We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angsana Balaclava - Gem of a boutique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Angsana Balaclava - Gem of a boutique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed at the Angsana Balaclava - Mauritius from the 26-28th of August, 2012. It is a well located hotel about 25 minutes from Port Louis and around the same from Grand Baie.

Location: Angsana is located on the beach in the Balaclava area, in the north west part of Mauritius. The beach is quite nice, though not too large but large enough to go with this 52 room property.

Reception: Large, very airy and overlooking the azure blue waters of the Indian ocean. Should you be coming from the airport or from any other place, just stepping into the Angsana will rejuvenate and refresh you. They have a way of making every part of the hotel smell divine. The bell boy will make your luggage disappear and re-appear in your room like magic. Certainly deserves an applause! The check in was oh-so -smooth! Efficient, polite and fairly quick is a good way to describe the service.

Rooms: I stayed in the Beach front suite. The room is approx 100 sq meters (if you are on the first floor and 170 sq meters if you are on the ground floor. Both the first floor and the ground floor Beach front suites have a private plunge pool set in the deck/patio/balcony area. 100 sq meters is truly huge to say the least. The room looks and feels very comfortable. The mattress is great and the sleep quality is a ten on ten. Yes, the channels on TV could keep you occupied for hours if you are the vegetate- in front -of- the -TV type of bloke!

I could easily have played badminton in the bathroom. The bath area is replete with a beautiful independent tub made in stone, probably from Thailand. There is also a shower, away from the bath tub, about 10 feet away from the tub. Perhaps this could give you a vague idea of the size of the bathroom. Oh, this is the BATH room only. The commode, changing room and sinks are in a separate area. So, if you are one of those chaps who immediately need to jump into the shower after your morning ablutions, you would need to take a hop, skip and a jump to reach the shower.

The patio/sit out is again really large and the view of the ocean is completely fabulous. I was in room 102.

Food and Beverage: Excellent food. Hats off to the chef. I tried the Beef Sirloin followed by an incredible creme brulee for dinner and dreamt of it till the next morning! You should know that the Angsana does not do the regular buffet sort of dinner or breakfast. It is all A La Carte and the food quality is good enough to take you to la la land. If Yashvin is on duty at the restaurant, do ask him for his recommendations. He is spot on!

Spa: Angsana has a pretty good spa by the look of it. I could not indulge in any treatment since work related matters took too much of my time- sadly. The spa looked really quite inviting.

Pool: The Angsana has one fresh water pool and another salt water pool with a sand floor.

The resort is small but wonderful. Pascal the General Manager, who I had the pleasure to meet, has certainly got a handle on this resort and is a great chap to generally chat with. Pascal, are you listening? Bravo to you and your wonderful team!

I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have booked a Garden Suite, that is fine. But do check out the Beach front Suite before you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ViraatRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that Angsana Balaclava is a gem of a boutique resort to you.
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you consider stepping into Angsana Balaclava to be rejuvenating and refreshing, that you found the food excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the team wonderful.
Your gracious have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.
Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    111
    37
    18
    10
See reviews for
166
519
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Whatever I write will be less.
We went to Angsana with great expectations, from the property as well as service, this being a 5 star property. But these guys somehow managed to exceed all expectations!
The check-in in itself is so pleasant and non intimidating, with welcome cocktails and warm towels, it can totally satiate the tired soul.
This is supposed to be the smallest 5 star hotel in Mauritius (62 rooms, thats all!) and this helps BIG time! I have stayed in other 4 stars and 5 stars which make you feel you are in some small town in itself with so many people buzzing around you!
Due to the small size, the service quality thus is great! You have everyone, right from the front desk to the servers in the restaurants, to the chef, ALL calling you by your first names in a couple of days time! One does feel at home, though more like a palatial home :)

PROs:
1.Too many. Rooms - Amazing! Every minutest detail taken care of! Like the TV can revolve a full 360 degree following you wherever you sit. Coffee machines, Tea maker, fruits, daily two bottles of water, amazing bath products, I can go on and on.
2. Food: Awesome! The chef is Indonesian and he can cook ANY cuisine. And not just cook, the presentation is right out of Masterchef Australia! :) The best part is, he does not compromise. If say a Thai curry is supposed to be spicy, he would make it spicy to preserve the taste. Ofcourse there would be a milion people warning you, including the chef, before you order the same :)
3. Beach: Great beach, great water activities like kayaks, snorkelling, etc all free though.
4. Last but not the least, In suite pool. We really didnt want to be on beach, and never used the two swimming pools in the hotel!
5. Angsana Spa: One should definitely try this. Its an amazing , relaxing experience!

CONS:
1. Cant think of any, but probably there can be a way to warm water in the in suite pool.
2. And the TV can do with more channels :)

Overall: I am So going to come back here again! And try other Agsana properties Only thanks to this experience.
Lasting impression: The front desk team actually standing at the door and bidding us good byes with smiles on their face, waving their hands! Touched us no end!

Room Tip: If not choosing a beach front villa, choose rooms on higher floors to get a little more privacy in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmarChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that Angsana Balaclava managed to exceed all your expectations of a 5 star property.
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that from the check-in to the cuisine to the hotel facilities made you feel like at home, though more like a palatial home and that the farewell by our front desk team touched you so much and remained as a lasting impression.
Your gracious and constructive comments have been passed to our personnel and acknowledged by management, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.
Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent 10 days in Aug 2012 with my wife in this resort for our honeymoon trip.
And it was unbelievable!

The romantic atmosphere which was created for us at our candlelight dinner during dinner and in rooms, delicacy dinner each day!
It was really, really nice and worth the money paid for half-baord which we had

Denis

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
2 Thank dgalinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn you found Angsana Balaclava an excellent place for honeymoon!!
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you spend 10 unbelievable days in such a romantic atmosphere created for you upon your candle light dinner and in your room, and experienced the delicacy dinners each day.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
302 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Absolutely perfect for that peaceful break / honeymoon etc. The resort is so small and set apart so that there is a genuine feel of peace and quiet. The outlook is stunning and, if you are able to, the beachfront villas are absolutely stunning! It is worth requesting a ground floor suite if you want to step off your terrace onto the beech and you then have your own sun loungers at the edge of your infinity pool on the beech.

The breakfasts are interesting, and super having them freshly prepared. The food in the evening ranged from good to excellent - the desserts were certainly the strongest of the courses through the week. The staff are extremely helpful, but can occasionally get the wrong end of the stick. Nevertheless, the effort is 100%! Security, as mentioned in other reviews, is also excellent.

Being so small, it was wonderful turning up at the boathouse for water sports and boat rides and there was never a queue, and rarely anyone else doing much - wonderful having a glass bottomed boat ride and snorkeling to ourselves, for instance.

The room was amazing - absolutely stunning! It was winter and the air conditioning did struggle to compete with the heat coming from the mini-bar. I hope that this was just a fault, since this would have been a big issue in summer. Do watch for Mozzies... not the fault of the hotel, just a fact! Also, note that pools are not heated...an issue in winter (but not summer). It meant that one's infinity pool and jacuzzi was bracing rather than wholly enjoyable.

Do note that drinks are fabulously expensive. The wine list is rather unexciting and alarmingly expensive. If you stay here, do remember to budget accordingly here!

Overall, if you are looking for a small, luxury, boutique resort, this is about as perfect as you'll get.

Room Tip: Ground Floor beech front villas, if you're able to splash out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that Angsana Balaclava was absolutely perfect for a peaceful break and honeymoon to you.
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the outlook stunning, the breakfasts interesting, the associates extremely helpful, security level excellent and rooms to be amazing and stunning!
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to this little paradise, Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.
Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently went to Angsana Balaclava for our honeymoon and words simply do not suffice to describe this little paradise. The staffs are very friendly, attentive and spontaneous.

The staffs left no stone unturned to make us feel so comfortable. The food was simply excellent and succulent. Also we felt very secure out there. One thing which we really admire is that we could leave all our things in the open!!!

We would simply not miss another chance to go to Angsana Balaclava again!Thank you everyone for making our stay a memorable one.

Vivek/Neervashi

Room Tip: The Spa Suite is very spacious with a private pool. You can even have a view of the beach and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neervashi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share wonderful and constructive comments. I am delighted to learn that Angsana Balaclava was a world-class place for a perfect honeymoon to you.
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found our staff to be very friendly, attentive and spontaneous, and the food excellent and succulent which made your stay a memorable one.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to this little paradise, Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.
Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
46.6 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
25.3 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
6.8 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
17.5 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Property: Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,472 - ₹ 41,786
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing