We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
42
28
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
28
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the location is perfect grand bay place to stay wifi balcony hosts baie mauritius guesthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

Auberge Miko is a wonderful guesthouse, well located, just a few minutes away from the seafront and a ten minute walk away from Super U and La Croisette, on a quiet residential street. Connections with local buses to Mont Choisy, Trou aux biches, Pereybere and Bain Boeuf etc are all frequent.

Staying with the lovely Lena and welcoming Vivek is just like the reviews here say - relaxing and comfortable, in the evenings it feels like you are coming home.

I especially loved sitting on my second floor balcony at sunset and in the mornings - looking at the trees with a playful Madagascar fody and the super-chatty and curious mynah birds.

The in-house library - book exchange had an interestingly eclectic mix and kept me well entertained for 11 nights.

Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Lilli_Hoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek M, Owner at Auberge Miko, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Hello Lili,

Thank you for your mesmerizing review.
We are pleasantly surprised.

We appreciate your gesture of grand detail finess of information.

Beautiful is not the right word to describe your piece of art.

Thank for sharing your ideas for our future guests.

We wish you a pleasant continuation of the year and a good day.

Best regards,

Lena, Vivek and Chili.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019

This is a Nice hostel is a 3 mins walk from the seaside in Grand Baie. The Hostel is clean, and driven by a warm and welcoming staff!! We felt welcome from the first moment, and received an excellent service all though pour stay!!
The Finish hostess spoke well English as well as Norwegian/Swedish, and did everything possible to improve Our stay.

We had a small apartement With two bedrooms, and Nice and fully furnished Kitchen.

It is located just a few Block from the seaside, and Close the a varyity of restaurants and shops. Very convenient!

you should try it!!

Date of stay: January 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journey739573
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek M, Owner at Auberge Miko, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Hello our valued customer,

Thank you very much for your nice and informative gesture for our future guests.

We appreciate it very much.

We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our little Auberge.

We wish you a pleasant continuation of the year and you are most welcome back in close future.

Have a nice evening.

Best regards,

Lena, Vivek and Chili.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019

Auberge Miko has everything you "need" for a budget-friendly stay on beautiful Mauritius: clean rooms, hot water (no problems at all with that), WiFi (also no problems there), and air-con.

It also has everything you'd "like to have": super friendly owners (Lena and Vivek); fully equipped kitchenettes (pots, pans, dishes, glassware, fridge, kettle, stovetop); close proximity (as in walking distance) to restaurants, shops and the beach; and spacious rooms.

And always a pleasant bonus: a sweet little pup named Chili, who's always happy to have her belly rubbed :)

Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a quiet place in Grand Baie with everything you need and lots that you'd want.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek M, Owner at Auberge Miko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Hello dear friends,

Thank you very much for your nice and lovely informative comments.

We hope and appreciate your wonderful gesture for our future guests at Auberge Miko.

It was a great pleasure to share some ideas and contribute to your holidays.

We are very thankful to you recommending our small place.

We hope you are having a nice summer and good working days.

We wish you both good continuation of the year and hope to see you one back in Mauritius.

Have a nice day and follow us on Facebook/Auberge Miko.

Best regards,

Lena, Vivek and Chili.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

If you want space, the rooms are large. If you want a kitchenette with grocery stores/laundromat/shopping and even restaurants nearby, this is a convenient location. The owners are delightful and stop what they are doing to help you, engage you, share more about their beautiful Mauritius (and beyond!). Sweet little garden entrance and sitting area. Chili the dachsund is an unobstrusive sweetie and a great welcoming touch to this cozy spot.
Re bathrooms:
The hot water in two of the larger units is solar powered and proved testy. Request a one bedroom or studio to avert this difficulty. Also, this is Mauritius and it's an island. There are some ants on the bathroom floor. You will find them in most accommodations of all levels (except, ok, 5 star). Not a big deal, just arrive unsurprised.
Continental breakfast: available but must be requested the night before. I usually pass on a piece of bread and coffee for my breakfast and did likewise there.
Wifi: works in particular areas of your unit and in the lobby.

Date of stay: March 2018
2  Thank jillhU7813KU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek M, Owner at Auberge Miko, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello Jill,
A big thank you for your helpful and nice comments about our Auberge.

It was a great pleasure to have you at our place.

We appreciate your commitment to encourage more travelers to travel to Mauritius specially to Auberge Miko.

It was nice to talk to you and we are happy you had a nice time at our Auberge.

Thank you for all the good information for new customers.

Now we have WiFi in all the rooms.

We wish you a pleasant day.

Best regards,

Lena, Vivek and Chili.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

I travel often and on my own, so I rely on reviews to make decisions.
Last year, I came across this gem that is Auberge Miko. And I went back again this year.
Location - perfect! 2mns from bus stops, 5mns from Grand Baie beach, 20mns from La Cuvette beach (favoured by the locals and away from the polluted waters of Grand Baie), 10mns from supermarket
Lovely spacious room with cooking facilities, a fridge, balcony, air conditioning, WiFi...Clean and home from home, literally!
Now for the best... Lena and Vivek, the owners. Wonderful warm and friendly couple. Nothing is too much trouble. They make you feel like you are a friend, not a customer. And for the cynics out there, it is not fake. It is genuine. They care and make sure you have all you need to have a wonderful stay. And the two ladies who clean the rooms every day, well, they have smiles that just brighten your day! And they are not intrusive. If you choose to spend a lot of time with Vivek and Lena, they welcome you with open arms. If like me you are a little more shy and want them to make as little fuss of you as possible, then it is fine too. And then there is Chili! Beautiful sausage dog who welcomes you with a wiggle of the tail...
So, if you are thinking about it, don’t! Just Book! You will not find better than Auberge Miko, even if you are on a budget. And if you are wealthy, forget the 5* impersonal, tip demanding, private beached hotel. Go to Auberge Miko. Because you may not have a sea view, but you will experience the best that Grand Baie has to offer.
Finally, thank you so much Lena, Vivek and Chili. You made my trip. I would give you more than a 5* if I could! You so deserve everything good that comes to you.
And finally, as someone famously said...’I’ll be back’

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nath37-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergemiko13, Owner at Auberge Miko, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hello Nathalie,

Thank you very much for the nice words and lovely comments.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you at our place.
We always say, we reflect what our guests are !
We are a mirror of what you are.
Very nice and attentive.

We are very happy to know that you liked your visit in Grand Bay and at our Auberge.
We are very grateful to have a good guest but also a great person.

Thank you once again for the gift for Chili.
She loves it very much.

We wish you good courage for your job and continuation of the new year.

Best regards,

Lena, Vivek and Chili.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews