We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dim sum!”
Review of Le Shabu

Le Shabu
Ranked #36 of 181 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 29
Description: Completely renewed, cosy and bright restaurant. Dining room with fans, and open patio are available at your convenience. Our bar will offer you a choice of french wines,home made punch with a mauritian touch, local beer and imported ones and soft drinks as well as fresh fruit juices. Our house specialty is the Asian BBQ and Steamboat. The Shabu Terre Mer is the most popular among our clients. But because there is no limit to our menu we have introduced a french version of our BBQ served with french fries and salad and of course DU PAIN! We have a variety of Thai and Japanese salads and tangy asian soups like Tom Yum and Laksa. Fresh whole fish from our lagoons are available and for the darers we have Red curry with coconut milk as well as Nasi Goreng and Thai Pineapple Fried rice. Last but not least you can have asian desserts.
Restaurant details
Description: Completely renewed, cosy and bright restaurant. Dining room with fans, and open patio are available at your convenience. Our bar will offer you a choice of french wines,home made punch with a mauritian touch, local beer and imported ones and soft drinks as well as fresh fruit juices. Our house specialty is the Asian BBQ and Steamboat. The Shabu Terre Mer is the most popular among our clients. But because there is no limit to our menu we have introduced a french version of our BBQ served with french fries and salad and of course DU PAIN! We have a variety of Thai and Japanese salads and tangy asian soups like Tom Yum and Laksa. Fresh whole fish from our lagoons are available and for the darers we have Red curry with coconut milk as well as Nasi Goreng and Thai Pineapple Fried rice. Last but not least you can have asian desserts.
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We visited Le Shabu on our 8th night on Mauritius. By this point we had ticked off many trip advisor restaurants and were now unsure where to go after having a few good meals out. We fancied Chinese and came across Le Shabu, which is more of a Chinese / Japanese / Asian Fusion restaurant. We had a selection of dim sum to start and they were amazing, really very yummy! The restaurant prides itself on its self cooking Shabu (they give you a selection of food to cook on a mini hob with a broth in the middle) when actually I think the dim sum stole the show! Worth giving this place a try if you like Japanese / Asian food.

2  Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for visiting us.
We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent flavors, very good quality ingredients.
I strongly suggest it.
Not to miss the dim sum, the tom yum soup, the steamboat, the pineapple rice and the sago for dessert.

Thank stecaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your appreciation to us.
Hoping to see you again during your next trip in Mauritius.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We were having a few drinks up in the north and at night time we started to feel rather hungry. My cousin mentioned about this restaurant and at first I was not too sure coz I tend to stick to what I know most of the time. But I can say that trying out Le Shabu was such a great idea. The thai food is probably the best I have had on the island and it also specialises in asian steamboat which I will definitely try out on my next visit there which is surely going to be very soon. Also the service was impeccable...Gilliane is the perfect host and will make sure that all your needs are met !! Le Shabu definitely comes as highly recommended !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mikash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

It always feels good to hear our food and service is appreciated.

We hope to see you soon and will always try our best to meet up with your needs n requests.
Cheers
Le Shabu team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat at 21:45 when most of the restaurants were about to close, at le shabu instead we felt welcome thanks to the very nice and professional staff. The fish curry and squids were very nice. I'd definitely recommend.

Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We are glad we helped you find something to eat at this time.
And moreover we are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.
Cheers
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The restaurant can be a bit hard to find especially if you don't know Grand Bay. Yes ma'am not everyone knows their way around Grand Bay. We went on a Sunday evening and it was impossible to park along the street on which the restaurant is found so if you don't mind walking 5 minutes, you can park your car at Super U. The price is on the high side but for the taste and quality it's good value for money. The waiting staff is very friendly and helpful but seems to struggle when it got busier. The menu is quite extensive but about half of the things we ordered were not available and the wait for the food was quite long. Maybe something to improve on and you don't need an F&B expert to figure out what's wrong there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Julien L
Thanks for your review.
Please note that we have taken note of all the negative critics and we have been working on it already.

It is true that we have suddenly started to be busier than before and recruiting good staff in the north is a big problem and we are still struggling to recruit good people to give good service to people.

We hope that your next visit will be better.
Regards

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Shabu also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pointe de Flacq, Flacq District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Terre Rouge, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Le Shabu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing