We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveller rating
628
756
256
120
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
628
756
256
120
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea and coffee glass bottom boat curry three star boat house all inclusive drinks indian food superior room all inclusive package mini bar entertainment every night bottled water welcome drink great holiday breakfast and dinner yogurt botanical gardens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

Hello,
I strongly recommend u casuarina one of the best hotel amazing food, room all good. The animateur are very welcoming.
The boat house has free activities offered by the hotel
U will really enjoy with them…….

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank adri_d626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rajesh BUTON, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Dear adri-d626,

We are thrilled your stay with us was so amazing. We endeavour to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience.

We look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience.

Best Regards
Rajesh Buton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022

Nice and tidy room. I liked the fact that even if your partner is in the room and you take the key card with you, the lights and air conditioner remain ON.

Food was good. Even if there were no vast choices, the limited choice was enough. I also liked the fact that beer, wine, soft drink and water was available as self service, thus you do not have to wait for the waiter to serve you.

The barman Rakesh (If I remember well the name) was nice and offered us lots of suggestions on the drinks

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vanessen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rajesh BUTON, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Dear vanessen m,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you could avail of many aspects of our property.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Rajesh Buton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022 via mobile

We have recently returned from the Casuarina Hotel having spent three weeks with them.
We had the most amazing, relaxing and rejuvenating three weeks, that were well needed!
The staff are friendly, helpful and always on hand to help.
The hotel is old and is not as modern and equipped as newer hotels, but please do not let that deter you, this hotel is quaint, simplistic, clean, but this hotel has charm, character and a more intimate charm.
The hotel was very quiet in the week, but at weekends it became very busy with locals and did get quite noisy. Again, this was never a problem for us as we went to local beaches on these days if we felt we wanted a quieter day.
The food was very good quality, the only negative I can give is that it was rather repetitive.
The entertainment team, work very hard and we enjoyed joining in with them! Vijay, Michael and I cannot remember the other man's name, sorry! But they all were so friendly.
Akshita, even got us to join in with Zumba, and despite our reservations, we really enjoyed it! The bar staff work tirelessly and consistently, and a massive thankyou to Nitesh who was amazing with his magic cocktails! As we have said the hotel was spotlessly clean and our room, a room overlooking the pond and partial seaview was perfect. Reshna daily made our room smell and look lovely.
All in all, we did not want to leave, and we have a serious case of holiday blues...

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rajesh BUTON, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Dear Clair J,

We really appreciate the time you have invested to draft this 5* review following your stay at our resort.

We truly believe your inspiring comments will give our readers a much broader insight into our resort's many eclectic qualities which clearly impacted positively on your overall holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future for another memorable experience.

Best Regards
Rajesh Buton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2022

We stayed over starting May 2022, and could only write a few comments about our stay now after vacation, though we are still on the last part of our trip.

We arrived very early in the morning, tired from a long trip, and had no idea there was a check-in time to get our room. Nevertheless, during the waiting period, we were lucky enough to have an acquaintance, (Mr. Rajesh, not sure if this is well written), the gentleman was from FRAM, and my wife and I were both amazed by his knowledge about the island and the way he answered to all our questions about the trip, things became simply easy after meeting this nice fellow.

Overall, thanks to the great service, we have enjoyed our long and beautiful stay.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure796047
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rajesh BUTON, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2022

Dear Adventure796047,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our property.

We are pleased to learn that your overall stay was most enjoyable and that you particularly appreciated the quality of service provided by our team.

We look forward to having you back in the future for another memorable experience.

Best Regards
Rajesh Buton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2022 via mobile

Just returned from a 12 night stay at Casuarina on All Inclusive basis.

On arrival after a very long flight from the UK we were greeted at reception and provided with a cold drink of juice, ribbons (to identify us as AI guests) and were then provided with a brief overview of the hotel - meal times, drinks etc. Staff all very pleasant and speak English, French and Mauritian.

We are grateful to have received the rooms we requested which are the only ones that give you a true ocean view (paid and booked Ocean View rooms). As the small beach is across the road and obscured by trees it isn't an unobscured view but you can see the Indian Ocean. Both rooms had a very large bed, balcony, chair and table with a bathroom. Very clean (apart from the old, dirty patio furniture out on the balcony) but rather dated with worn, dark wood furniture and a peach coloured bathroom. Everything functional though and as we only required a base from which to explore this beautiful country we truly felt that we'd received exactly what we paid for.

There are two pools - both very small and the water is lovely and cool. Not many sun loungers and you do lose the sun from around 3:30pm this time of year due to the surrounding foliage (beautiful big trees!) So if you like a full day in the sun head to the beach instead.

Pool towels provided daily. Not the best but they do the job. If you like fluffy, pristine pool towels bring your own.

Entertainment was a traditional Mauritian band with dancers for around an hour once a week. Very lovely to see and great music. Other than that it's the bar staff playing Socca music on a laptop - feel free to have a dance! During the day there's aqua aerobics & Zumba on a small scale and the staff are always happy to have a game of darts or table tennis with you if you ask them. For us this is perfect as we aren't keen on full-on animation and noise. The Great thing is that at 11pm on the dot everything went quiet, the staff left & the night was over with so you can guarantee a good night's sleep. Weekends are much busier with local people who retire to the beach after a long week in the city.

Food is fine and as expected. Always plenty of choice - omelettes and eggs freshly cooked with chicken sausages, pancakes, bread, cereals & fruit in the morning. Lunch comprises of a few hot items, salads and desserts and dinner hosts the Curry Corner - usually a fish or vegetable curry, lentil danl and rice alongside other items such as pizza, freshly cooked meat, fish, salads & desserts. Shout out to Guresh the chef on breakfast - the best omelettes!
We did eat out on a few evenings as it became rather repeatative. Lunches were limited here as we spent most of our time exploring the island.

Drinks are most certainly watered down here. If you came to get drunk you'll be disappointed. It appears they're giving you a lot of hard alcohol when they pour quarter of a litre into your glass, but trust me it really isn't. On a good point, nobody really gets lairy or embarrassing as a result of being drunk at least. There's some nice restaurants towards Mon Choissy or in Trou aux Biches itself, or in Grand Baie a 15 mins taxi ride away. Bars and clubs are currently closed due to the pandemic.

Nitesh our favourite bar man was lovely throughout - mixing us drinks on request and providing us with bottles of water on our last day after checkout. All the staff here are so pleasant, happy and seem genuinely pleased to have tourists back on the island after a 2 year closure of the international border.

The beach accross the road is very disappointing. The sand is pitted with small stones and rocks, making it difficult to gain access to the water however, an 8 minute walk to the left with bring you into Trou aux Biches beach at Beachcomber which is a nice, wide, white sandy stretch. You'll not be able to take a lounger or place down your towel for a good half mile though due to it being privately owned, so keep walking until you get to the public beach (about 15-20 mins walk in total) just after Beachcomber. There's food trucks, an ATM & some beach sellers in the car park plus some toilets. If you take a right outside the hotel and walk down the road for 25 mins you'll find yourself at the beautiful Mon Choissy public beach which is stunning! Very natural - no loungers, shops, hotels, toilets, vendors so it's lovely and quiet, absolutely pristine & the water is crystal clear. Bring your snorkel!

If you are a diver there's a dive centre onsite.
Dont forget to take some fruit down to the pond at the front of the hotel (gardens) where you'll find 6 beautiful little white ducks. They'll waddle over to you to say hello for sure! Their favourite is pineapple. Please don't give them bread as it harms them.

Overall a lovely base for exploring this stunning country. Would definitely return.

Room tip: Saturdays and Sundays very busy with locals. Take meals early on these days otherwise there'll be nothing left!
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rajesh BUTON, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2022

Dear Pink,

We thank you for having taken the time to review our property following your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable. Rest assured that the negative aspects of your stay have been noted and that your feedback will help us to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming back soon for a 100% memorable experience.

Warm regards
Rajesh Buton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews