument for choosing one of the sea view villas.
We used a driver booked through Stylia for excursions. It worked out really fine and the driver was very informative and pleasant, however only free for booking at certain days restricting flexibility a little. Stylia also arranged a boat trip to Ile aux Cerfs, but it wasn’t a huge success. We had to wait for more than an hour for the arranged boat transfer and only after several phone calls they showed up for pickup at the beach. The boat trip itself was just fine, so had a great day after all.
In conclusion there is absolutely no doubt that Stylia Villas offers a fantastic and different alternative to the usual luxury resort kind of thing. At Stylia you will have your own luxury villa, lovely private pool, plenty of room and privacy, option of eating in your own villa at your own pace, the most beautiful beach just outside the villas and undoubtedly really good value for your money. We would definitely like to stay at Stylia Villas again if visiting Mauritius in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank mollerCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I travel around the world and I stayed in all kinds of hotels.
The SERVICE in this Villa was TOP.
Everyone in this hotel is up to it.
I have had the Most restful vacation I have ever had.
We were Pampered like never. Really guys THANK YOU

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank Gonzague V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews