We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We've just returned from a two week honeymoon at The Maritim and had the most fantastic time. From the moment we arrived (having been travelling for over 24hours!), the staff were fantastic. Bags were taken from us and we were given a cold drink and face towel to cool down.

Arriving at 10am, we didn't expect our room to be ready, but we were shown to the resturant for breakfast whilst we waited. Our room was ready by 11.00am and we were amazed at how wonderful, clean and spacious it was. A fantastic view over the grounds and the beach (room 327).

After our first week of the stay, we were told that the bath had a leak and we need to move rooms. We were moved (with help) to a huge suite (room 213) and given a complimentary massage!

The food was great. We ate at all three resturants, room service and also from the poolside menu and couldn't fault anything.

Plenty of watersports (sailing, water skiing, canoes, pedlos etc), tennis (tennis balls can be bought from the shop for about £10), walks around the grounds (to see the waterfalls etc) and the spa (you can use the sauna, steamroom etc even if you aren't having a treatment) kept us busy during the day and when I ran out of books, there was even a book stand to borrow from!

On our last night, we were invited to a sunset party by the staff. It was amazing, with cocktails, nibbles and wonderful entertainment whilst we watched the sun set.

There was a never ending supply of towels in the room and by the beach or poolside!

The staff were great and the service was fantastic. We were topped up with cocktails through out the day and night, without having to even order them! Evenings at the quarter deck were chilled with plenty of people of chat to, drinks and nibbles (peanuts etc if you asked).

We liked the fact that the hotel ask you not to tip staff but instead given a tip at the end to reception if you wish and mark on your envelope any particular praise.

We hadn't realised when we booked that gentlemen were required to wear trousers of an evening (even to the buffet resturant and bar). This wasn't a problem, but my other half would have packed a few more pairs of trousers and a few less pairs of shorts if we'd know before.

After two weeks, we expected that we would be ready to come home, but we didn't want to leave at all! I like to stay at different places when we go away, but this is one place I hope we can return to.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,448
    703
    216
    88
    51
See reviews for
725
2,190
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Are there enough superlatives!
Fabulous piece of heaven ............ More to follow!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have just realised I have not reviewed our wedding resort, time fly's when you having fun! From the minute you arrive at the Maratim and see the view from the reception through a large open bay window you know you have arrived in paradise, again! This was our 2nd visit the only fault after the 1st visit was the rooms but they have now been re-furbished and to the standard of a 5* hotel, faultless! Where do I start, the main restaurant is open air looking over the pool, beach and sea with over head fans to cool you down. The food is based on traditional Mauritian cuisine with hot plates, fresh salad and a grill area where the chef cooked fish, steak etc etc to you liking! The service from the staff was superb, Reena was our favourite, on leaving she explained how to cook the perfect curry and gave us a detailed menu of the way she cooked this dish! The pool staff were great I like to have a bit of a chat with the staff and after only 2 days Big Pappa, Heroo saved our preferred beds by the pool, empty glasses what empty glasses, endless gin and tonic and my favourite Blue marlin beer, very strong! The start of the evening or the end of the day most people retreat to the deck bar and what the sun set over a few cocktails, back to the room for a quick shower and back to the deck bar for drinks watching fruit bats fly by under moon light. Evening meal is served in main restaurant or by the beach side which is know as the fish restaurant, open air beach offering, candle lit by the sand a perfect setting! By the jetty there was free water skiing which was a daily treat for me after a few Blue Marlins, aqua aerobics and other exercise available if you want to! All in all a perfect and faultless resort, if you are looking to be married here the team made the day perfect, no hassle, from the minute we stood in the cabana, to the minute the catamaran took us of in the sun set for our photo session no a worry! The Maritim is a must visit hotel for holiday makers,wedding couples and honeymooners alike, chilled, service and perfect setting will find this one hard to beat!

Room Tip: Don't worry all rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lazenby28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Maritim Hotel in Mauritius from 14 - 24 April 2012. Overall we had a lovely holiday and enjoyed our stay.

There were however, some problems. On our arrival, we were met by Schiella, who works at reception. She was very charming to begin with, but only after informing us of all the facilities at the hotel did she inform us that the twin room we had booked in January was not available. She informed us that we would have to share a kingsize bed for the first night and then we would be moved to another room that had twin beds the following day. We were not happy with this arrangement, as we were not prepared to share a bed. After having dinner we returned to reception and were informed that no other room was available as the hotel was fully booked. A twin bed had been made up in the room with the kingsize bed. This was quite annoying as we could not unpack our luggage until the following day. Schiella was somewhat cool to us after this incident.
The next morning we were shown to room 448, which had twin beds. The room is situated above and over the reception and main restaurant. The view from this room is rather poor as it looks out over the roof of the restaurant and not the garden. On a brief look at the room we did not realise that the balcony would be completely unusable, as immediately below the balcony of room 448 there are at least four air conditioner units, which emit a constant blast of very hot air. This also made it impossible to sleep without the airconditioner on at night as the room was always hot and humid owing to the very hot air from the airconditioner units. In our opinion, this is probably the worst room in the entire hotel! We have to question whether we were given such a poor room on account of the fact that we were perceived as being “difficult guests” by the staff the night before. This was a great pity as most of the rooms have wonderful garden and sea views. This certainly impacted negatively on our holiday.

We were informed by our travel agent that the hotel was a five star facility. Therefore, it was surprising that the shower had mildew between the wall tiles, the back of the bathroom door was dirty and water leaked on the floor every time we took a shower. We were delighted to note that the safe had a plug point facility, a most thoughtful touch, and ideal for charging mobile phones and other electronic devices. It was disappointing that the plug point was not in working order. As we needed to keep the safe looked at all times, we could not request that this was attended to during our stay. Our other complaint regarding the room is that there was no consistency with towels being changed. Sometimes we had clean towels and other times not. On one occasion we had no bathmat at all. Given the leaking shower, this presented something of a problem and we had to resort to using the bath towels to dry the floor.

The service in Bellevue, the main restaurant was not always good. As the hotel was full, it seemed that there was insufficient staff working in the restaurant at night. And the salt cellars were always clogged! We would like to suggest that salt grinders are made available for all meals. The food was, for the most part good, with a wide variety to choose from.

As avid fans of sushi, we were thrilled to see that the main restaurant had a sushi corner. Shortly after we had arrived we enquired at reception when sushi was served, and were informed that it was only available on Chinese themed nights once a week. Later in the week, we discovered that it was served every night! This misinformation was surprising and rather annoying.

One evening we availed ourselves of the opportunity to have dinner at La Maree beach restaurant. The quality of the food was really poor and the order was mixed up. A great pity, as it is a beautiful setting.

The distinct absence of any managerial staff may account for the erratic standards.

On a positive note, we would like to commend the majority of the staff for their friendliness, and going out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. We encountered wonderful service in the Quarter Deck bar and Brinda, a waitress in the bar deserves special mention, as does Doolaree, part of the beach service team, who was outstanding. The entertainment was, for the most part very good.

We loved the long beach and the fact that there were so many shady trees on the beach. The gardens and grounds are amazing, and beautifully maintained, as are the horses and other animals at the animal farm.

As stated above, we really enjoyed our stay, but it was spoilt somewhat by our awful room.

All in the all, the Maritim Hotel is good and we would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing your room first, and avoid room 448 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We went all-inclusive which is the most realistic with 5 star hotels fairly expensive in Mauritius. It is in a blissful setting and in late season (March) not very crowded. Large private beach, great and varied choice of excellent food and friendly helpful staff. It doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian_and_Susanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.5 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,378 reviews
0.6 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,455 reviews
1.1 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,716 reviews
0.4 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.9 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,081 - ₹ 61,324
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing