We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

While i under stand people views on this hotel i would like to share ours Well just arrived back from this hotel after spending twelve days for our Ruby Wedding Anv/ and what a great time we had, the staff just could not do enough to make sure that we enjoyed our self.When we arrived they sent up a bottle of champagne and a basket of fruit.On the night on of are anniversary they provided dinner on the beach,also as while were having dinner they went into our room and dressed it with flowers.and the last three days of our holidays they wanted to up grade to one of there four star hotels we thank them but enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to stay at the Merville. The reason for sharing this is because some times in not just about the hotel but about the staff and thing things they do for their guests.About the hotel we found it very clear,while some of the meals were not great maybe that was our choice.Staff we just great always smiling as they served you morning and night.All in all we really had a great time and would like to thank all the staff for making our Ruby wedding anniversary a special time.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the main hotel we had a room on the second floor all rooms face the beach.try second floo...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shargil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,408)
There are newer reviews for Merville Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 750 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

My boyfriend and I went for 2 weeks end of Jan beginning of Feb. We went for the weather and to relax and we got both! The hotel is great! I never book 3* but wasn't disappointed with this hotel. The welcome after 12 hours on a plane and 1.5hours in a taxi was great! Cold towels and a drink! They did everything for you whilst you sat and relaxed! Check in was quick, hotel wasn't aware we had upgraded to AI but it was cleared up easily. We were upgraded to a deluxe bungalow which was also great! Couldn't go to the room but they had a shower room! Wasn't the best but did the job - didn't plan to spend any time in there anyway! Beach was a stones throw and beds were comfy! Room was great - although bin men came at 6am everyday and the road is seriously noisey. After 4 nights we asked to be moved. After a day on the beach we were in another room, right on the beach and away from the road!
Bar staff are so friendly! If you are friendly then so are they! The food choices are great and loved the mauritian market on Tuesdays at lunch! Local food and drinks are the best!
Lunch was either a la carte or bar food - burgers, sandwiches, pizzas etc so you were spoilt for choice!
Beach Hawkers we found really annoying!! But we also found some with nice bits and did make some purchases! Free water sports were great and used them everyday! Went on the Dolphin trip and the speed boat one. Speed boat we found complete waste of money but dolphins was good - but hard work! Don't think it is a display and they come up to you - you are in the middle of the sea and you dive in and swim with them, then get back on the boat, then dive in again - for about 3 hours! Obviously you don't have to keep diving but no point otherwise! It is pretty amazing though!
Restaurant staff were really friendly and so were the reception. Apart from the noise issue we didn't have any complaints. Rooms are dated and the shower cubicle is slightly fragile but it didn't ruin our holiday! Air con is a bit of a pain as well as it is quite noisey but it is really hot. Didn't open windows as concerned about bites but didn't get biten throughout the holiday.
Spa is lovely! It is very professional and good quality. One of the best I have been to!
Got a cake sent from the hotel on my birthday - makes you feel a bit special as didn't ask for it!
Grand Baie I was really disappointed with. Expected this buzzy town with street food and music but got a few bars and shops that did the same things as the hotel. Walked in to it a few times though. Road is a bit dogdy if you have children/pram or unsteady on your feet as there is no pavement but we had no trouble whatsoever - even late at night after a few drinks!
Hotel I think is worth a lot more than 3* for service but it does have 1 pool and 1 restaurant which is why it isn't higher. But service is pretty damn good. Heard someone moaning about the service when we were there but he was pretty rude so maybe that was why! Weather was great also. We went for sun and relaxation and we got that. There are loads of trips but be prepared to spend money and be out all day as the hotel is the furthest north it can be and most of the trips are very south. Trip from airport is about 1hour 15 mins.
Drinks prices in case you are thinking of AI - Beer is about £3/4, wine £4/5 and cocktails £7/8/9 each. AI worked out at £30 each per day so if you wanted lunch and a few beers during the day and wines in the evening it is worth it! Our bill would have been huge!
I would go back anyday to Merville anyday and would reccommend and already have!!! Complaints are unfounded! We have stayed in Egypt, New York, Greece, Turkey, Spain, France, Italy etc etc all in good hotels and we found Merville GREAT!!!

Room Tip: Didn't see the standard rooms but hotel in general was hot! Bungalow is great and big but 319 wa...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here over Christmas and there was real mixture of nationalities, majority of which were French. Hence we celebrated Christmas the way the French do by having our Christmas dinner on Christmas eve. This was no problem as we knew we were in a different country for the festivities, so we were happy to go along with things.

Fellow guests really got into the festivities, during the Christmas eve meal we made good friends with some older ladies from Paris. A couple from England dressed as Father and Mother Christmas. It turned out this couple were from the same town where my Dad lives. They were really good sports even joining in with the festive activities the hotel had got planned with the children on Christmas day!!

We stayed in one of the beach huts and if intending to stay in one of these, I would recomend an upper floor as the balconies are massive. Big enough for sunbeds!! The room was of a really good size as was the bathroom and were full of natural light!!

We stayed on an all inclusive basis and I would really recommend this as the food and drinks can be quite pricey at the hotel. You come to Mauritius for a beach holiday so why break off from sunning yourself by having to walk into Grande Baie for your lunch? I've stayed in a number of all inclusives and found the quality of the drinks at the Merville very good.

No problems with the food. They have theme nights to try and vary things and I always found something that I could eat. I usually eat light at lunch time, but but there was not much of an option for this. One thing I would suggest to the Merville - put some salads on your lunch time menus. Everything came with chips, hence said, I had to go the gym on my return!!

We went into town (Grande Baie) a couple of times. Banana Club is the place to be, we had a good laugh there and got talking to loads of people. Bar B52 is good for an early drink. You can walk into Grande Baie, no problem during the day, just takes 10 minutes. There are no pavements on the walk there though so I preferred to catch a cab on a night. The security guys at the entrance of the hotel will get you a cab if you don't order one from reception.

Just realised I've not mentioned the beach.......what a beach!! Do the pedlos and Kayak free of charge from the beach club house!!

Room Tip: If you are opting for a bungalow - ask for a first floor room as you get such a big balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissJo_Cog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Mauritius is to my mind oversold as a destination. The scenery is rather monotonous unless you are a sugar-cane fan. The beaches are the strong points.
We booked a superior sea view room and have to say we got it! We were on the 2nd floor with a balcony running the width of the building. Nice big room, plenty of storage and a good bathroom. Rather let down by the corridors which had been painted in orange emulsion by someone with defective vision and floored with cheapo plastic laminate which had suffered badly from the humidity and foot traffic.
The staff are indeed fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and there were smiles all round. The food really wasn't terrific, I think that they were working to a budget to enable them to sell all-inclusive bookings. There was penny of fresh fruit and salads but meat dishes seemed to be using cheap cuts that were rather tough.
Mealtimes were a bit of a bun-fight and I guess it was this aspect of the hotel that really put us off. We should have specified a smaller property.
The Boathouse (watersports) is a very well run facility with a surprising range of free activities such as pedalos, canoes, laser sailboats, glass-bottomed boat/snorkelling and even water-skiing.
There are no coastal paths and the road to Grand Baie is not one you would want to walk as there are no pavements and driving is a bit hairy at times so we felt a bit trapped.
If you like larger hotels that are not too expensive and you just want to relax then this hotel could be just what you want.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

An extremely pleasant hotel in a marvellous setting on the beach. Close to Grand Baie.
Service was excellent and staff very friendly and obliging. Food was plentiful and the buffet was reasonably varied but got a bit repetitive in second week. In terms of value for money it could not be bettered. Mauritius is fairly limited in what it has to offer, but if you want sun, sand and sea it cannot be beaten.
The hotel is well located on a delightful bay and is within walking distance (just) of Grand Baie, which has many shops, restaurants etc.
A de luxe beach front room, ground floor, was ideal. One could step out of one's room onto the perfect beach. Not an ideal hotel for teenagers etc. Not enough to do, but ideal for young families or couples who just want to switch off.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: De Luxe Beach Front
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
1.1 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
6.8 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,627 reviews
1.1 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
531 reviews
34.7 km away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
829 reviews
40.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: ₹ 5,547 - ₹ 32,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing