We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COULDN'T BE BETTER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“COULDN'T BE BETTER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I travelled here on our honeymoon and it was so much better than we'd even hoped it would be. The staff were exceptional. The word "yes" was their default setting. Food and drink delivered to you on the beach, great entertainment and the cuisine was very very good. Especially the curries.

It's really unfortunate if some people have had a not so good experience at this hotel but personally I think that's just down to really bad luck.

Yes the sea is quite shallow, there is a lot of seaweed and you will find better water in other resorts around the island but it's still exceptional and it's still paradise. We went to two other resorts during our stay and I cut my feet on their sharp coral so each beach has it's pro's and con's. There are breaks in the seaweed so you just find where they are and walk through them. It's not a problem.

We travelled in June which is their Winter. It was around 26 / 27 degrees every day. Some days were cloudier than others, and some days had five or six hours of pure sunshine. The weather that time of year was brilliant.

We opted for the 'Infinity All Inclusive' package. Even if you don't get your full money's worth I'd still highly recommend this option. It makes for a better holiday. If you want one more you have one more!

SUPERB RESORT!!!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,563
    581
    125
    46
    16
See reviews for
772
2,971
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wow! we just had the greatest time at the Lux Grand Gaube in Mauritius. Every was perfect - the views from our room to the ocean, all the activity that were available, the food, the service, the weather - there was nothing more we could have wanted. My favorite part of our 10 days there was when we went scuba diving with Sesene, the dive master, out in the bay. It was my first time diving and he made the experiance safe and exciting all at the same time. So many fish, beautiful coral, the water crystal clear and so blue. It was all way beyond my expectation and we have amazing pictures to remember it all. We can't stop thinking about how much fun we had at this resort. If you have the chance to go consider yourself very blessed. We do.

Room Tip: I did not see any rooms that do not have a sea view because it is on a peninsula there is water ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaLarason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolhapur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Dear All,

It Gives me pleasure to describe LUX Grand Gaube as i have also Researched Many options before Finalizing a hotel for Our honeymoon.

Book Your Travel from Sun Rise Travels Pune Mr. Hiren 09890643157 as he gives the best price. i have checked with couples coming with us on the same dates.

Do go through following Points very carefully:-

1..Exchange all the currency on air port only and convert it back to dollars when u return.indian rupees and not exchanged any where. keep ur passport during exchange procedure any where. i mean on air port or in city.

2. We entered the Main gate and Saw an Big Golf Area. We were amazed to see this property as we entered the Premises.it was a perfect Entry.all the luggage was taken to our rooms

3.Then we were Greeted by hotel staff as we entered, they were So Friendly and overjoyed to see us. we had a perfect welcome drink and Mr. RUDY guided us with all instructions and Escorted us to room. We were never ever in Confusion about all facilities described by him. he did a great job.

4. Mr. Rudy had Arranged for hotel tour through battery car. The property was amazing. it has 2 swimming pools, 3 restaurants ( The kitchen, The beach and The Abalone), 5 Lawn tennis Courts, Children's play area, LUX Me Spa and Treatment area. then there was an Banyan Restaurant bit isolated but best one for romance.

5. Hotel has nice Cozy Sea View Superior rooms perfect for Honeymooners (Room no. 7070).Got Sparkling Wine , it was the best.They have Coffee maker and mini bar too.there is Room clean up process twice a day. Mr. Sanjay from Housekeeping Was Perfect in his duties.

6. Then comes main point of food, It was Fantastic, perfect, In Local term Chumma. We Enjoyed Chinese, Indian and all the local cuisines. Mr. Singh And Mr. Ajay Were perfect in their work. they served us with indian Alu ka paratha , Chole bhature, etc. You say and they will make it for you. WE HAD NOT HEARD SORRY FOR ANY OF OUR REQUESTS. We also Got great pastas and pizzas at THE BEACH RESTAURANTS.

Thai Curry and Vegetable for our Romantic dinner. it was Fabulous.

7. Tam Tam Tours Also arranged for good site seeing, but i recommend to skip North tour and Hire a car and visit Casela park and Botanical garden. it was good.We had an bad experience with Mr. Kiran Of Tam Tam Tours as he LIED that there was no Slot for Lions interaction, but we went on the same time and we enjoyed all the facilities.the was bloody Cheap person. Mrs. Poonam was the BEST PERSON ON TOUR.

8.we enjoyed Lawn tennis every evening and hammam , sauna and jacuzzi at no extra charge. just get lawn tennis balls as they charge 250.00 for it.

9. Carry Water from outside, you tell your tour Guides for it. It costs 90rs for 1 litre in hotel and you get 5 ltrs in 75/- from outside supermarkets. do it on your first day.

10 . Do not skip island tour and do all Water Rides. do not miss underwater sea walk and waterfall from speed boat. it was great experience.

11. All and all a perfect place for Indians. dont worry about food its the best one right from breakfast till Dinner.

Room Tip: Go for 1 st floor Rooms ONLY for privacy. room no 7070 was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemang b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uki, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've just come back from a 10 day stay at Lux Grand Gaube and I'm already planning my next holiday. It was amazing. It is a beautiful resort but what makes it so special is the staff. They really do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Our room 7043 was lovely and right in the centre of the resort on the first floor overlooking the lagoon. Vimi from housekeeping kept us enchanted with her lovely towel origami animals on our bed each day. The rooms were very clean and the complementary hair and body products were exquisite.

We were on the all inclusive package and it was so nice not to have to worry about how much we were spending. The food is excellent. I was very happy to see they offered fresh beetroot, carrot and spinach juice each morning as well as the fresh fruit juices. We loved their jams and pastries too. I loved the mediteranian restaurant The Beach, especially the lunch menu. Make sure you book in advance for dinners if you want to dine anywhere but The Kitchen as they book out early. The indian buffet and show on friday night is a must do.

Our favourite place to relax was the Banyan beach. It was nice and quite. The bar opens there at 12 midday. Pizzas from The Beach can be ordered and delivered directly to your beach lounge. Along with a pina colada and a good book it was heaven.

Our favourite staff member was Reedoo the beach supervisor. He went out of his way every day to come and see us and make sure we had everything we needed.

A special mension to Chris Ng maintenance supervisor.....when he found out we missed out on the Mauritian buffet he organised a special mauritian lunch for us at Abalone. It was amazing food and we just couldn't believe that he did that for us.

It really was a trip of a lifetime and I would highly recommend Lux Grand Gaube to anyone.

Room Tip: Book restaurants in advance for dinner but don't miss out on the Mauritian and Indian buffets in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ilovefijiholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

We decided to spend our Anniversary in the Lux at Grand Gaube Mauritius.
We had booked an all inclusive package, staying in a junior suite.
The hotel was first class, it would always go out of it's way, to help. Dinner on the Beach a must.
The wife is a vegetarian, the restaurant's would always cook extra things.
Lux spa is amazing, we had a couples message, which was extra but so worth it.
Big John the small boat trip guy, was well worth doing, it is great snorkling in the mangroves, and spending time on a small island on our own for lunch.
The only criticism with the hotel is that unless you sit down and read all the Lux magazine, you don't know until it's to late, that The Abalone and nThe Beach need to be booked in advance.
And if the Hotel has a Corporate Company, doing a Sales incentive reward you may miss out.
All in All this Hotel gave us a wonderful experience, all the Staff were brilliant.
Thank you Lux Grand Gaube. June 2012. Bill & Jo Smith



Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
62.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,390 reviews
1.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
17.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
3.2 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
8.1 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,696 - ₹ 44,861
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing