We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mauritius 4 star very nice hotel perfect for relaxation a kite/wind surfers paradise!”
Review of Indian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I have just returned from the Indian resort, we booked last minute all inclusive holiday. We flew BA direct were met at the very organised airport and were on our way to the hotel, by private car within half an hour of landing. The transfer took an hour, we were met by customer services with cold hand/face towels and a drink. We were shown to our superior room, even though it was still only 9am. The room was on the ground floor, very white contemporary style, very clean, newly decoarted, with a sofa seating area, large double, TV, phone, 2 pin and 3 pin socket points but only one of each. The bathroom/dressing room area was big with a large walkin shower, separate bath, toilet and hanging space. The free safe was also in this section. There was a small fridge with a good selection mini bar, stocked up every day and included in our package. We had french doors onto a seating area and this was about 50 metres walk to the sea. The food in the main restaurant was buffet style, very nice, something for everyone! The pasta dishes/stir frys/fresh fish were cooked in front of guests and was all very good. We ate in the Indian restaurant once, currys were nice with a good choice. This was a fairly small restaurant which made it more intimate for couples dining. We ate in the Eden restaurant twice, this was fine dining with waiter service, but lacked atmosphere and was quite rushed. I organised a special birthday meal for my husband, this was fabulous 5 course with lobster main,flowers,candles and music, cost £50 a head though!! Served in the main restaurant in the romantic area for couples.
No tummy troubles what so ever!
Mainly French guests at this hotel, the others made up with South Africans,Russian and English. The Spa was a lovely area away from the wind and was free to all inclusive guests from 9am - 12noon.
Staff were good on the whole, restaurant staff the best and the bar staff the worst, especially the younger ones and at pre dinner times.
Beach towels free, changed daily. Plenty of bed chairs with thatch canopes. Only one public toilet area, very nicely decorated but strong sewage smell present and two toilets closed in the ladies.
All inclusive well worth the extra because food and drinks very expensive.
No beach bar this is being refurbished but beach house open and watersports and glass bottom boat trip all free.
Wifi free and available small gym and disco hidden behind gym. Probably a bit quiet for teenagers.
Evening African dancers and live bands were excellent.
This is a kite/wind surfers hotel, so mainly young couples with or without families. This part of the Island is No 1 in the world for kite surfing hence beach is windy. If we had known this we would probably have chosen another hotel as we this is not our sport. We only had a couple of calm days when the swimming was perfect. We went on a speed boat trip( with Karlos) from the beach, this was by far the highlight of our holiday. Collected from the beach at 8.30 till 4pm off to snorkle and swim with dolphins, was amazing then onto a little island for lobster bbq, fun games dancing and african music all for 2500 rupees. We also hired a car with driver from 9am -4pm costing £95 he took us all around the southern part of the island, well worth the money,but take mosquito spray if you go to the turtle/crocodile park.
We had a very nice holiday and cant wait to go back to Mauritius.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BournemouthJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Indian Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

great time at the indian resort,apart from a few little problemswhen we booked our holiday we booked a privilige room when we arrived we were given a so called upgrade to a junior suite however this room was very disappointing. The fixtures and fitting were quite poor and could not be considered as 4 star hotel quality, although the additional space created by the lounge area would be useful for a family sharing. Not much use to us as a couple though! The privilige room offers a far superior standard as we subsequently found out after a late night incident necessitated in having to be moved. A "minor" flood when the bathroom ceiling fell through at 1 o'clock in the morning due to a burst pipe above. Staff were excellent though doing all that was possible under the circumstances, we could not be moved straight away as all rooms were occupied. armed with squeegees and mops the floor was soon dry and we were able to return to bed. A room was made available first thing the next morning and we were settled into our
original choice of room by 1000hrs. Far superior. That afternoon we were pleasently suprised upon returning to our room after lunch to find a bottle of champagne on ice with pineapples etc. and spent the rest of the day lounging on the beach drinking said champagne. Thats what its all about.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snuglet_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

If you want the punch line first YES I WOULD GO BACK Flight out on BA was top class. The resort is 1 hour away by taxi.
Check in should be 2 pm but we were given a room at 10.30 and given coffee and snacks for the half hour we waited by a welcoming receptionists.
The room was what was expected, clean and spacious with just a few ants for company. (You’re on a tropical island after all)
We arrived on the 20th of Sept and left on the 30th the resort wasn’t too busy just the way I like it.
The staff at this hotel gave great service and only let down by how they were managed.
The staff in the restaurant provided the best service they could with the numbers they had. More staff required to serve coffee in the morning and wine with the meal in the evening. Wine sometimes came when the meal was finished so half way through the holiday we started ordering wine from the bar prior to going into the restaurant.
On a few evenings there wasn’t enough staff at the bar to cope with demand at the bar but overall this is a good value for money resort. Ratio of French to British is about 90/10 .
Car hire is only about £40 a day and worth while but stay clear of Port Louis
and the buses.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCGOTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Indian, Management representative at Indian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear WhaleU,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We applogise for the problem you encountered at our bar and have taken good note of this.
We have shared your comments with our staff and are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Indian Resort & Spa. Please do not hesitate to contact us for more assistance that you may require regarding your future stay.

Sincerely yours,
Indian Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My family and I (6 adults) stayed in the Indian Resort for around 8 nights and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The food was delicious from the buffet and the range of food available was fantastic. Quality and range of choice is excellent.

Customer service was brilliant and highly personal - staff remembered your name, were very friendly and always smiling. They also always ensured there was a table set for us in the same place each mealtime which was also a very thoughtful touch, so that we didn't have to scout around the whole restaurant before we found each other. All the waiting staff were always very courteous and quick to respond to any requests.

We absolutely loved the little crepes that were served each afternoon, and found the 'all inclusive' package deal to be really worth the money. Hire of kayaks, pedalos, snorkel fins, tube and mask, and windsurfing lesson is included for free, along with all meals, drinks from the bar (selected) and also booking into the on site restaurant.

The location of the beach is in an area where there is good sand and lots of sun. The beach and sea water is very clean and you can easily paddle. There is also a good breeze usually which is very fresh and which allows for lots of kite surfers and wind surfers to cruise around the sea. 5 minutes up the beach is a lovely area of beach and sea which is very calm and practically crystal clear.

Car hire from hotel was very good value - around £40 for the whole day, and the roads are in excellent condition now, a lot better than the pot-holed experience we get in the UK!

Rooms were very spacious and cleaned regularly. A 'turning down' bed service was operated, which was also a nice surprise. The cleaning staff were very friendly, professional and helpful, and towels were regularly replaced. Lighting is a little bit dim, but otherwise no problems.

Evening entertainment was provided every evening and was also highly enjoyable for people of all ages, including honeymooners, young children, teenagers, adults and seniors. Spa services were absolutely brilliant and Restaurant 'Eden' provided absolutely divine food in sumptuous setting.

Overall, a the best holiday we have had in a long time! We came back so rested and relaxed. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We booked this hotel on the internet back in January 2010 with Sunset Holidays to coincide with being away on her birthday (6/10/10). We had read the reviews here which were very mixed but it was our first time to Mauritius so we still went ahead with this resort, but what a JOKE.
First of all the flight with Air Mauritius was not up to much as it was a 12 hour flight and we were surrounded by screaming kids as they have to sit in particular seats on plane near row 10. The food was bad going out and when we landed at the airport we took 90 minutes to get out of the airport which was also confusing as it was just us that a private transfer we had a private transfer to the hotel which was very short of information like no rep at the airport, we were given a thin leaflet with our reps name on it who we did not see for the whole of our 9 day stay at the Indian. Now onto the hotel I firstly want to say that I have never written a report on tripadvisor but english people need to know about this hotel. We arrived after a 1 hour taxi journey lovely guy called Hamraj from Mauiritours we were greeted by this seemingly nice girl on guest relations who gave us a nice face towel and then invited us to sit down where we were expecting a welcome drink only to have a load of forms shovved under our noses. We were then told that our all inclusive did not start until 7.30 pm so any food or drink till that point we had to pay for. We then got showed to our room which was lovely and then the girl left and we then discovered there was no water coming out of cold water tap and no water in the toilet cistern. I spent the next three hours trying to get the hotel to fix it and eventually went down to reception and demanded to move rooms, it is the last thing you want when you have had a long flight. Now onto the subject of food, if you like luke warm or somtimes cold food which should be hot then this is the hotel for you. The food is also very repetitve and birds everywhere on food particularly bread and sometimes messing on it.
This hotel is also well populated by kite surfers who are predominantly french and think they own the hotel and strut around like a load of posers and one night they all got abit rowdy and some of decided to get up on the bar and drop their shorts. Dont get me wrong Im up for a laugh but you dont expect to see that behaviour in a so called 4 star hotel maybe in Ibiza but not Mauritius. The hotel staff pay more attention to their french colleagues than english as the main language in Mauritius is french. The resort is on the south west coast so it is very windy and the sea is not calm hence the kite surfers who take over the place. I could write a book about how bad this place is but the final nail in the coffin was the hassle I had with my partners birthday and ordering her flowers.
The hotel gave her a nice cake free of charge but decided that I would have to pay 15 per cent commision as i was paying by credit card which they never pointed out and put the price up from what they initially told me. I really kicked off with the reception and saw a manager and explained to him how I had been told so many different things I did not want the flowers anymore as the surprise had lost momentum. I never saw the girl again that was on guest relations at the time so she must have either been moved or given the sack. I have been to many countries in the world and whilst we were in Mauritius visited other parts of the island which are beautiful particularly Grand Baie and far nicer than the Indian Resort. On our last day at the hotel two couples from England arrived at the hotel and were both on their honeymoon and within one hour of being at the hotel were asking to move hotels because how poor it is. Please trust me with this report as it is the whole truth, I have been to places in the Carribean like Cuba and Mexico and the beaches there are to die for unlike the Indian Resort and not as far away.
So only go to this hotel if you like French and South African posers strutting around thinking they own the hotel. AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE !!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dc1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Morne hotels
1.2 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,791 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
858 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
3.5 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Resort

Address: Pointe Sud Ouest Le Morne 1 Le Morne Road, Le Morne, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#7 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range: ₹ 15,833 - ₹ 24,793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Indian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Le Morne
Indian Resort Mauritius/Le Morne
Indian Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing