We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
309
43
9
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
43
9
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar small number of rooms sister hotel junior suite our honeymoon extremely comfortable stay the glass bottomed boat small hotel grand baie turn down service private section twin basins towel art water sports bed and breakfast indian ocean mr rajesh
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

My husband and I are about to end a wonderful 7 days at Le Cardinal and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. All of the staff are extremely polite and helpful, emphasising that they want to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. They even apologised when it rained!
We had a Junior Suite on the ground floor, although this is still slightly elevated so you do feel like you have some privacy. You would have to close curtains at night, as you could be seen by the garden, restaurant etc, but this is no different to being at home in England, and at night the beach and sea are in darkness so closing curtains is not a problem. I used to open them if I got up in the night, so I could wake to the beautiful sunrise over the sea view. The room was a very good size, with a fabulous rainfall shower and separate tub, with complimentary candles and incense sticks. Everything was thought of to make your stay perfect!
The room was kept spotless twice a day by Nawaz and Ashley, both making wonderful towel art creatures which were delightful after a day out on the beach.
Samantha in reception was lovely, offering DVDs for us to watch in our room in the evening. The food at Le Cardinal was excellent at all times, from fresh buffet breakfast, offering a wide range of fruits, meats, breads, pastries but also offered cooked eggs, pancakes etc. Lovely range of lunches at the beach bar and exceptional fine dining dinners from the included a la Carte evening menu. The chefs were exceptional, with beautiful presentation of every dish, and good varied choice (I wish I was stopping an extra 7 days to be able to try all the dishes!) desserts were "heavenly"
We had a special lobster meal on the beach in Friday evening, of which a personal guitarist played and sang to us throughout the meal....unforgettable special experience.
All the restaurant staff were of high standard, and we never had the honour of meeting the chefs personally, although we found that Ratan and Shardha made us feel that little extra special. (Hard to do as you had a personal touch from all the staff)
Wine was good and priced in line with any 5* hotel of £8 per glass, or £44 per bottle.
Glasses were provided in the room if you chose to purchase beverages from a supermarket and drink them in your room.
Finally, the manager Ashley made you feel special throughout the whole experience, organising a special picnic breakfast when we had a dolphin trip leaving at 6am, of which even the night security guard poured us a fresh cup of tea as we sat bleary eyed awaiting our taxi.
Overall, we had a feeling of being in our own private exclusive hotel. The hotel has it’s own private section of the Trou aux Biches beach with plenty of sun loungers available.
We did experience one group of guests that left towels,glasses and beer cans on their loungers on the beach, which had started to drift out to sea, but as soon as the staff noticed they cleared the area and spoke discretely to the guests to ensure they would not cause any further disturbance or disrespectful behaviour to the idyllic beach supplied by the hotel. Staff also apologised to us for their behaviour ensuring they would be monitoring the situation.
So to summarise, this is a perfect location for a memorable relaxing holiday, which made us feel like it was our honeymoon all over again. We stop in many exclusive 5* hotels, some offering personal butler (London) but I can honestly say that the personal service received by this hotel made you feel like you were there out important guest. We definitely will be returning again (especially to finish the menu options).

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Wendy C,

We would, first of all, like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort.

It is through feedback like yours that we are able to maintain the service that we provide to our valued guest and we are pleased to learn that your holiday experience more than lived up to your expectations.

Our team is the very bedrock on which our resort stands and we are delighted to hear that you greatly appreciated their customer service and professionalism. We were also thrilled to learn that the services we provide are up to standards and have also contributed to make your stay a most memorable one.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort.

Cordially yours,

~ The Management ~


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at Le Cardinal and had a wonderful time from the moment that we arrived. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. Samantha in reception was particularly helpful especially when my wife needed to visit a medical centre, arranging the appointment and taxi. The large comfortable suite was kept spotless by our room boys Ashley and Nawaz, who were very adept at towel art. The room itself lived up to expectations and fully reflected the on line pictures. We were on the second floor and had lovely views of the beach, pool and beach bar, as did all rooms. Previous Trip Advisor comments about the lower floor rooms being less private seemed unwarranted. The penthouses were that little bit special with lovely large private terraces. The food at Le Cardinal was excellent at all times, from the large spread for breakfast, through a range of well prepared lunches at the beach bar to fine dining dinners from the included a la Carte evening menu. Wine was a little bit expensive but of very drinkable quality, with the house Pinot Noir being my regular choice. The restaurant staff and chefs also reflected the high standards throughout the hotel, with Shardha being our favourite waitress. In our second week only 3 of the 13 rooms were occupied as it was low season, and for the final 4 days there were only 2 couples. This gave the feeling of being in our own private hotel. The hotel has it’s own private section of the Trou aux Biches beach with plenty of sun beds, carefully overseen by a discrete Security Guard? We visited numerous locations around the island by car. Car rental is cheap and the roads are safe and of good quality. The Rum factory and it’s excellent restaurant at Chamerel were well worth a visit, after driving to the Black River Gorge. Grand Baie has a bit more night life, shopping and restaurants and is only 10 minutes away in a taxi. My only negative comment was that the gym was situated in the sister hotel Casuarina Beach across the road. It was sparsely equipped and with a defective running machine. Perhaps I shouldn’t have expected to be able or want to work off all of the wonderful food. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful holiday in a beautiful location with the beach only yards away, this may be the place for you.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank snelld885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Snelld885,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Mauritius and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience and we are delighted to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We have taken good note of the issue with the treadmill and we have adressed this to our team so that we improve on it.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcomingy you back in the future.

Cordially yours

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We arrived very tired and were greeted by a really friendly receptionist. Given a drink and was escorted to our junior suite. It was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens and out over the Indian Ocean. Had a few meals in the Beach bar and the restaurant which were all really excellent. Breakfasted each morning overlooking the gardens with a great choice of food. The cleanliness of the room and the attention to detail with flowers on the bed from our fantastic room boy - Nawaz - was excellent. I would go back to stay in a heartbeat.

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Kath C,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to write a review.

Our team always aims at making our guests' stay most memorable and we are very pleased to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, in the future.

Cordially yours,

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

“Exclusive” perhaps in location, and quality of accommodation, but far from exclusive in their service delivery. My expectations were high. Because the cost of accommodation and everything else at this boutique resort is very high.
The junior suite I booked, was on ground floor, and the entire suite is in full view of everyone from outside, including the outside bar, swimming pool etc. no privacy features, like tinted windows or adjustable shutters. I was told that I could close the curtains!!! Really??!! Then what’s the point of having a view of the ocean.? I then opted for a paid upgrade to a penthouse suite which was almost double the price. However I didn’t get double the service!! Lol! From what I personally experienced, service at most was mediocre. Nobody seemed to want to go the extra mile. Leave extra mile,....they wouldn’t even go a few extra meters. As an Eg. At breakfast, I asked one of the serving staff for some toast, and was told that it’s self service.!! She then went on to continue a loud discussion with the rest of the breakfast staff. An exclusive resort, with only 13 rooms, and perhaps only a maximum of 3 tables occupied for breakfast at any given time.!!! Shocking! How much of effort would it have taken? One assumes that that’s what the service staff are there for. Another occurrence, I was issued a parking in the tiny parking area, only to be told the next day when arriving from a short drive, that I should park the car across the road at their sister resort and take a walk from there.....I did insist on parking where I had parked previously. I paid for a penthouse suite. Although there were other issues, like getting awakened by an unapologetic staff member at 1:30am only to be asked if I had electricity, the long and short of it is......... perhaps the location is nice, some of the rooms are nice, and the daily allowance of only 2 small bottles of water is “nice” lol, it’s definitely not a place I will return to. This place falls far short of the resorts in Bali, Pangkor Laut(Malaysia) and the rest of the Far East......
They do really need to recalibrate themselves to be totally service driven. If not for any other reason, then at least because you’ve paid for it!!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KANJICORP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Kanjicorp,

We would, first of all, like to thank you for having taken some time to comment on your recent stay at our property.

We were very surprised to learn about your problematics with the ground floor as it is the first time that we receive this kind of complaint. The ground floor rooms are very popular with our guests and we even have some clients who insist on staying in such rooms.


Breakfast at Le Cardinal is partly self-service. As such, toast is available at the buffet breakfast. Nevertheless, we have escalated the matter to the department concerned and will investigate what really happened.

The security officers, on duty 24/7,at Le Cardinal systematically ensure that guests have a parking available. In case the parking there is fully booked, the officer then advises the guests that he can park his vehicle at our sister hotel, the Casuarina Resort & Spa, which is situated across the road just opposite Le Cardinal.

We have an academy whereby our hotel team undergoes continuous training so as to meet the standards of the hotel and the expectations of our guests.

Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort & Spa is a 5***** boutique hotel which offers rates same as hotels of equal classification.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Just ended our stay here. It was amazing. Extremely friendly staff. Rajesh, head of housekeeping was amazing. Anything you needed he took care of. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for the ultimate in rest and relaxation. Thank you La Cardinal!! We'll be back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshButon, General Manager at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sharon S,

Thank you very much for your very positive review following your recent stay at our property.

We are really delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable stay and that everything was up to your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort.

Regards

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews