We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20" Catamaran to Flat island - lunch at Govenors house, outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
20 Degres Sud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“20" Catamaran to Flat island - lunch at Govenors house, outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were very privileged to experience such a wonderful charter - including a whale really close to the boat. The service on board and at Govenors house was superb! The lunch was excellent, as was the presentation. Outstanding attention to detail, and a real treat. We decided to have coffee in the lounge once we were back at the hotel. The lounge invites guests to sit back relax, and put your feet up..... But, don't.., you will be scolded like a naught child! Pity to end a lovely day this way!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrottingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    123
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
34
482
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We got married here in June 2011 and stayed for a total of 6 days before going on to our Honeymoon in Madagascar. What can we say apart from WOW!!! My wife chose this place as she wanted somewhere intimate and quiet and it really delivered. Having worked in the hospitality industry for 15 years and trvelled extensively we are not easily impressed by 5 star resorts and quite often just wish we were sleeping under the stars alone. But 20DS is reallly something special - the service was tailored to the guests needs and nothing is too much effort for their staff and it was really impossible to fault - everything was done to perfection. Out hotel suite was also brilliant - 3 separate rooms tastefully decorated and very bright. airy and modern, and a fantastic balcony overlooking the ocean with its own Jacuzi, which we spent several nights in watching the boats go buy and drinking champagne. The wedding itself was also fantastic - a perfect setting by the ocean and we felt like having some of the staff along was like having invited a few close friends. Plus tasteful jazz music in the evenings, great cocktails and complementary bites from the creative chef. This surely is the best hotel in Mauritius for those that appreciate quality, service and peacefulness.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benandtriclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leran, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

So happy we decided to do the boutique thing rather than the large resorts with screaming kids and thousands by the pool!

This hotel is charming, intimate, quiet, classy, ideally located, brilliant food and atmosphere and the activities are all there.
We took the island trip for the day which is a must for the absolute fantasy turned reality. Private restaurant in a colonial vestige, pure white sand, crystal clear waters, grilled lobster and wine and cocktails...heaven!

The charm rooms are quite small but well laid out and decorated.

The hotel services would have been perfect and complete if the bar had a snack menu at all hours. We found ourselves exhausted at 5.30 pm one evening and did not want to dine late and would have appreciated a snack at the bar before going to the room early.

Ideal for boutique hotel lovers and haters of big resorts.

Room Tip: Do the island trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French-Campagne-Chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spent a week on a relaxing break in late May - early June. I was expecting great things from reading previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. It's got a real charm to it with stylish but comfortable and inviting decor and lots of little nooks you can hide away in. I especially loved the huge salt water aquarium they have in the library taking up an entire wall.

My favourite time was the early evening, gathering by the bar for a pre-dinner cocktail around the pool lit by candlelight. The food was better than I had expected from other reviews: there was only one evening that I was tempted to stray from the half board offers and then I ended up wishing I hadn't as my husband's half board meal looked nicer! After reading past reviews, I'd expected the staff to try and push us towards more expensive dishes but this didn't happen even once so I think they've got the message. :-)

We stayed in the upstairs suite. This was one of the two original suites - not an Austral suite - and I just adored it. It was smaller than the Austral suites and more set back from the water, but I loved the views through the palm trees. It was also in a quieter position - whereas the Austral suites were joined to the main building with the restaurant etc, the older suites are at the far end of the 'charm' rooms. I've included a photo of the room map to give you an idea of layout.

If you have the choice I would definitely go for an upstairs room rather than lower down as it gives you a bit more privacy. Even the charm rooms seemed to have a little verandah upstairs. The only rooms I didn't like the position of were the two downstairs beachfront rooms as their private lounge area was right near an exit from the restaurant so not as private. Yes, in the evenings from our balcony you could hear the distant sounds of music drifting over the water from the Grand Baie nightspots, but I didn't find it at all irritating like some earlier reviewers - it wasn't loud and as soon as I went inside the room we couldn't hear.

We went on several excursions via the hotel. The day outing to Flat Island was wonderful, worth every penny. If you do nothing else while staying, I'd do this. The dinner on the Lady Lisbeth was lovely if you like old boats (as I do) although I was a little disappointed we didn't sail very far - literally just a few minutes motoring to the middle of the harbour to anchor, then back again after dinner, whereas I would have liked to maybe go part way round the island to another beach. The free boat to Grand Baie was worth going on for the trip over - but I would stay on the boat and come straight back. The part of Grand Baie it takes you too is full of tourist shops, we didn't like it at all.

We also did two outings further afield, in a taxi arranged by the hotel. Our driver was great, spoke English fluently and pointed out lots of things enroute when we asked. His taxi was spotless and even eco- it was a hybrid! One day we went to Pamplemousse Gardens, Eureka (old mansion) and then afternoon at Casela including walking with lions (which was superb). The second outing was on the day we left, and since the hotel is at the opposite end of the island from the airport, we arranged to have our day out then be dropped at the airport for our early evening flight - thus helping cut costs as it saved on the airport transfer.

Mostly though we just lounged around the hotel reading. The Wifi worked fine in our room as well as on the verandah and even on the beach(!) At times it got a bit windy but it was fine as they have some sun-loungers set up behind glass windbreaks so you are protected if you want.

Overall, it was a really lovely place to stay and lived up to my high expectations.

Room Tip: go for an upstairs room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynettefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Mauritius is a truly beautiful Island with extremely friendly inhabitants.
We were looking for a smallish, relatively quiet, hopefully unique hotel which would offer a combination of great location, excellent food, excellent service, reasonable watersport activities and constant input from its owners to ensure high standards are maintained.
We were not disappointed because 20 degres Sud scores on every point.
The restaurant service we witnessed throughout our 10 day stay was truly superb and must rank with the very best available. We booked half board and the system at the hotel is that there is a set three course dinner which changes every day. Either or all of the courses can be changed for alternative free "included" courses which are offered alongside alternatives available at extra cost. These alternative options do not change and some may find the number of "included" options limited although we enjoyed everthing on offer!
We were in a first floor charm room which was air conditioned and extremely pleasant having views of the beautiful coral sand beach and the very nicely designed swimming pool. The bed was a large, four poster variety complete with mosquito net, although we did not use it at this time of year. Having been to several Caribbean Islands I suggest the "mossies" in Mauritius are amateurs by comparison!! There was a huge bath, shower and loo in an area about half the size of the whole room. There was also a nicely shaded balcony.
We prefer individual hotels which offer a relaxing personalised experience and this hotel does exactly that and more.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and on check out it was one of the few occasions that I was really happy to heavily contribute to the "tip" box at reception. I was informed that this was shared out amongst all the staff twice a year and for once they all thoroughly deserve their "bonus"
Travelling around by car (they drive on the left like the UK) we noticed that there were relatively few cafe's/coffee shops but in the Black River Gorges area in the South West of the island we came across The Corner Bistro at the Rivervew Centre that had just opened up this month!! It is placed in a compact new development of shops but has to be highly recommended not only for its excellent coffee, snacks and freshly made cakes etc but their super fresh seafood (pick your own crab!! etc.) and other excellent small meals at very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chesorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.2 km away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
1.1 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
8.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 Degres Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Property: 20 Degres Sud Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,619 - ₹ 31,128
Hotel Class:4 star — 20 Degres Sud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20°SUD Relais & Chateaux is the first Boutique-hotel on the island to offer both the luxury and excellence of a property within the dimensions of an attractive, privately run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your 20 Degres Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Degres Sud Grand Baie
20 Degres Sud Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing