We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb, but no quite the legends package”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

this is the second time we have visited this hotel , and it wont be the last , i cannot praise the staff enough for there effort to make you feel at home , we were lucky enough to get a upgrade to a top floor suite, brilliant could not have asked for more , as someone who likes a quiet holiday this was perfect, the banyan pool was great , for us, good waiter service, , and loungers, if i could make one suggestion make this area for adults only, there is plenty of facilities for children , so i think the hotel could benefit from advertising a adults only pool, and quiet area
As I said the room was great, the bed was a little hard, we asked at reception was there anything that could be done , 2 days later it was fine i think the guy who cleaned the room, think it was Givondi did something, as reception stated all the mattresses were all the same, again good service.
Food fantastic, the pastries could not be beat. rooms checked on a regular basis 2 or 3 times daily, and turn down service,
last time we were there it was called Legends, as they say they have gone through a re-branding , not quite shure what that means ,but this stay was not up to legends standard , but that would be hard to beat , have stayed in similar all inc, 5 star in the Carribean this place blows them out of the water. when the waiter clears you plate and moves you drink closer so you dont have to reach , i ask you does it get better than that

Room Tip: higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mossykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,440 - 2,444 of 4,457 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great place for honeymooners. We paid extra for the "pure discovery package", which is their best all inclusive deal including food, drink, room service, massage, dolphin trips, tennis, cooking class etc. It seemed expensive at first, but we were very happy we took it. We would have ended up paying a lot more without it.

Room Tip: Pay for the Pure discovery package. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Satuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stunning hotel with breath taking views! Free wifi even on the beaches! Superb service from staff and rooms were cleaned n serviced 3 times a day! breakfast buffet was extensive and gorgeous pain au chocolat n croissants yum yum!! Free water sports provided on the hotel premises. Perfect hotel for those wanting to stay in the hotel only as it's far from other tourist locations and taxis are very expensive. Cabbies immediately over charge you when they hear you are goin to this hotel as they think you're easy money. Nearest town grand baie has little to see and closes early.. There is no evening activities at all also few choices in terms of dining out. If you want to venture out then I'd suggest staying on the east coast at the lux belle mar hotel as there's more to see. Beaches there are clear and more beautiful. The cabs are cheaper and the markets and shops there are full of life and character!
All in all very impressed with this hotel and would Defo recommend this

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Poohbearx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our decision to go to Mauritius was a last minute one, and so we had limited options to choose from within the hotel class and nightly rate that we had in mind. We chose LUX Grand Gaube after reading all the reviews and traveler comments, good and bad.. which all ring true in different ways. On arrival, we were very impressed with the hotel's expansive layout and beautiful setting. We were received well and greeted warmly and swiftly shown to our room, which was clean and comfortable. On closer inspection, however, the room did come across as old and tired, with cracks and breaks in the furniture/mini-fridge/sanitary ware. It wasn't the quietest hotel room I have stayed in either. On the bright side, the room had pretty much all we needed, was spacious, and offered a much appreciated balcony (where we used to have breakfast) looking out to beautiful sea view.

The Hotel: beautifully laid out and in sync with the serenity and natural beauty of Grand Gaube. We loved the fact that the structure of the hotel seemed to be an extension of the natural setting of the location as opposed to overpowering it.

Facilities: If you decide to spend your holiday within the hotel's premises, then there is plenty to do! Multiple beaches (more on that later) and pools, water-based activities (some free, some payable), tennis courts, a golf driving range, a games hall, and a cinema with daily screenings of movies / major international sporting events will most certainly keep you busy. Free wifi is always a plus!

Beaches: LUX Grand Gaube does not necessarily have the best beaches, if that is why you're choosing it. Waters are shallow, in some places muddy, with a lot of weed. Clarity isn't great either for snorkeling.

Staff: Reception staff are wonderful! they are helpful, warm and welcoming. Special thanks to Kishan - he was absolutely wonderful. Cafe / bar staff on the other hand seemed cold and uninterested almost every time. Getting my morning cup of coffee my way seemed like a chore!

Going the Extra Mile: there was something new arranged for guests almost every day, which was really nice to experience. A reception on the beach, outdoor cinema, a Mauritian folk dance, star-gazing, etc are all extra touches that make your stay a little more special.

Location: the hotel is quite far from major tourist hubs and other attractions in Mauritius. We did not want to spend all our time in the hotel and taxis were very expensive. If you choose to stay in LUX Grand Gaube and you wish to venture out, I would strongly recommend renting a car.

Overall... the room itself was not worth the price we paid for it. But in the grand scheme of things... in light of the overall hotel, its facilities, and the beautiful setting that we enjoyed every day, we had a good time. No regrets!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have recently returned from a 9 night holiday at Lux Grand Gaube. From the moment we arrived we relaxed into the wonderful ambience of the resort. Set on a lovely bay it is picture perfect. Yet there was never a time when we felt this was just another luxury hotel in an exotic destination, there were simply too many unexpected pleasures. A private cinema complete with popcorn, snorkelling, water skiing, yoga, guided walks and cycle rides (Bobo, thanks for sticking with us!) are just a few.
We stayed in a superior room, which was very comfortable with king size bed and nice bathroom. Toiletries are lovely and two bottles of water are provided each day. Beach/ pool towels come with the evening turn-down service so there is no annoying wait each morning for a towel station to open.
There was never a problem in finding a sunbed or parasol, and waiters ensured that we didn't have to move to get a drink.
We were on a half board basis and really enjoyed the food. Breakfast was a feast with an egg chef, a pancake chef, juice being squeezed and fruit prepared at station. Healthy options, fresh bread and a guitarist playing softly. Evening buffets were varied but always had fish, meat and vegetarian options. We had two meals at The Beach restaurant where they served not only excellent fish but also great pizza.
Sporting facilities were good with a golf driving range, excellent tennis courts, a gym and many water sports free of charge.
Sadly for us, we had three days of heavy rain but we were very impressed how the resort swung into an additional programme of daytime indoor activities from board games, table tennis tournaments, extra films for children. All guests had umbrellas and the staff worked endlessly to try and ensure floors stayed dry. Unfortunately the weather meant that some activities, such as the astronomer and a cinema under the stars, had to be cancelled so we will just have to go back again to try these.
Every evening there was different entertainment in the bar and visiting dancers twice a week that were very good. There is also a cocktail party once a week.
We found that all of the staff were helpful, warm and friendly and (thanks to the resort's policy of not tipping individual staff but recommending a single tip at the end of our stay to be shared by all staff) this was very genuine.
But our highest praise must be for Xavier the resident manager who was exemplary in his handling of anything out of the ordinary, from film crews to torrential downpours. His smile never faltered and he ensured he spoke to all the guests each day. He has ensured that nothing is too much trouble for any of his team.
We will undoubtedly return, hopefully later this year when the weather may be a little kinder.
To everyone at Lux Grand Gaube, thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
62.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,020 reviews
17.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,548 reviews
3.2 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,818 reviews
18.7 km away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,383 reviews
12.3 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range: ₹ 14,250 - ₹ 79,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing