We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking Architecture”

Tamil Surya Oudaya Sangam Temple
Reviewed 9 July 2018

A must to visit esp if you are Hindu. It's a beautiful temple with detailed paintwork. Very neat and well kept.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank SanjayK609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"take pictures"
in 5 reviews
"hindu gods"
in 2 reviews
"coastal road"
in 2 reviews
"grand bay"
in 2 reviews
"donation"
in 11 reviews
"statues"
in 8 reviews
"worship"
in 5 reviews
"priest"
in 5 reviews
"architecture"
in 3 reviews
"spiritual"
in 2 reviews
"mauritius"
in 9 reviews
"culture"
in 2 reviews
"holiday"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018

we crossed the temple a number of times without realizing that this is the Surya Oudaya Temple. went there on our drive out of Grand Baie. time taken to see around is less than 20 minutes; parking is not earmarked as it is a road side temple, park on the pavement like everyone else and hop in; ensure that you remove your footwear before stepping into the main temple; I am sure the temple would get busy during local festivals.....

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank gundappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

This small temple is interesting as is located in hindu community in Grand Bay. You can go by bus or walking. The man who’s at the entrance explained me in his language (a local one- maybe creole language) small things about Shiva and Ganesha. The temple is colorful, but old. You have to pay 100 rupees (~2.5 euro) if you want to take some pictures.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank andreea_03_07as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited this lovely place of worship. I recommend others to visit. Lovely statues of the Hindu Gods.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Visited the temple and shrines with friends, was very peaceful and well worth stopping. We were in awe of the giant statues of Hindu deities.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Nate05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamil Surya Oudaya Sangam Temple also viewed

Cap Malheureux, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
Chamarel, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Tamil Surya Oudaya Sangam Temple? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing