We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 434
US$ 407
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 601
US$ 572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 174
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$ 707
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$ 256
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$ 98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$ 169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Port Chambly(Terre Rouge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,183)
Filter reviews
3,184 results
Traveller rating
1,676
906
331
130
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,676
906
331
130
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housesenso restaurantharsh manichief conciergejacuzzi roomkevin ritoopresidential suiteindian foodheated poolthe resort managerjean pierreour honeymoonmain restaurantocean viewfamily roomspecial thanksguest relations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,795 - 1,800 of 3,184 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the IC for 9 nights and whilst there are some positives there are numerous negative fundamental issues that need addressing to make this a 5 star establishment.
Positives-
Excellent staff at the pool bar who were always attentive and helpful, reasonable lunch/snack menu that is sufficiently varied. House wine very drinkable.
Noble House restaurant, Segala restaurant and Veda restaurant- excellent food and staff very attentive with attention to detail. Noble House- I would suggest is the best option and embraces a fine dining experience more than the other 2 restaurants; this is partly due to the time taken to serve and you do not feel rushed. Whilst the food at Veda is good, you are served the starter and main on the same plate (almost like a taster menu) and this seems to complete the meal rather quickly. These eateries must be booked in advance as the other option is the buffet which we personally don’t enjoy.
Rooms- are nicely furnished and a decent size.
Negatives.
The taxi service provided is VERY expensive and is a total rip off- you will be told that the taxi is yours for 4 hours, but the driver will want to know what time you want picking up- this is difficult to estimate especially when you do not know an area. Be aware that there is a potential scam whereby you get dropped off at a restaurant and it is clear that there is some deal between the driver and restaurant owner re the supply of customers. In our case this venue was far removed from the main area of Grand Bay but fortunately we did not stay at the first place and requested to be taken to the main area. We did complain on our return and the staff were supposed to get back to us but this never happened.
The reception staff are generally disinterested and do not portray a 5 star image as I would expect, this is evidenced by the above complaint as we were not informed of any outcome.
Be careful when booking your evening meals as on 2 occasions our bookings were incorrect. 1 night we were booked into 2 restaurants and 1 night we had no booking at all. There seems to be a lack of coordination with this system as they rely on hand written bookings which I find strange in this the 21st century. You will be informed that the restaurant reservation desk will be manned until 8pm, but this is not so.
There is little attention to detail in the rooms- frequently we had towels/ bed linen that were grey and marked as opposed to white and clean. Towels were of a quality I would use on the dog. I did expect fluffy white towels and white bed linen in what is supposed to be a 5 star resort. Sometimes we got 2 bath sheets sometimes only 1. There were a couple of occasions we had no hot water and whilst there was a quick response to our issue it wasn’t always resolved to a satisfactory standard.
All inclusive package seems a little unfair-on arrival the package does not start until your first evening meal and drinks commence at 2pm. On checkout drinks finish at 12md and you can have your lunch until 2pm then all beverages/food have to be paid for. Our previous experience of AI is that food/beverages are free for the entire stay until you leave the resort.
Whilst there are a lot of negatives here it did not spoil our holiday and the issues identified were communicated to resort staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear tomboy11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Your observations and comments will be shared with our various departments, and as our aim is continuous improvement and service excellence, you can rest assured that we shall do all we can to look into the issues raised by you and ensure that they are not repeated.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

First of all..Mauritius-a very overly hyped place to be.
No doubt its clean and quite beautiful too but nothing much to see around and gets a little boring..also people are quite racist & discriminating.
But..if u r to visit this place...then INTERCONTINENTAL is the place to stay.
Huge property,great location,beautiful rooms,beaches,swimming pools & great view from the rooms.
You r made to wait for your check-in,but the moment u enter your rooms,whichever one you have selected,you will fall in love with it.
Our rooms were cleaned regularly and we were quite satisfied with it. None of my belongings were touched.
The main restaurant is huge and good too..the food is delicious,especially the Indian cuisine.
Thanks to our CHEF Mr. BALA & TEAM..they were our lifesavers!! Loved the surprises that were thrown to us during our candlelight dinner.
The staff is good too,especially the one from VEDA restaurant.
The quality of food,also very good.No stale food was served atleast during my stay.
The spa is very good,with a number of options to choose from.
The steam,sauna & jacuzzi are great too.
A Very good Gymnasium so that u dont miss out on your workout!!

In all,It is a great resort!! It is a little far from the airport & the main city(not that MAURITIUS is a very huge place), but still it is always recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEV_9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear DEV_9009,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Mauritius Resort and your complimentary comments will be shared with our teams.
We look forward to welcoming you soon for your next holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The only reason that I do not rate this hotel excellent is due to the absolutely appalling food. I think that it is safe to say that I have never eaten this badly in any hotel, regardless of the number of stars, category, etc...Therefore, it was all the more shocking to find such poor quality in a five-star resort. Unfortunately, there seems to be some collusion with taxis so that the costs of going out of the hotel to dine are absolutely prohibitive (a round trip to nearby Trou aux Biches, for instance, was 1,400 rupees or around USD50). This evidently has the effect of holding tourists hostage to the extremely nasty hotel food. I hope that management takes note and realizes that a hotel of this caliber should really attempt to obtain the freshest ingredients and cook them properly. We relied on roomservice as generally the best bet. After a bad experience with shrimp that had the taste of detergent at Noble House, we did not return (luckily we were not ill afterwards). The dinner buffet consisted mostly of overcooked and dry offerings at a hefty price. Lunch salads and the club sandwich were also a relatively safe bet. The breakfast buffet attempted to cater to too many culinary traditions with the effect of pleasing none. Rather than having such a wide variety of unappetizing choices, they should have concentrated on choosing a small number of offerings and making them palatable. We stayed at the Sofitel in Flic-and-Flaq last year, and I would urge management at the Intercontinental to emulate its breakfast buffet. By contrast with the Sofitel, for instance, it was rare to have fresh, local, tropical fruit at breakfast. I noted mangos only once and passion fruit twice over a three-week stay! Having gotten past the horrendous breakfast and dining experiences, however, the facilities are absolutely top-notch. The rooms are modern, fashionably-designed, and well-appointed. It is noticeable that the resort is new, having been built in late 2009. The lobby is stunning with views of the sea and the beach. With few exceptions, the staff is helpful, attentive and efficient. The gym has top-of-the-line, very new equipment and a beautiful view of the ocean and beach through its large floor-to-ceiling window. The staff at the boating and towel houses were always very friendly and helpful, as well. They provided towels and snorkeling equipment with a smile. The gardens are lovely and very well maintained!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear MartaH69,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

We are sorry to learn that the food did not live up to your expectations, and you can rest assured that we shall do all that is necessary to remediate to this.
We would be happy to welcome you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort to experience the new culinary experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We visited this resort in October, 2011. Our stay was great. We reached the hotel at about 5pm and they did not have a room for us! They gave us a double upgrade and we hadn't asked for it so we were delighted. It took them a long time to give us the room though but the hotel is beautiful so we went for a tour till they cleaned our room.

The view of the beach from the hotel lobby is speactacular.

Food: We took the breakfast and dinner inclusive package. Very average fare, they can do better. The spread or choice of dishes especially for dinner are not good. Even the buffet breakfast did not have a great variety. Indian food is awful, is avoidable. They do not have too much of sea food even though it is a beach resort and is in Mauritius :)

Service: Excellent. The staff is helpful, friendly, always have a smile. A special mention for Dora and Jean. Dora got complimentary strawberries and chocolate sauce for our 4 year old daughter each day for dinner :). Jean is very kind and helpful. We loved interacting with them and looked forward to meeting them during dinner.

Rooms: We got a suite so can't complain :). It was spacious, clean, tastefully done. There was no hot water due to a problem in their plant on day 1. They fixed it the next day. The housekeeping cleaned our room very well the first day but they did an average job day 2 onwards. We could see the sand that we brought in last day at some places even after they cleaned the room.

Swimming Pool: is small however is clean and nice. The pool area is nice and has a great view of the beach. The kids' pool is a great idea. The service near the pool area is slow. There is a heated pool too but we did not try it. Our friends did and they liked it. This pool is quiter than the main pool near the main restaurant.

Beach: Is not great. It has a lot of rocks so obtsructs the view. There isn't much that you can do in the water on the beach. They have some free water sports which are a must try. You can still be on a beach bed and spend the entire day looking at the water, it is beautiful.

Activities for kids: they have a day care for kids where you can leave them from 9am - 7pm and they have excellent activities planned for them. The care takers at the day care are very nice and friendly and take good care of the kids. They even have special lunch for the kids and they take them to the beach to find sea shells, they paint and draw etc during the day. A lot of kids sign up for this so is a great option. Our daughter refused to leave us but I visited the day care several times and really liked it.

Entertainment: could be better. They planned bollywood night, belly dancing, live singing etc as they have theme nights each day but the entertainment was not the best. The troupe that was hired did not seem like one of the best however it was still fun to go to the Barracuda bar each night after dinner. Kids can go too.

Check out - they had overcharged us by mistake and fortunately we saw the mistake or we would have overpaid. The checkout was quick.

All in all, a great holiday despite a few issues as Mauritius is beautiful and so is the resort. The staff is great and we had a lot of fun during our holiday. I would recommend this resort to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RSagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Rsagar,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, which we have shared with our team.

It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we would be delighted to assist you in planning your next vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It was awesome, went for Honeymoon
I was there in first week of January; we got room attached with private Jacuzzi
I am pure vegetarian and thought I will face problem in Mauritus for good veg food , but I was really surprised they had a huge option not only for veg food but they also had Jain food :-)
They have Indian restaurant name Veda, it’s really good for Indian food
Private beach of intercontinental is too good; you have all in house activity
Scuba diving is must do activity there..
I told one of the staff members, that today is really special day for me as I started dating my wife 5years back on same day. At night 12clock I got surprise pastry with candle and wine bottle, complimentary from staff

Over all Mauritius was ok, but Intercontinental was awesome

Room Tip: Room attached with Private Jacuzzi
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naitikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear naitiksha,

Thank you for such a fantastic review!

We are delighted to note that we made your honeymoon memorable and special.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back in our property. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews