We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant and very relaxing!”
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant and very relaxing!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We don't usually post reviews (we just read them) but wanted to say that we were very pleased with this choice of hotel. We have stayed in many all inclusive hotels in different parts of the world, on a 3-4 star basis and this is one of the best. We make this comment because some of the unjust reviews made previously.
I
The staff are excellent - friendly, attentive and great to chat to; the food was great - varied, tasty and a good mix between local and western; the rooms are basic but comfy and great views over looking the lagoon; the size of the hotel is boutique like and as such is like a home from home; and there is a great beach a short walk away in addition to the small one accompanying the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the island and wanting to stay at a good 3 to 4 star hotel.

Please ignore the negative comments including that odd person who only stayed for an hour. She/he should have given the hotel a chance!

Summary: a brilliant hotel, great island, and relaxing break. Recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank lawy3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    385
    125
    36
    26
See reviews for
161
1,164
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hill View, Warwick, Bermuda
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband , my parents and i were given the opportunity to move to the Tropical Attitude hotel after spending 7 days at their sister hotel - Emeraude. We loved every moment that we were there and what a lovely hotel

Upon arrival we felt like VIP - the cool clothes , the lovely welcome drink and may I add the gentle manner we were spoken to - all adding towards the relaxation feeling . we were quickly and promptly ushered to our respectable rooms and we were blown away with the immediate interior of Creole life! The gorgeous Blue hues of the interiors with the white walls and touches of green , immediately takes you to a tropical feeling at this particular resort.

We loved every moment of this great place ! I am an avid Gin and Tonic drinker and we were on an all inclusive plan - i must have had 15 in a day - but it was little petite gin and tonics' and I LOVED IT ! Very tojour , very stylish way to drink a G&T.. sip sip away . We were really spoilt rotten by the staff of this hotel and once again this hotel group wants you to relax and enjoy your holiday ! No struggle to get sun loungers , no struggle at dinner time for a table and you really feel obliged to obey your desire of RELAX!
Dont be discouraged by previous reports as I feel it is rubbish !

THE FOOD WAS LOVELY ! For once we were in a resort and not having to get up the whole time to get food or wait for service it was great !
Do indulge to go and take advantage of visiting a private island close by and relax !

We cannot thank the staff enough - we even had a private tour of the newly renovated homes that will start in June - GORGEOUS!

I would go back in a heartbeat !
thank you Tropical - we loved it sooo much !
much love vernon G from Bermuda

Room Tip: make sure you a have sea view room - amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steeton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

After reading some of the loads of reviews we started to worry as to how it would be for our visit.Indeed some of the latest were awful.
So after a long flight we were very anxious but from the first greeting from Clifford and his team we started to relax and let the ambience of the hotel envelope us.Yes it needs some modernisation but the new owners are going to make changes,. Yes the pool is in need of repair but the pool area is great.Our room was good for a 3 star indeed it could be made 4 so easily just add tea/coffee makinfg facilities .You do not live all holiday in a bedroom .However, the view was to die for just 20 feet from the sea.The beach has been washed away but the local beach is 100 yards away.
A new chef dramatically changed the food on our third day it became excellent.There was always plenty, great variation and choice .All served by excellent and friendly staff.Also we found the drink good and free flowing.We were full inclusive ie three meals a day and free drinks.This is a small quiet peacefull hotel not one of those fully inclusive hotels full of 100's of guests noisy and awful.
What a great area to stay and in answer to would we go back well we have a rule never to return but we would make an exception to this great Island,lovely friendly staff and a gem of a hotel if you want peace and to relax in what must be close to paradise.
Have no fears of stopping here come with mied feelings but go home with great memories of a lovely holiday in a small hotel well run and super staff.

Room Tip: They all face the sea ,room numbers 401 onwards leave you inthe right spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

In total we stayed at the Tropical Attitude for 7 hours...... Which is how long it took to move hotels. Sonny (the Dept General Manager) and his staff are delightful and friendly...BUT the hotel is ill equipped, rundown and felt like it should have existed 40 years ago. We only stayed for one meal whilst an alternative hotel was found. The meal was inedible. At one point we considered getting back on a plane and coming home. We decided to cut our loses and went all out and booked into the 5* Touessrok, 5 minutes away and across the bay. Having swallowed deeply with my credit card..... Wow now in heaven. Having just completed our 1st day (not including yesterday's debacle) we now feel on holiday. Thank goodness.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London01483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attitude_resorts, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are very concerned about your recent comment posted on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry and surprised to read such a negative review as you have spent only few hours in our hotel.
Even though we remain open to criticism and suggestions and respectful to our guests’ opinion, we would like to clarify some points... because it is also a mistake for us…

“BUT the hotel is ill equipped, rundown and felt like it should have existed 40 years ago.”:
The hotel is a 15 years old hotel. Attitude group acquired the hotel in 2011. All the furniture (sun beds, outdoor tables and chairs) next to the pool and the bar has been changed few years ago. Even though the hotel has an “old” Maurtian Creole style, it remains a fully fledge running property with an average occupancy of 80%.

We feel that Tropical Attitude was not a hotel fulfilling your expectations and requirements. However we thank you for your appreciation regarding the friendliness and devotion of our team.

Kind regards,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A regular guest reported that this hotel changed ownership in October 2011 and accordingly, in my opinion, you should ignore any reviews made before this date.

We chose this hotel as we wanted a total rest where we did not have to think about anything at all for a fortnight. In this respect the hotel definitely delivered.

This hotel has many guests who have been there many times before.

Fors
====
Fantastic location near the beach - almost idyllic location ideal for swimming and snorkelling although beware that there is no longer any beach outside the hotel. You need to wear something on your feet as the coral is very sharp. You need to tip-toe around a bit in the shallow water if you want to swim directly in front of the hotel. However there is a lovely public beach about 100yards walk from the hotel which we found to be almost deserted whenever we visited.

Drinks were nice with table service pretty much anywhere. Local lager is passable although served in too small glasses, white wine tastes a little like perry. Gin and Tonic was served quite weak for my taste. They have a lovely blue cocktail which was very tasty. A word of warning though: they have a gala night where you can do a wine tasting - we ended up paying over 15GBP each for 3 small glasses (no refills) of different South African wines so dont go near that as the same wine is only 300rupees (8GBP) per bottle in the supermarket. So its beyond hotel surcharging which I accept - its a total rip-off and you feel as though you have been ripped off. If you take a bottle of wine back to the hotel they will charge you about 10GBP corkage. We also found that some "preferential" guests were receiving "under the counter" drinks and measures, and drinks not on the "all inclusive" price list.

Service was generally reasonable, sometimes very good. It appears to be significantly better if you are German though. We seemed to always be served after the Germans. Some of the staff were very personable, especially those who might go unnoticed like security. Dont listen to all this 5 star service in a 3 star hotel bull though - we've stayed in some of the top 10 hotels in the world and believe me it's not 5 star service. But staff are generally prompt and helpful.

Gardens were manicured within an inch of their lives - they were simply lovely.

Rooms were very clean although our air-conditioner didnt cool much (I dont like aircon much so it was fine for us). And I dont mind geckos in my room, but you might.

Hotel taxis are "relatively" good value. We were charged ~50GBP to a taxi to Port Louis for the day - the taxi driver was excellent incidentally - couldnt recommend him highly enough if only I knew his name. This was about half what our tour operator wanted for the same trip.

Free wifi (which is not advertised) around the bar and pool area. This was good enough to stream BBC Radio at some-times, but bandwidth seemed to degrade quickly when others were using it. We saw several guests using skype successfully with it including video.


Against
======
Rodent problem - each night at about 8pm there is a guaranteed floor show provided by the local mice (I hope they were mice) who run around the bar. One night the mice were in the dining room and a waiter flattened a mouse that was making a break for it with a brush and there was a short screaming sound of being crushed as the mouse became significantly thinner and output its insides on the dining room floor. We saw mice running from the dining every night we were there, through the dining room and into the kitchens, right through the bar area and around the swimming pool, but none in our room. We noticed that there were fewer mice at the end of our stay and the man from "Hardy Henry" their extermination company was more prevalent. There are mouse catching devices all through the bar, the dining room and around the hotel in general.

Food - we both lost weight while we were there. I don't like sausage being cut up and used as a meat, but it appeared like this almost every other day on the menu. Also, far too much oil in the food to the extent that I had cholesterol spots appearing on my skin before the end of my holiday. However, they have fantastic white tuna which they prepared well (with the exception of Italian night when it was destroyed by some shocking white sauce). Generally they do buffet nights about 3 nights out of 4 and the buffet-food is tepid at best - meat or fish is hard to find sloshing around in buckets of watery sauce. However their a la carte food is much better (just not often enough), sometimes excellent. They seem to be used to people complaining about the food. Breakfasts are not too bad with lovely croissants, pain-au-chocolats and crepes. Lunch is definitely the best meal of the day with some of the mail courses being really really tasty.

Too much towel placement in the morning by the German guests. By 7.15am on many mornings almost all sun-loungers on the grass area were "bagged" by towels. This seemed to be largely being done by the German guests. Sometimes we noticed that the same guests would not then appear to use the lounger at all, or until late afternoon.

I like cycling. One reason we chose the hotel was that all the information we saw indicated that the hotel offered free bicyles. When we arrived we were told they were ~3GBP per hour for hire. These should be free still.

On our last day we left just before 6pm. We did not arrive until 3pm on our first day but were still told our all inclusive package ended at 12pm on the last day so if you want lunch or any service at all you have to either pay for it or extend your all-inclusive (which is ~20GBP each). Alternatively you can pay for items but this was way more expensive than paying the extra all-inclusive cost. I will be contacting my travel-agent to complain about this extra hidden cost.

They seem to suffer overbookings and asked us after the first week if we would like to move to their sister hotel (which we did not). There was no pressure to move though. You might even see this as a positive if you fancied a change. We knew of guests who decided to take advantage of the move as there were too few Brits there and too many Germans in their opinion.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.7 km away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
30.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
6.2 km away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
34.1 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
30.0 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Property: Tropical Attitude
Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,206 - ₹ 14,480
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing