We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,626)
Filter reviews
6,626 results
Traveller rating
5,641
752
160
54
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,641
752
160
54
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main beach the palm court our honeymoon ice cream coffee bar outdoor cinema beach rouge message in a bottle junior suite the banyan tree a la carte restaurants beach restaurant water sports smoke house beach manager turkish restaurant all inclusive package
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,922 - 3,927 of 6,626 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We were there in December 2011 and I suppose a lot of things changed but I will write something from our experience. We've got married there. It was very nice. Windy day so maybe beach was not so good idea but well.. We wanted to pay little more ( there is an option) and eat our dinner that day at the jetty. Like I said,it was windy and they called us 30 minutes before dinner that it could not be arranged there. We were really dissapointed. Of course,it's nature and no one can control wind but they could call us earlier because it was windy during the whole day. Maybe we could arrange something else if we had time. They said that we will have dinner at Restaurant The Beach . Waiter was really nice and he was sorry about changing location and he even said that if you book that kind of romantic dinner that you have candles everywhere,flowers etc. We didn't have anything like that :( It's better that he didn't tell us that. Like I said,if we knew that earlier or if they thought about that earlier,we could had something much more nicer and special.

Breakfast is so amazing,delicious food! Beautiful sounds of the guitar. Lunch at The Bar is very nice. Chamarel dessert is wooooooow!! Dinners also delicious. We were in Abalone one evening. Also because of bad weather we weren't at the beach. We were in The Kitchen so didn't have true atmosphere unfortunately but food was nice. Also one evening we booked dinner at The Beach. Not really good choice. We waited so long for the service,our dinner lasted almost 3 hours,soooo slow. Gnocchi were overcooked etc. We live one hour drive from Italy and we are very well acquainted with Italian cuisine. We were dissapointed. Maybe now is better,don't know.

Generally speaking,everywhere you go,if you don't take bottle of wine,they look you different! Hello,we really can't take bootle of wine every evening! It's not so cheap and we don't drink so much. At Abalone,waiter (think maybe head waiter) passed by our table and when he saw that we don't have wine he said to us 'No wine'. No,obviously no wine and why he has to tell it out loud again,I don't understand.
Someone here also said about the water. People,water is really expensive!! And we drink a lot of water. Maybe is good to considerate about water price.

Boat house is great. We were on glass bottom boat,pedal boat,took catamaran excursion..

Also we booked hotel driver to Port Louis and Pamplemousses excursion. It was much cheaper than Solis agency offered to us. I recommend it. You get nice cold towels and water.

Room was very nice. It could be cleaner though! We didn't mind about old tv so that didn't bother us.

They have free international calls. Unfortunately not for our country ( Croatia) but maybe now they have it. I believe that this is great thing for people who can use it.

Beach is well..ok. Smelly! Part near boat house smells :( Algae or something,don't know. The only thing why we wouldn't return is the beach. Man made,really nothing special. Service is great,pinneaple,coconut,ice-cream,towels..You really have everything what you need and with a smile.

Something that stays in your memory is the air through resort! Beautiful! They put some kind of fragrance in ventilation system and you could feel this almost everywhere. Something beautiful.

We would like to return to see changes that Lux made. But probably we will go in another Lux resort to see their beach and accomodation.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MTCTDTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2012

In general a nice hotel great staff, we had a great welcome on arrival thanks to the bubbly lady on guest relations! Jessica?? David was also a great help and the GM.

We orginally booked a luxury room in the quiet part of the hotel, but got moved to be nearer the action.

The hotel recently got taken over by Lux group and are managing well.

There are a few small points that might be of interest I found for the managment

It might be better to have fried eggs separate from the omelette station as what I found is everyone is queueing up and then stops people from getting other hot food who may not want eggs!

Also there needs to be attention to the general wood work( Floor, furniture) on the balconies, in other words and coat of varnish nothing too much to get perfect. But i'm sure lux know this already!

Thanks again
Jon and Jen

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Lux Grand Gaube lies in the north coast of Mauritius. Its unique location offers access to spotless beaches & fabulous scuba diving opportunities

We stayed here 6 nights in lux villas , came frm India , Booked from Mauritiusmania.com , a whole tour rather than hotel as it saved some money in form of discounts.Travel agent ws also cheaper compared to other online engines & services were good.

Six types of room have been designed as per the needs of the visitors these are Superior rooms, ocean Superior, deluxe suite, junior suite, senior suite, lux villas. The facilities which are provided to the visitors are:
1. Air conditioning
2. Telephone with international direct dialing
3. WI-FI internet access
4. Satellite television,- no Indian channel
5. Doctor nearby
6. Minibar
7. Tea and coffee making facilities
8. Hairdryer
9. Room service 24 hours/day and
10. laundry and dry cleaning

Other Things
1. Healthy and hygienic breakfast buffets is OK-OK along with exotic dishes, flavors and textures that the resort offers to their visitors. All types of tropical drinks and cocktails are provided and dinning at the resort for relaxation..costly affair again
2. The seafood of the resort is a key aspect and famous. Fishes,crabs,lobsters and all tht stuff..Taste depends on where r u frm..its less spicy and kindda bland
3. With all these yoga and meditation sessions are also granted. The Ayurvedic massages helps in rejuvenating, relaxing both body and mind is pricey. The resort has fully equipped treatment centre though it hs limited treatments
4. A fully equipped gym and swimming pool is available for the visitors to relax. Various other activities like waterskiing, wakeboards, windsurfing, pedalos, laser sailing boats, snorkeling, scuba diving, kite surfing, deep sea fishing, fly fishing etc.

Staying in room is a bad option , go for water sports, u wud love it here

Room tip: Lux villas r very good & nice option
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SubodhKant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Every time we stay we are amazed by willingness of everyone we meet to make our stay special. We have always felt the warmth of kindness from the staff not just from our recent (Oct ’12) visit but from our very first one. We are always greeted with a warm smile and nothing is too much trouble which is so refreshing in these times.
The list of your employees we have to thank grows every time we leave. "Employees" is such an incorrect term, we don't think of them as employees but friends which makes it all so much harder to say goodbye every year.

Sanjoo, Balraj, Satish Jean-Phillipe, Diren, Yash, Ashvin, Ludovic, Jonanna,
Sandrin, Arvin,Vijay, Anil, the Beachboys (not the group haha!)and Sandeep to name just a few. I know I have missed someone - my apologies.
I would also like to thank both Chefs that created and presented the food. The Trilogy menu that Diren had organised with cooperation of the chefs was fantastic. I can only imagine how time consuming it was to prepare but WOW! You have some very talented Chefs who can not wait to show their skills and they do not fail in anyway. Tres Bien!!

To everyone else this review probably comes across to good to be true but as a x5 repeat guest its not.

See you next year!!

M&C x

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at Lux for 6 Nights.
Experience was simply superb....
Overall experience was like never before.....
We got each and everything which you need on Leisure Holiday....
Overall experience on Hotel regarding Room,Staff,Food,services like free International calling was amazing.
I would suggest you the Best Hotel to stay at......

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prasad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews