We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Hartley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Maritim. Had a lovely time, the room (suite!!!)was fantastic espically as we were upgraded from a prestige room at no extra cost!
The hotel in general is kept extremely clean and tidy at all times by a team of hard workers.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and an extra special mention to Neal in the La Maree (top man!!) and Viren in the quarter deck bar (a star!!) these guys went out of their way to address issues we had with the food and service.
The Belle Vue food can be hit and miss but it is a buffet style so you have to expect this. We preferred the LaMaree as location is amazing and the team did what they can to make it as good as possible however, there were a couple of issue with some of the dishes.
The Chateaux Mon Desuir is amazing just a bit pricey but for a treat, it is a must!!!

Overall, we had a lovely time the only minus points were the small added extras which was annoying considering this was perported to be an all inclusive venue.

Would recommend and would go back one day

Room Tip: Suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,369
    674
    212
    86
    47
See reviews for
689
2,118
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I returned yesterday (13/04/12) from a 10-night stay at the Maritim Hotel in Mauritius. We had booked it on an all-inclusive basis through Virgin Holidays and this hotel is rated as 5 star on their website. All in all we had a lovely holiday. It could however so easily have been a perfect one with a little more attention to detail. The accommodation in a prestige room was superb. The hotel facilities including the wonderful spa area and the swimming pool were all excellent and all fully deserve their five star rating. The staff was always extremely friendly, helpful and obliging. Top marks for all that.

However, unfortunately what badly lets this otherwise superb hotel down, is the general level of the food quality in both the Belle Vue and La Maree restaurants and the inconsistent level of service, which depends entirely on the member of staff who is actually serving you. I am not including the meal we had at the excellent Chateau Mon Desir in this criticism. Here the food and the service were of the highest standard but we did pay an additional high price for this. This is a five star hotel, which as far as the Belle Vue and La Maree restaurants are concerned, offers barely four-star food standards. After only two dinners (evening) in the Belle Vue at the start of our holiday, we gave up on it as the food looked unattractive and tasted accordingly. Poor presentation, chewy steaks, boney meat, where not expected, empty serving pots persuaded us to try our luck at La Maree. The highlight at the Belle Vue had been the Sushi Bar, which was good. We then had most of our meals afterwards at the very beautifully situated La Maree restaurant. Here the general standard of the meals was best described as "hit and miss". It was consistent in its inconsistency and obviously depended on which chef was on duty and whether he was suitably motivated or not to produce good standard food. We had some very acceptable meals and some really atrocious ones. The main culinary crimes committed were the absolutely appalling serving of a "blanquette" of veal dish, where the meat was so chewy and rubbery, you could not break it down with your teeth. The extremely helpful, obliging and genuinely pleasant duty manager Neal could not even break down these offending pieces of meat with a fork and immediately warned friends of ours that they should avoid the veal, which they duly did. Neal then did his very best to put things right by organising a delicious replacement meal of fillet steak. The other culinary crime towards the very end of our holiday was when I had the misfortune to order the starter of carpaccio of Australian beef. As most people, except this particular 5-star? chef realise, carpaccio of beef should consist of very finely cut slices of raw beef. Unfortunately this was not the case. The plate arrived with quite thickly cut large pieces of raw beef covered with a few Parmesan cheese scrapings and some lettuce on the side. There was absolutely no finesse about it at all. At this level, 5 star, presentation is a very important element of the meal and generally your chefs do not seem to have a clue in this area. Consequently, it looked extremely unappetising and indeed it tasted so!! It looked like something that Rover would have been very pleased to see in his bowl, i.e. a dog’s dinner!! Certainly not the normal production of a 5 star rated kitchen. It was an utter disgrace and I ask myself what kind of quality control is actually exercised by these so-called chefs. A decent chef worth his money would never have allowed the disgusting veal meal and the carpaccio dish to ever leave his kitchen and be presented to the customer. This is what is so desperately wrong at La Maree. They have the aspirations to produce 5 star standard cuisine but unfortunately have employed some chefs who do not have the knowledge / experience / desire / ambition to raise their game to this level or indeed are far too stubborn to do so!! I am sure that these two meals would have even embarrassed a chef at "Joe’s Motorway Café" had he had them served to his customers.

Other constant little annoyances at meal times were the need always to ask the waiter to bring butter to accompany the provided bread. It was never done automatically as a matter of course. On one occasion glasses were brought empty to the table to hold mineral water, which was brought eventually several minutes later. A bit of training of in particular the younger, less experienced waiting staff would definitely be of benefit here.

14/04/12

Room Tip: Room 430, a Prestige Room is lovely. Very well appointed, it offers good views over part of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is the sixth time we have stayed at this hotel and i can tell you its one of the best, from the moment you arrive nothing is to much trouble. The hotel has everything you need, sports facilities, great restaurants, bars and a superb Spa. The rooms are great with stunning veiws, the food is great but most of all the staff make this Hotel. If you read other reveiws about this Hotel which say Buffet at Belle Vue is a let down dont belive it the choice of food is plenty and very good quality some people just love to complain . All i can say is go you will have a great time. We will be going back.
Paul & Ruth March/April 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Third time at this superb hotel. First time back after renovations and the place just gets better and better. Great staff, bars, restuarants, spa and facilities.

The new Mon Desir restaurant is superb both for your evening meal and a long leisurely Sunday brunch.

Nothing can be faulted.

Only a matter of time till we return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Maritim for 5 nights at the end of March 2012. The entrance is very impressive, and service at check in is immaculate, with speedy service, a cold drink and a refreshing cold towel.

We stayed in a Privilege Room towards the eastern end near La Maree, which was a brilliant location.

We had booked Half Board but upgraded to All Inclusive on arrival, £40 pp per day, this was well worth it as lunch alone is about £15, and the AI includes afternoon snacks and all drinks all day, even the minibar and beach service. There arent any other place in walking distance to get lunch etc.

If you are in a Privilege room or above, you can have breakfast at the La Maree beach restaurant /bar, which is a lovely setting and table service. There is lovely fresh orange juice, hot drinks, savouries like Eggs Benedict, Crepes and Waffles, Fruit Platters, Cereals and much more, and the quality is much higher then at the Buffet restaurant.

The Buffet restaurant Belle Vue is the only let down in this hotel - there is not a huge amount of choice for such a large hotel, and what is there is not of amazing quality. Apart from breakfast there is also not a brilliant choice of fresh fruit with the meals, which is suprising. Everyone else we spoke to had the same feedback about the buffet, I imagine the hotel must get complaints about it and surely be looking to improve this?

We tried to have as many meals as possible in the La Maree, but beware you need to book the evening meals fairly early on, especially if you re on AI. In the evening, on AI you get a choice of 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts, there was usually something we liked, but you can of course pay to go a la carte.

At lunch, you can go a la carte on the AI. We did not use the Fine Dining Chateau Mon Desire as it seemed very overpriced.

We used the spa for massages and a facial, again lovely setting / amenities, good service, expect London prices, the only negative was that the girl kept texting whilst doing my facial, which annoyed me a bit. I dont think she realised that I noticed this and I should have said something really!

The pool, the pool bar, the beach are all beautiful and very well maintained, there are lots of staff to help with everything you need, and the grounds are stunning. People tend to reserve sun loungers quite early on so you ll probably end up doing the same if you want to get one! The hotel say there are enough loungers for everyone but I doubt that.

We had rain for 3 days so spent a lot of time at the Quarterdeck bar, where they also provide games. If you re not on AI, again the drinks are quite expensive.

We didnt use any of the shops as again they were very overpriced, go to Port Louis on a cloudy day and visit the new shopping centre left of the post office at the waterfront, the shuttle drops you near there.

Speaking of taxis / shuttles - they will all encourage / pester you to stop at these "factory outlets" or "malls" halfway between the hotel and Port Louis, beware these are just medium sized shops full of sports wear /designer fakes, and tacky souvenirs, not worth stopping, go straight to Port Louis if you want to shop. The taxi drivers are on commission from the shops so will really push you to stop there.

Overall a lovely hotel, stunning scenery with the bay and the gardens, would strongly recommend for both couples and families. (There were quite a few families with children there, and the facilities for children seemed excellent.)

Room Tip: The rooms towards the east wing are closer to La Maree restaurant - brilliant on the AI, and also cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Petra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.5 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.6 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.4 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
46.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
16.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,282 - ₹ 36,214
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing