We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving, lovely staff”
Review of Roots Red Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roots Red Sea
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great diving, lovely staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Found this place through Pharaoh Dive Club, we didn't actually stay here as we were booked into a hotel up the road. But the staff are very nice and we several lovely lunches and evening meals here. The kids loved the camp fire and both children had their first diving experience with Pharaoh Dive club, first in a pool down the road, and then a shallow dive in the sea on the house reef.
Great get away from the tourist hoards and a friendly patient diving club. Asked for a look at the chalets, the eco huts are basic but clean with a shared toilet block, the nicer chalets have en-suite, air con and tv's. Would definitely go back. Thanks Clare, Steve and staff

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
46
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I am a solo female traveller/recreational diver. I did my homework - i wanted to go somewhere that was not touristy, that had a great diving centre on the doorstep and with a friendly laid back vibe - I have to congratulate myself in finding exactly that at Roots Camp! :-). From the moment i walked in i felt part of the family, looked after but also left to my own devices if i wanted. Unfortunately I had appalling weather during my week but they did everything to try to make sure i had some nice dives - Because of the weather I felt rather privileged in having dives pretty much when (or if) i wanted each day (i'm sure thats not the norm!) i had a different divemaster each day, all of them were lovely and really worked hard to find stuff to see and have the best experience possible under the circumstances. The whole diving set up (Pharaoh Diving) is well organised, safe, professional and easy. I know there are masses of sites around there that i was not able to visit which is a bit of a killer but i will be back! The Camp is run by Steve and Claire who are just lovely and clearly have a knack of attracting great staff and people to the camp - the accommodation is comfy and everything you could want. Chef Bebo's food is yummy, varied and just the ticket after a dive! i cant wait to come back with warm weather and send a big thank you to everyone there at Roots! One note of advice - Steve bluffs big time at poker :-))

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feedthegoodwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Spent a week and would definately return. The camp is well run , food great and the staff are always there to help nothing is too much trouble. We had a lovely lodge all mod cons but if you want to be adventurous they have eco chalets which you can stay in. Beach just across the road with sun beds and umbrellas and you don't have to fight for one. The sea is warm and clear with beautiful sea life,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesbittz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

we visited the roots camp while on our diving holiday in december . my wife was a novice diver with only 7 dives under her belt .the house reef offered an excelent oppertunity for my wife to gain experience while taking in the fantastic coral reefs and fish . they also have veriouse other reefs they use which is shore based diving . the staff at roots are very helpful by ensuring your dive gear is on site on time .the food from the restaurant is 5 star nd breakfast can be made to order is you like omlets .. the dive centre is run my clair and steve likes to be the boss .(LOL)... they plan variouse trips on the hard boats and the zodiak ..
at the camp in the evening there is a camp fire to sit around and remenis the days diving .and also the 2 house dogs come and keep you company (bonnie and snowy)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thonon-les-Bains, France
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I think that I'm a lucky person,because I could already stay several days at Roots camp.For me it's a magical place,when I'm there it gives me a feeling like I'm living in a dream.
At daytime you can do many things: walking around the camp,specialty jumping the mountain what is in the back for the camp, or spending the time on the nice and clean beach. or if you want to live in other world try the diving with Mr. Mahmoud .And if you feel lazy,you can stay at the camp and enjoy the silence, or speaking with Mr. Hazem, he is very kind and interesting person.
Roots Camp has real nice staff,they are very friendly,polite and helpful.I think that it's very luxury to have a private Bungalow ,a bed,clean toilets and showers in this type of camps.
At sunset,when the sand becomes gold and the cozy lights go on at the camp...that's magic for me!
That's the time to sit at the fire and enjoy the evening with a nice company.

Room Tip: for me all the parts are good, but the down part has less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigil320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Quseir
7.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort, El Quseir
37.3 km away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
#1 of 14 in Safaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
34.3 km away
Pensee Royal Garden
Pensee Royal Garden
#8 of 11 in El Quseir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Fanadir Holiday Resort
Fanadir Holiday Resort
#9 of 11 in El Quseir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.1 km away
Movenpick Resort El Quseir
22.5 km away
Rohanou Beach Resort & Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Red Sea

Property: Roots Red Sea
Address: 14km North of El Quseir | El Quseir - Safaga Road, El Quseir R1, Egypt (Formerly Roots Luxury Camp)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,107 - ₹ 5,852
Hotel Class:2 star — Roots Red Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots Red Sea is situated on the southern part of the Red Sea coast,just north of El Quseir town. Ideally situated between Hurghada and Marsa Alam Airports. We are surrounded by magnificent colourful mountains and unspoilt Red Sea beaches making it both a beautiful and relaxing destination.There are 3 styles of accommodation, Superior Boutiques & Deluxe Chalets which all have Sea-view,en-suite facilities,AC,flat screen TV and fridge or the standard Eco-Huts with shared facilities and fan giving a more rustic feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Roots Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing