We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary & Bday”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary & Bday”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The resort was wonderful. What made it extra special was the incredible staff. We had a wonderful week, although the water was a bit cold while we were there and the pool could have been heated. We were on half board and there are some small stores and eateries in the nearby village, within walking distance, so we were able to save a bit of money that way. There is even a great massage place in the village and although the spa is wonderful, the massages were a little pricy. We got our massages offsite and enjoyed the gym and jaccuzis in the spa for free. The resort also has bikes that you can borrow. It is on the northern part of the island, a bit of a distance from other towns but we wanted a relaxing week so it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelalot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,652
    592
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
793
3,041
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

What a fantastic hotel! We were met at the steps of the entrance and led into the reception area where we were served fresh fruit juice, iced water and an iced flannel - so welcome after our transfer from the airport. After a guided tour we were shown to our first floor room which overlooked the beautifully manicured gardens and the beach. The room was very spacious with a very comfortable 6ft bed. Every member of staff we came into contact with was friendly, helpful and most respectful. We did mention particular staff by name on our feedback form but, honestly, everyone was just wonderful. Even our room attendant brought a smile to our face each day on our return from the beach by leaving origami towel animals on our bed which were just wonderful - such a talent. We were on a half board basis which we found just perfect - we ate a substantial breakfast which saw us through to the evening which we started with the cocktail of the day in the bar before enjoying dinner at one of the three restaurants. The quality of the food and service was just exceptional. There was musical entertainment in the bar every evening and even at breakfast a guitarist serenaded us gently. We were so impressed with this hotel that we are now hoping to visit their sister hotel in the Maldives next year and look forward to same high standards - a lot to live up to. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday - you made it very special.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to contact the hotel direct if you need any help whatsoever. They respond very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EejayWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our family of 4 (kids 12, 18) stayed in the hotel. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Everyone on the premises are very helpful.. Some points:
1. We had booked ocean superior rooms since we wanted connecting door between the 2 rooms. However the rooms had garden view. We told them and they changed the room next day. One room had partial ocean view and the other one still did not have ocean view. This was the only negative thing in the hotel.
The kids were tired to get the room changed again...
2. Food was excellent, We took the half board option. Thanks to Mr Singh, he made indian veg food everyday for dinner, There are lot of veg choices in general for breakfast and dinner, But it is still nice to get some indian veg food, We also got hot samosas for breakfast the last day. They do provide bottled water (next to juices) during breakfast. For dinner, they allowed us to bring bottled water from our room. So you can save some money on water, Please buy few bottles only since they give you 2 bottles of water in each room everyday. If you are in the beach, then there is a place during the day time where they have complimentary water bottles if you are thirsty. Please do eat complimentary pineapple and coconut juice at the beach around noon.
3. Tam Tam Tours. Ms Poonam was very helpful. Please give the North tour. It is waste of money. The other problem is that this hotel is on the north end of the island. So lot of times they picked us up at 8:15 and we spent 1 to 1.5 hrs picking up other people from diff resorts. My personal opinion is skip the tours from your package. You can rent a cab (outside the hotel) for Mauritius Rs 1500- for the full day and decide a few places to go. You can take a bus from outside the hotel (freq is 5-10 mins) and go to nearby town for lunch and pick up water / drinks. You can also take the bus to the main town (part of North tour) and botanical garden.
If you take island tour, then you get better deal at the site then from tam tam tours
4. There is lot of things to do inside the resort, They show a movie everyday eve. If you want, you can book the theatre just for your family during the day or afternoon and they have a great selection of movies (Eng, French, Hindi) to choose. So you could have your own private screening.
5. Please check the pictures (hotel site) of the screens covering the glass walls of the bathrooms. These rooms are more catered for honeymooners. The bathroom door does not have luck. The screens covering the glass walls of the bathroom was little transparent
Other than not getting ocean view in ocean superior rooms, everything else was great....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ket123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a Feng Shui designed hotel, all built around little bays and coves, all rooms face the sea.WE were a group of 16 on a tour of the island, the first stop being down the bottom, now its the top. We were given a warm welcome from the staff on arrival. Our room was furthest away from reception, but we soon found a quick way back for food. 95% can be done under cover if its raining, but they do supply umbrellas. The rooms are nice and split level, quite spacious, plenty of storage space. Good air con, safe and lighting. We had our own little beach with plenty of sunbeds and shades, plus a separate pool. Our first hotel had been 4* and this one being 5* I expected the food to be better, but was a bit disappointed. No hot plates unless you asked. Fruit in the morning was uncovered and there were birds and flies about. Also the choice could have been better, But on the subject of food, their picnic baskets were amazing, being A/I we tried one, couldn't believe we had such a good choice.We ate in the pool bar and the choice there for lunch was v.good.A good selection of drink for A/I too.Staff were all very friendly.Outside you could get taxi's or buses to Grand Baie. The resession has hit here and the taxi's are feeling it. But the bus is cheap if you dont have a bad back. Make sure if you do get a bus, that you ask for Legends to come back, as the name of the hotel has only recently changed and some still know it as that. We waited a long time in Grand Baie before we knew this. I loved the little pier at sunset.

Room Tip: If you are a bad sleeper choose one in the far end of the complex, but is all quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Went there on our honeymoon. Staff were overbearing. I'd like to pour water into my own glass please. The beach is man made and the water is not clear. The rooms are average and not what you would expect in an expensive resort. If you do go, choose all inclusive as otherwise it is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank fingalliandubmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
62.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,550 reviews
17.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
1.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,239 reviews
3.2 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
8.1 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,251 - ₹ 75,208
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing