We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I would like to go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“I would like to go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a Feng Shui designed hotel, all built around little bays and coves, all rooms face the sea.WE were a group of 16 on a tour of the island, the first stop being down the bottom, now its the top. We were given a warm welcome from the staff on arrival. Our room was furthest away from reception, but we soon found a quick way back for food. 95% can be done under cover if its raining, but they do supply umbrellas. The rooms are nice and split level, quite spacious, plenty of storage space. Good air con, safe and lighting. We had our own little beach with plenty of sunbeds and shades, plus a separate pool. Our first hotel had been 4* and this one being 5* I expected the food to be better, but was a bit disappointed. No hot plates unless you asked. Fruit in the morning was uncovered and there were birds and flies about. Also the choice could have been better, But on the subject of food, their picnic baskets were amazing, being A/I we tried one, couldn't believe we had such a good choice.We ate in the pool bar and the choice there for lunch was v.good.A good selection of drink for A/I too.Staff were all very friendly.Outside you could get taxi's or buses to Grand Baie. The resession has hit here and the taxi's are feeling it. But the bus is cheap if you dont have a bad back. Make sure if you do get a bus, that you ask for Legends to come back, as the name of the hotel has only recently changed and some still know it as that. We waited a long time in Grand Baie before we knew this. I loved the little pier at sunset.

Room Tip: If you are a bad sleeper choose one in the far end of the complex, but is all quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,417
    566
    123
    46
    16
See reviews for
740
2,855
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Went there on our honeymoon. Staff were overbearing. I'd like to pour water into my own glass please. The beach is man made and the water is not clear. The rooms are average and not what you would expect in an expensive resort. If you do go, choose all inclusive as otherwise it is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
38 Thank fingalliandubmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have just returned from our 7day dream hoilday which was everything and more than we expected. From the time we arrived until the moment we let the staff was execellent. There was nothing to big or to small that the staff was not able to satisfy. Every thing was always done with a smile. A special thanks to Sherone & her team at the kids club. To Rudy & Annebella at receiption thank you guys for a job well done. To Diren & Simla and the rest of the team at the resturante thanks for your special attention guys well done. to Reedoo and his team at the beach thanks guys for a great service. We will definitely be returning keep up the good, warm and friendly service to all the staff. Will definitely recommend to familie and friends. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neressa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I travelled here on our honeymoon and it was so much better than we'd even hoped it would be. The staff were exceptional. The word "yes" was their default setting. Food and drink delivered to you on the beach, great entertainment and the cuisine was very very good. Especially the curries.

It's really unfortunate if some people have had a not so good experience at this hotel but personally I think that's just down to really bad luck.

Yes the sea is quite shallow, there is a lot of seaweed and you will find better water in other resorts around the island but it's still exceptional and it's still paradise. We went to two other resorts during our stay and I cut my feet on their sharp coral so each beach has it's pro's and con's. There are breaks in the seaweed so you just find where they are and walk through them. It's not a problem.

We travelled in June which is their Winter. It was around 26 / 27 degrees every day. Some days were cloudier than others, and some days had five or six hours of pure sunshine. The weather that time of year was brilliant.

We opted for the 'Infinity All Inclusive' package. Even if you don't get your full money's worth I'd still highly recommend this option. It makes for a better holiday. If you want one more you have one more!

SUPERB RESORT!!!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wow! we just had the greatest time at the Lux Grand Gaube in Mauritius. Every was perfect - the views from our room to the ocean, all the activity that were available, the food, the service, the weather - there was nothing more we could have wanted. My favorite part of our 10 days there was when we went scuba diving with Sesene, the dive master, out in the bay. It was my first time diving and he made the experiance safe and exciting all at the same time. So many fish, beautiful coral, the water crystal clear and so blue. It was all way beyond my expectation and we have amazing pictures to remember it all. We can't stop thinking about how much fun we had at this resort. If you have the chance to go consider yourself very blessed. We do.

Room Tip: I did not see any rooms that do not have a sea view because it is on a peninsula there is water ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaLarason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
61.9 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
1.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
18.2 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
17.6 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
45.0 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,854 - ₹ 32,511
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing