We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,933)
Filter reviews
3,933 results
Traveller rating
2,717
797
253
97
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,717
797
253
97
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prestige room horse riding quarter deck bar belle vue chateau mon desir la maree restaurant quarterdeck bar mini golf giant tortoises departure lounge beach restaurant all inclusive package mon desire le banyan equestrian centre our honeymoon beach service
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 3,933 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’d never been to Mauritius before, we like to holiday late October/November away from school holidays. Normally we’d go to Canaries or somewhere like that, but thought we’d try somewhere different.

We’ve been here for 1 week and leave today for a long weekend in Dubai before heading back to the UK.

The taxi ride here takes about 40 minutes from the airport as the hotel is on the north west coast. Check in was quite quick and the introduction to the hotel facilities was comprehensive. We were told we had been upgraded to a prestige room.

We ate in the buffet restaurant that night, it was very good. In the morning we tried to book up some speciality restaurants. We were unable to book Chateau mon desir for any point of the week and nothing was available for Saturday or Sunday. We booked for the Banyan Asian, two nights in La Maree and the barbecue.

In the end we didn’t do the barbecue as the night we had booked, there was a special Indian night for Divali in the buffet restaurant. This was superb. The two meals we had in La Maree too we’re excellent, great service too. La Banyan has excellent food, but the service was quite stretched. To be fair, there were a couple of tables that were very particular and occupying a lot of the head waiters time.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the service in the beach bar and the quarterdeck bar are excellent. All of the staff are very friendly and attentive. Our room too was huge and serviced twice a day, on premium AI we could drink most things in the minibar bar the champagne. The pool facilities too are excellent, a good number of sun beds. The hotel had a no reserving policy which seemed to be adhered to by most. We were down by the pool by 9.30 most days and had little difficulty securing sun beds.

The negatives are few. Firstly, the golf - we looked to play one morning, it is a short course and was included. 1200 mrp (about £30) each to hire clubs for the round seemed steep, so we didn’t bother. Finally, was waiting to have to sign a bill after every drink or every meal. The hotel does b&b and different board levels and different levels of all inclusive. A lot of drinks and meals that we could have on premium were not available to all inclusive. The menus and the drinks lists are quite clear and what is and isn’t available, but some of it seems a bit petty. Waiting to be given a bill to sign which always said zero did get a bit boring in the end.

The hotel is very good, the food excellent and the staff are a credit to the place. I think they just need to decide on which route they want to take on a board basis.

I’d definitely come back to Mauritius again, the place is beautiful. Maybe not to this hotel, but maybe to one with a full golf course and bring my own clubs. A very capable hotel though.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank philt967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here as a family with a 1 year old and thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was very good, rooms large with comfy beds and equipment supplied for babies. Water sports are amazing.
Would give 5* if not for a few things.
---Restaurant reservations system was annoying. I reccomend you do it as soon as you arrive or even before. We had to have dinner in the buffet for the first 3 evenings as there was no availability at any of the restaurants.
--- it is not really buggy accessible, we had to do a lot of lifting
---if you do the water sports, particularly water skiing beware that one of the steps when coming back up is broken and it can't be seen as it's in the water. I hurt my leg on it:(
These are a few points I wrote that we didn't like but we would definitely return as the service, location and food were great.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Another contribution to the AI debate!
Language is the way in which we communicate with each other, and c
onvey meaning. Right? So,for example, what does one understand by the word 'all'? Everything? No exceptions? Not in this hotel.
We thought that 'all inclusive' meant that we would not have to conern ourselves with having to pay additional monies for a good ' big-end' experience. Here, though, 'all inclusive' means that some of it is included, and in too many cases actually the least of it. In the restaurants (but not the big buffet restaurant) only a few dishes can be had without paying a supplement. More than the basic level one has to pay. The Asian restaurant 'Le Banyan' was particularly bad in this respect. Whilst one might expect certain specialty dishes might attract an additional charge, we found it unacceptable that most of the menu in the restaurants involve paying more.
So, 'all inclusive', besidesbeing an abuse of the English language, is actually a scam, and this was also the view of many of our fellow guests. The words lure one under false premises, and they do not deliver
So beware! If you choose this otherwise delightful hotel and think about going ' all inclusive', the experience you were looking for will cost you considerably more than you think.

Ps You can move up a tier by paying extra for the somewhat oxymoronic 'all inclusive premium' deal. This gets you further into the menus (but not completely) but you will need to apply higher maths to determine whether it is worth it. We didn't think so.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank SailorKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Not having visited Maritim for fifteen years we decided to go and enjoy...MISTAKE...previously it was an excellent hotel, excellent staff, unbelievable food... now it is a tired looking hotel, staff not friendly and hardly acknowledging your presence, fruit basket with no plate, cutlery nor serviette....the guy at the door was surly with no smile and just pointed to the chairs we had to wait ...that's a welcome????.......The buffet was a disaster real two star stuff...the dessert counter was a joke. ( green colour so call it pistachio) the Chef should be trained on quality and taste....The a la carte restaurant ( Christian Brau was the chef) previously was the best in the country....no more....I have related to many people about my experience and many have said that they have experienced the same....How does it survive...it was full....

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Disappointing experience overall. Welcoming staff not very well trained and were not aware of the bookings we made. Shame the way our guests were treated. The Head waiter of the beach restaurant was very impolite and rude not even knowing what was a full board guest. The food was very low standard and the massage is very expensive as per the quality.

Room tip: Old fashioned room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank violainec287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews