We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LUX* Grand Gaube
Nearby Hotels
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
US$ 279
US$ 237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coin de Mire Attitude(Bain Boeuf)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 163
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calodyne Hotel(Calodyne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,577)
Filter reviews
4,577 results
Traveller rating
3,780
604
129
46
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,780
604
129
46
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabalonemain beachbeach restaurantour honeymoona la carte restaurantsjean phillipeoutdoor cinemamessage in a bottlecoffee barbanyan restaurantjunior suiteall inclusive packagethe banyan treewater sportsbanyan poolherb gardenisland kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,503 - 2,508 of 4,577 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wow! we just had the greatest time at the Lux Grand Gaube in Mauritius. Every was perfect - the views from our room to the ocean, all the activity that were available, the food, the service, the weather - there was nothing more we could have wanted. My favorite part of our 10 days there was when we went scuba diving with Sesene, the dive master, out in the bay. It was my first time diving and he made the experiance safe and exciting all at the same time. So many fish, beautiful coral, the water crystal clear and so blue. It was all way beyond my expectation and we have amazing pictures to remember it all. We can't stop thinking about how much fun we had at this resort. If you have the chance to go consider yourself very blessed. We do.

Room Tip: I did not see any rooms that do not have a sea view because it is on a peninsula there is water everywhere you look.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaLarason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Dear All,

It Gives me pleasure to describe LUX Grand Gaube as i have also Researched Many options before Finalizing a hotel for Our honeymoon.

Book Your Travel from Sun Rise Travels Pune Mr. Hiren 09890643157 as he gives the best price. i have checked with couples coming with us on the same dates.

Do go through following Points very carefully:-

1..Exchange all the currency on air port only and convert it back to dollars when u return.indian rupees and not exchanged any where. keep ur passport during exchange procedure any where. i mean on air port or in city.

2. We entered the Main gate and Saw an Big Golf Area. We were amazed to see this property as we entered the Premises.it was a perfect Entry.all the luggage was taken to our rooms

3.Then we were Greeted by hotel staff as we entered, they were So Friendly and overjoyed to see us. we had a perfect welcome drink and Mr. RUDY guided us with all instructions and Escorted us to room. We were never ever in Confusion about all facilities described by him. he did a great job.

4. Mr. Rudy had Arranged for hotel tour through battery car. The property was amazing. it has 2 swimming pools, 3 restaurants ( The kitchen, The beach and The Abalone), 5 Lawn tennis Courts, Children's play area, LUX Me Spa and Treatment area. then there was an Banyan Restaurant bit isolated but best one for romance.

5. Hotel has nice Cozy Sea View Superior rooms perfect for Honeymooners (Room no. 7070).Got Sparkling Wine , it was the best.They have Coffee maker and mini bar too.there is Room clean up process twice a day. Mr. Sanjay from Housekeeping Was Perfect in his duties.

6. Then comes main point of food, It was Fantastic, perfect, In Local term Chumma. We Enjoyed Chinese, Indian and all the local cuisines. Mr. Singh And Mr. Ajay Were perfect in their work. they served us with indian Alu ka paratha , Chole bhature, etc. You say and they will make it for you. WE HAD NOT HEARD SORRY FOR ANY OF OUR REQUESTS. We also Got great pastas and pizzas at THE BEACH RESTAURANTS.

Thai Curry and Vegetable for our Romantic dinner. it was Fabulous.

7. Tam Tam Tours Also arranged for good site seeing, but i recommend to skip North tour and Hire a car and visit Casela park and Botanical garden. it was good.We had an bad experience with Mr. Kiran Of Tam Tam Tours as he LIED that there was no Slot for Lions interaction, but we went on the same time and we enjoyed all the facilities.the was bloody Cheap person. Mrs. Poonam was the BEST PERSON ON TOUR.

8.we enjoyed Lawn tennis every evening and hammam , sauna and jacuzzi at no extra charge. just get lawn tennis balls as they charge 250.00 for it.

9. Carry Water from outside, you tell your tour Guides for it. It costs 90rs for 1 litre in hotel and you get 5 ltrs in 75/- from outside supermarkets. do it on your first day.

10 . Do not skip island tour and do all Water Rides. do not miss underwater sea walk and waterfall from speed boat. it was great experience.

11. All and all a perfect place for Indians. dont worry about food its the best one right from breakfast till Dinner.

Room Tip: Go for 1 st floor Rooms ONLY for privacy. room no 7070 was the best.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hemang b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've just come back from a 10 day stay at Lux Grand Gaube and I'm already planning my next holiday. It was amazing. It is a beautiful resort but what makes it so special is the staff. They really do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Our room 7043 was lovely and right in the centre of the resort on the first floor overlooking the lagoon. Vimi from housekeeping kept us enchanted with her lovely towel origami animals on our bed each day. The rooms were very clean and the complementary hair and body products were exquisite.

We were on the all inclusive package and it was so nice not to have to worry about how much we were spending. The food is excellent. I was very happy to see they offered fresh beetroot, carrot and spinach juice each morning as well as the fresh fruit juices. We loved their jams and pastries too. I loved the mediteranian restaurant The Beach, especially the lunch menu. Make sure you book in advance for dinners if you want to dine anywhere but The Kitchen as they book out early. The indian buffet and show on friday night is a must do.

Our favourite place to relax was the Banyan beach. It was nice and quite. The bar opens there at 12 midday. Pizzas from The Beach can be ordered and delivered directly to your beach lounge. Along with a pina colada and a good book it was heaven.

Our favourite staff member was Reedoo the beach supervisor. He went out of his way every day to come and see us and make sure we had everything we needed.

A special mension to Chris Ng maintenance supervisor.....when he found out we missed out on the Mauritian buffet he organised a special mauritian lunch for us at Abalone. It was amazing food and we just couldn't believe that he did that for us.

It really was a trip of a lifetime and I would highly recommend Lux Grand Gaube to anyone.

Room Tip: Book restaurants in advance for dinner but don't miss out on the Mauritian and Indian buffets in the Kitchen. Try a Frappelux on the beach
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ilovefijiholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We decided to spend our Anniversary in the Lux at Grand Gaube Mauritius.
We had booked an all inclusive package, staying in a junior suite.
The hotel was first class, it would always go out of it's way, to help. Dinner on the Beach a must.
The wife is a vegetarian, the restaurant's would always cook extra things.
Lux spa is amazing, we had a couples message, which was extra but so worth it.
Big John the small boat trip guy, was well worth doing, it is great snorkling in the mangroves, and spending time on a small island on our own for lunch.
The only criticism with the hotel is that unless you sit down and read all the Lux magazine, you don't know until it's to late, that The Abalone and nThe Beach need to be booked in advance.
And if the Hotel has a Corporate Company, doing a Sales incentive reward you may miss out.
All in All this Hotel gave us a wonderful experience, all the Staff were brilliant.
Thank you Lux Grand Gaube. June 2012. Bill & Jo Smith



Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We spent ten days at the hotel back in November 2011 when it was still called Legends. We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary having married at the Sugar Beach Hotel on the island ten years earlier.

We had a fantastic time - we were looked after from the moment we arrived - such a nice, friendly bunch of people who really wanted to make your stay memorable.

We stayed on the all inclusive package and this really made life easy - no worries about whether we could afford that bottle of wine with lunch.

There seems to be more of an emphasis on couples rather than families which suited us perfectly as we were looking for a romantic, quiet holiday. Plenty of activities to keep you occupied.

Apparently the Belle Mare hotel is the flagship of the chain on the island but to be honest, we were so happy with Legends that we wouldn't want to change. In fact we are planning a return trip for later this year so Preety, please make sure our room is ready :o)

Room Tip: Make sure you try the Summer Island cocktail!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sallyinasmartcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews