We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again! 2nd Nov to21st Nov.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Back again! 2nd Nov to21st Nov.”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our 4th visit in 30months and it was better than ever. The food quality is excellent although choice for salads at lunch has decreased. We have never felt happier on holiday than we feel when we are at Le Palmiste. The biggest plus for the hotel is its staff from Raphael down all are so geared to being your friend and to making your stay happy and memorable they cannot do enough for you. If you are looking for a very special place for a wonderful holiday in a paradise location with all your needs catered for look no further friends Le Palmiste is that place. Raphael we shall be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent we have always been delighted with our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manutdManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    235
    114
    35
    18
See reviews for
104
333
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We booked with Mercury Direct, for 2 weeks all inclusive and 1 week room only.We found the food very good and not at all monotonous. The day before we were leaving the reception phoned to ask if we wanted an early breakfast. We asked if breakfast was included and was told it was. We had been buying breakfast out all week, as Mercury Direct had told us it was room only on final week.. Confusing!!
Also some confusion regarding room facilities. Mercury direct told us that mini bar was included and refilled once a day.There was an empty fridge and a price list for drinks,but when we asked for mini bar to be stocked we were told that it was not provided in our standard room. There was also sign stating that if the bathrobes were found missing on our departure we would be charged a large amount. When we asked for our bathrobes, we were told they were not provided in our room!!
We had a top floor(2nd floor room) overlooking the small pool near the restaurant. This area was used for the nightly entertainment. We enjoyed this but if you want a quieter room go for one near the reception.
All the staff were helpful and friendly, except, sometimes, the reception staff who looked miserable and gave conflicting information.Had to report bad leak 3 days before it was repaired.
We hired a car and a motorbike from the guy about 100yds away.( Turn right on the main road) We also booked trips from the woman next door to him too. Much better value than offered from the rep.
I think that this hotel is good value for money and is rightly rated as a 3 star.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room in the evening go for a 2nd floor overlooking main pool or reception. Grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The third time at this Hotel and another super holiday.The staff are brilliant and Primila our housekeeper was lovely not only keeping our room spotless but taking time to have a chat.
The food was good with mainly buffets at lunchtime although when the Hotel is less busy it reverts to a menu.We were invited to weekly Management cocktails by the pool which gave people the opportunity to discuss how their holiday was going.Although it is a 3* star it ticks all the right boxes for us and if you are able to get a good deal represents value for money.
I'm sure we will return in the future as we enjoy it so much

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew1Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Had a lovely stay in Le Palmiste, and agree with what the last review said. Don't buy a two pin plug adapter at the hotel - much cheaper in the supermarket two minutes walk away to the left!
Definatly need more hangers! The screens on the balcony can be raised up if you want, makes a big difference! Staff were lovely, our cleaner was really nice and left us a model of an elephant from towels. Our room was cleaned every day. Food was okay, but could have been a bit hotter. If you sit near the outside you can often see wonderful colorful birds nearby. The local buses run regulary from just out side the hotel or up by the police station. Very cheap! We walked to Triolet, took 10 mins to the temple, another 5 to the main road where there are loads of shops!
We were a bit disappointed with Mauritius in general, I was there 35 years ago! Not much has changed! It is not what I would call a luxurious island, although some parts are lovely, no complaints about the lovely beach, you can walk for miles towards Grand Bae.
We felt disappointed overall with Mauritius, which was a shame, Maybe we were expecting too much! Don't believe all you read in the travel guides! They paint a very different picture to what you actually find at places of interest!!!!!
On our last day we were allowed to stay in our room until 6 (airport pick up time) all free of charge which was really nice!
Mauritius airport is a real experience!!!! VERY expensive (£3 for bottle of coke, £2 for water!!)
Also check dates on chocolate etc as the ones I bought were out of date! Limited choice of cigarettes.
Glad we went, but have been to better places and paid a lot less!!!
KIM and MIke

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room, over looking the pool and reception, could not fault is, great views toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is located on arguably the best part of Mauritius, the north west coast. It is a compact layout and rooms over the restaurant will be disappointing as your view would be the rear of the block in front so advice would be to avoid these. We had a second level room overlooking the main pool and reception building which is a pleasant outlook. As a previous reviewer states, the rooms do not have open balconies as they need to be screened for privacy. This did not detract from the enjoyment of sitting out. Rooms are very spacious if a bit sparse but the cleanliness is very good with the whole room thoroughly cleaned every day to a high standard by very friendly staff. The wardrobe is small with a small number of hangers but maybe I took too many shirts? No hairdryer in room but if you haven't brought your own ths can be obtained from reception. I went to get one and they gave me one with a two prong plug although rooms have UK type three pin.Had to take it back and endure a strange Basil Faulty moment when they told me they could sell me an adapter? Eventually got the right one but the fiasco was puzzling? We were all inclusive for two weeks with a week room only. Coke, Sprite, beer etc can be collected and taken to your in-room fridge which was very convenient. Shower could do with a re-vamp and soap dispenser a bit dodgy. It's also strange that you get a kettle and cups in your room but no tea or coffee, you'll need to take your own. A few restaurants with a very good pizza/pasta place nearby if you get room only week. Don't want to comment too much on food as what is horrible to one person is delicious to another. All I can say is we were always able to find something from the buffet and the chefs often cooked things like pasta fresh for you if nothing else you fancied. No complaints really and breakfasts were well catered for with all usual choices including extremely good bacon. Eggs freshly cooked however you like by friendly chefs, a good start to the day. There is a hotel cat which wanders around the restaurant but no complaints as rather this than a rat!! Reception staff a bit lacking in people skills but the odd one was friendly. When we checked out after three weeks I was just met with a grunt and a quick check if I owed anything and that was it, no thank you or goodbye from the male receptionist on duty. We did have a pleasant greeting when we checked in though as the manager was there ( a pleasant big guy with an even bigger shirt, who walks about the place constantly clutching and checking his mobile phone ). You are literally two minutes from the beach which we thought was much nicer to the left where the local little beach front holiday homes are, this is more quiet and authentic than the northern part of the beach with one hotel after another spilling there own sunbeds and shades onto the 'public beach'. The sand is lovely and white and the sea is crystal clear and beautiful. You can snorkel from here and we saw many fish, or you can hop on a glass bottom boat and go to the reef. Public transport is nearby with very cheap buses to Port Louis, Grande Baie etc. I'd recommend this hotel as a decent value 3 star in a good location. Would recommend it. We went with Mercury Direct and couldn't fault them.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking main pool have best outlook. I'd go for first or second level rather than grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thetruthgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
1.7 km away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
5.7 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,326 reviews
1.2 km away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
341 reviews
4.7 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palmiste Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palmiste Resort & Spa

Property: Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Address: Rte Cotiere, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,752 - ₹ 9,741
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Palmiste Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Palmiste is situated in the most charming facets of Mauritius, the North West, more precisely in the coastal village of Trou aux Biches. Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reveals itself in a very warm atmosphere surrounded by an exotic garden situated at not more than two minutes from the public beach of Trou aux Biches.Distances: 60 Km from the airportHotel Facilities: • 81 rooms • Restaurant • Wifi facilities• Bar & Pool Bar ( Le Ralph`s Bar )• 3 Swimming pools• Meeting room • 1 Kids Pool • Spa, Esthetique, Hammam, Jacuzzi & Sauna• Hairdressing • Tour desk & transport • Reading lounge • Night club Accommodations 81 rooms in 3 categories of rooms:41 Standard roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.28 Superior roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.12 Family rooms Garden and pool view with one double bed and one adjoining two twin beds for 2 kidsAll rooms are equipped with:Telephone with direct international accessIndividual digital safe LCD TV with local and satellite channelsBathrooms with showers Mini bar (upon request)Tea/Coffee,Hair Dryer,Electricity 220-240VElectric shaver pointRestaurants Le Cateau Vert - offering buffet breakfast, lunch a la carte and dinner theme buffets and menus. SPA Le Lotus center is the wellness lounge for relaxation and enjoying the peacefulness .The wellness lounge provide facilities of Sauna, Jacuzzi, and Steam bath and massage treatments .Using only the finest natural ingredients, our attentive and unassuming therapists will help rejuvenate your body and revitalize your mind to fully appreciate your surroundings vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Palmiste
Le Palmiste Mahebourg
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing