We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service and great value”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are very competent and welcoming, the resort is well maintained and although it's not the best beach on the island, the view is still spectacular!

This was the first time we had experienced a 'half board' package and found it to be extremely good value at this particular hotel. An extensive buffet was offered for breakfast and then several options for dining at night. Balaclava is near to most of the main tourist sites, however on visiting the ile aux cerf we found the east coast of the island to be more beautiful and we will probably stay there in future. But couldn't fault the intercontinental and plan to stay at this chain elsewhere in the world on our future travels :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happydaystravelling6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Happydaystravelling6,

It is with great pleasure that I have been reading your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will use InterContinental for your future trips.
We hope to welcome you again next time you come to Mauritius even if it is for a day visit!

Best wishes,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    797
    298
    113
    132
See reviews for
759
1,411
49
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have been a regular visitor to Mauritius for the last 20 years. I recenly stayed at the Intercontinental for 2 weeks with my family. The service was shockingly bad; waiting to be served, wait to receive order, incorrect orders received. This went on for the whole 2 weeks. I spoke to the Guest Relations Manager who was very pleasant and told me that a manager would see me to discuss my frustrations. No manager came to see me; infact I did not see any managers around. Really, really bad and incorrect reflection of Mauritius.
M Reddy

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TonyReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Mr Reddy,

First of all I would like to apologize should you have felt that our staff members had an uncaring attitude. It is a great disappointment to read that you met one of our Managers and that no follow up was done afterwards. Unfortunately there has been a communication break down as I have never been informed of your issues.
We have failed to deliver on our guest promises and I would like to present my most sincere apologies.
I have shared your comments on our outlets with our Food and Beverage Manager and an Action plan has been put in place to improve our quality of service, accuracy of orders and efficiency.
It is definitely not a true reflection of our quality of service either.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again as you are a frequent guest of Mauritius so that we can show you the real InterContinental Hospitality.

Kind regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We choose this hotel as a family and we were shocked at the level of service due to large group occupying the hotel:.

Due to two large groups (around 150) occupying the hotel during our stay, we felt that we were treated like 2nd class guests. This created a negative atmosphere amongst all the guests at the hotel as many guests felt unhappy. I was under the impression that it was a family hotel and as a family we were constantly made to feel inferior to the corporate guests in the hotel. There was absolute chaos at meal times and shouting and screaming from the group most of the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Pamela,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing InterContinental for your family stay in Mauritius.

Our guest’s comfort is our highest priority and our staff members are devoted to meet and exceed customer’s expectations. When and if we happen to fail to satisfy our guests, we really appreciate to receive feedback. For that reason I sincerely thank you for having taken the time to share with us your experience.

We are definitely a family hotel with dedicated family rooms (2 bedrooms), a Kids Club and a Recreation team looking after all your needs.
It is true that during your stay we had an Incentive group from South Africa staying with us. We always do our utmost to make sure both leisure and corporate guests can enjoy hotel facilities. Unfortunately due to very bad weather (heavy rain) on a few days, we had to shift our plans last minute and it did affect all guests in the hotel.

I would like to present my apologies should you have felt that our staff had an uncaring attitude.

I hope you still brought fond memories of Mauritius back home and wish to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again in the near future.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon. When we arrived we were asked to sit and wait at the foyer, they brought us refreshing towels and a welcome drink- nice thought, except 25 mins later it seemed like we were forgotten and were still waiting for someone to check us in! Once we got our 'seaview room' we realised we couldn't see the sea! The rooms on the ground and first floor you can only see palm trees and hear the waves! So we asked asked for a room on a higher floor... and we waited and waited for them to sort this out (think this took about 3-4 hours). Not the best start to our holiday.

The beach is full of large rocks and you can't really walk bare feet or swim. Was told beach is 'man-made'. Unfortunately, on the glossy brochures i was expecting soft sandy white beaches.

The food at the resort (if not on half or full board) was extortionate. As the resort is so remote you had no choice but to drink and eat at their restaurants. The variety at was fair but the taste was very average (specifically at the buffet restaurant). This resort appears to have lots of guests from the Indian continent and the variety of food seem to be reflect this. The waiting staff at the buffet restaurant seem to stand around a lot chatting with may be one or two staff member that was efficient and hard at work. What was very annoying was every morning at breakfast we had to pre-book which restaurant we wanted to eat that evening, it felt rather restrictive.

The staff at the pool bar had the worse table service ever, on our last afternoon it took them about 1.5 hours for our lunch to arrive and they just couldn't get our drink orders correct, favouring guests ordering drinks at the bar, we complained to the manager about the poor service but also because of their delay we almost missed our transfer to the airport. He apologised and said they were busy - that was it. The guests on the next table were so annoyed that they left mid-way during their lunch.

Go to the Asian fusion restaurant, the seafood restaurant and the curry house - better service and food!

My only positive point about this hotel is that it is beautifully presented. The bedrooms were beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean... and cleaning staff worked hard to keep it that way. But it felt like they had built this amazing-looking resort on some wasteland in a very remote area...

Room Tip: Chose a room on the first or second floor if you want views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort for your visit to Mauritius.

Your comments have been brought to my attention and I wish to sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback. Guest expectations and needs continuously evolve and you sharing your experience with us is the most precious tool allowing us to always adapt and progress.

I deeply regret to learn about your unsatisfactory experience with us. I would like to present my apologies should you have felt that our staff had an uncaring attitude. All the elements you mentioned have been raised with our teams to ensure that immediate measures are taken in order to correct and avoid such issues in the future.

We still hope that you kept fond memories of your visit to Mauritius and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again for your wedding Anniversary.

Yours sincerely,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were in this hotel in October, 2011. for 10 days. After reading almost all the reviews of the same quality hotels of Mauritius in Tripadvisor, finally we chose Intercontinental and it was a very good decision. We just loved the hotel and did not want to move out of it :)
It has a very nice long beach, which is really clean and well maintained. It was a very important preference for us as we travelled together with our 2 years old son. There were no hard wind, but at this time of the year waves were quite high.
The cuisine is just fantastic (we had AI), and also the stuff: Dora, the restaurant manager is just the best at all !!!! Thanks for all the nice diners and all of your kindness with our little son !! And also the waiters and the ladys in the main restaurant and also in the Segala rest.
We had a normal room in the groundfloor, just 20m away from the beach, which made us very easy and comfortable to take our little son sleep during the day. While he was sleeping in the room we were in the beach with a baby monitor.
There were some weddings there during our stay but it was not disturbing at all. After 10 p.m. they went into the main building so we did not hear any voice of the party.
Free wifi at the lobby was also good.
We tried the free glass bottom boat trip. Nothing special, kids enjoyed it.
The only negative impression is that the walls are probably too thin, so sometimes it is a bit noisy.
We really enjoyed every minutes of our vacation, but frankly if you want to have some more entertainment, this is not your place. It is rather a quiet family hotel, with a professional stuff and service.

Tip: if you want to have an airport transfer, or want to make some excursions in the island we suggest the local company, called MauriClick at www.mauriclick.com. We were really satisfied with their service. They are reliable, professionals and have much better prices than the agencies at the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajmonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort for your visit to Mauritius.

I wish to sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback. Guest expectations and needs continuously evolve and you sharing your experience with us is the most precious tool allowing us to always adapt and progress.

I have shared your positive comments with Dora, our Restaurant Manager. We are very proud of our team.

We are delighted that you kept fond memories of your visit to Mauritius and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
2.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,984 reviews
1.3 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
27.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,304 reviews
1.1 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
45.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,007 - ₹ 27,229
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing