We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casuarina Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
amritsar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good stay and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Enjoyed the stay,rooms were very clean with white Greek style ambiance.Two beautiful swimming pools.Good garden views from rooms.Beach is in front of the resort but you have to cross the road in between.Department store nearby.Busses stop in front of hotel.All the meals were having variety and were tasty.A nice and quite long beach around one km from the beach.Front beach is small but ok.Only hotel guests are there in this beach.Free pedel boats and glass boats available for guests.Free cultural show once a week at hotel.Overall enjoyable place.Stayed in September 2010 for six nights but reviewed lately.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    545
    185
    76
    35
See reviews for
285
699
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We found the hotel basicly very good for a three star, there were however some odd things as to what you get for all inclusive, for instance all water spotrs are included even water sking,but the tea and coffee in the room you have to pay for, you can go to the bar and get a large bottle of water no charge, take the small bottle from the mini bar in the room and you are chaged, some alcoholic drinks are included but not all, the food we thought was generally good, even though it was a little samey but as this is an island in the middle of the Indian ocean and a three star hotel we thought it value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blondie190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
We wish to extend our warmest thanks to you for your valuable comments and especially your appreciation of our hotel in general.
However, we would draw your kind attention to the fact that the allowances forming part of the “ All Inclusive Package” have been subject to a bilateral agreement between the Hotel Management and the Tour Operator, the same has been agreed and covenanted based upon a defined budget.
We await the pleasure of hosting you in a very future at the “Casuarina Resort & Spa”.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I had went on my Honeymoon trip to Mauritius and stayed in Casuarina resort in for a week; the resort was best in its services and guest satisfaction; staff support exceeded the expected; located 100 mts away from the beach and is a very beautiful resort; the path from reception to the rooms is very beautiful and romantic; only options for Vegetarians are nill and the resort has to work over the same. I stayed in bunglow of the resort which was amazing in itself and very beautifully made..
Thanks Casuarina Resort for making our stay so romantic and memorable..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Hotel Casuarina exceeded our expectations in terms of the quality of its accommodation and service. All the staff from the managers to the maintenance and grounds staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful & efficient. This is a great strength and they are all to be congratulated on their efforts & hard work. The hotel website does not do justice to the reality of the hotel and we would suggest that the management look at how this can be improved to reflect more accurately what is available.
We were on an all inclusive package, others who were not found the drinks expensive. At first we found the need to sign for every meal and drinks a little disconcerting but soon got used to it. Perhaps a better alternative arrangement could be introduced for all inclusive guests?
We enjoyed the food and think that the variety and choice at all meals was good. There was certainly no problem with choosing either the european or asian dishes or indeed in mixing the two. The quality of the food was good and the catering staff went out of their way to provide special foods on request for those who fancied dishes that were not on the menu. The key is simply to ask for what you would like. The chefs and restaurant managers are always available to monitor quality and listen to guests comments and requests.
Our room was simply but adequately furnished, clean and comfortable.The maid service was exemplary. The way the accommodation is layed out within the beautiful gardens is very clever so that rooms do not directly overlook each other and provide lovely views. Being solidly built there was no problem with noise disturbance from other rooms. or from the road.Some rooms have adjustable air conditioning units but ours did not and we would have appreciated being able to turn the aircon down at night when it was a little cooler, however, this was not a big problem.
The beach nearest to the hotel is easily accessible even though this involves crossing the road. A pelican type crossing has been provided just outside the main entrance for guests to use to cross safely and this works very well. During our stay there was a bit of a scramble for beach loungers and parasols and perhaps the hotel could look at providing more of these. There is certainly enough room on the beach to do this. The watersports activities were good and those included in the package were readily available.
We must recommend Veejay who works from the beach to offer tailor made tours for guests. We took a trip to visit the Isle aux Cerfs and thought that we had excellent service and value for money. We can recommend him for his efficient and friendly approach, do give it a try!
The hotel caters for a cosmopolitan range of guests and we enjoyed meeting people from all over the world. The hotel staff treat all with the same courtesy and respect regardless of nationality or age. Well done!!
Thank you for a relaxing and most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FracophileYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Casuarina resort is situated at north island in Mauritius which is a 90-120 minutes drive from International airport. The path from reception to the rooms is very beautiful and romantic.Before anyone decides to travel to Mauritius should know that country is very expensive and apart from the money that you have paid for the package one will need to spend some 15000-20000 Indian rupees per person additionally. Coming back to the resort, the cost for spa or massage is around 7000 INR per couple in case you wish to avail this facility. The beach next to the hotel is damn beautiful. At the beach there is a restaurant where u can enjoy drinks and food which will be charged to your hotel bill or you can pay cash as well. First I will tell you about different activities and their cost in Mauritius.

->Parasailing (5-10 mins)+ Speedboat ride (45 mins)= Around 2800 INR per couple
->Under water walk (10-15 mins) = Around 3500- 4000 INR per couple+ 1500 INR for photography (optional)
->Walk with the lion (10-15 mins)+ Lion safari+ Quadbiking (1 hr)+ Taxi from hotel to Casela park= Around 8000- 10000 INR per couple
->Fly fish = Around 3500 per couple

The buffet breakfast at the hotel has different foods but basically fruits, omelets, boiled eggs, Bread jams, corn flakes, different juices, coffee, cakes are good and eatable. Water is chargeable at breakfasts and dinners which costs around 170 INR per bottle of 1 litter.
At dinners there is variety of food available. Indian food is good but is little different than what we get here in India.
I gave 7 clothes for laundry which costed around 2800 INR, so never use laundry facilities.
Every day after dinner there are live performances at the pool side. Once we enjoyed Mauritian dance and on another day beautiful Indian classical dance and on the rest of the days there were band performances where you can put your step forward and enjoy romantic couple dances. Once I asked the Guitarist to let me play Guitar for my wife which he happily agreed to.
The most unusual thing I experienced is if you order a water bottle of around 170 INR at the room service, they will charge an extra INR 300 for the delivery at your room.
All n all it was a good experience. All the best

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 0Sunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#2 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
4.6 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.0 km away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.0 km away
Tarisa Resort & Spa
Tarisa Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Mont Choisy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Resort & Spa

Property: Casuarina Resort & Spa
Address: 18 km from Port Louis, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,675 - ₹ 10,995
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casuarina Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Casuarina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Hotel Mauritius
Casuarina Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Mauritius
Casuarina Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Resort & Spa Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing