We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calissa = Perfect Summer Spot”
Review of Calissa

Calissa
Reserve with OpenTable
Calissa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Water Mill
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 75
Description: Calissa will mark the newest venture from the team behind Amali, Il Cantinori, and Periyali in New York City. The conceptual development for the restaurant was inspired by the Greek Aegean Islands and the menu features a variety of small and large shareable plates, all of which highlight local Long Island seafood and vegetables.
Restaurant details
Description: Calissa will mark the newest venture from the team behind Amali, Il Cantinori, and Periyali in New York City. The conceptual development for the restaurant was inspired by the Greek Aegean Islands and the menu features a variety of small and large shareable plates, all of which highlight local Long Island seafood and vegetables.
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Calissa embodies the effortless feel of Mykonos. The restaurant interior is beautiful with light wood, Mediterranean blue, pops of burnt orange, and tons of candles giving the restaurant a romantic soft lighting.

My date and I went in on a busy Saturday night and shared the Grilled Portuguese Octopus to start which was perfectly cooked and some of the best we've ever had. For entrees we had the Lobster Bucatini for Two-perfect al dente pasta and succulently tender lobster. The sommelier Cheer was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in helping us choose wine to pair with our selections. We also saw others drinking creative cocktails which we can't wait to try next time!

My one complaint is that there is no sign that says Calissa out front. I drove right by and had to turn back around. It wasn't a big deal, we figured it out, but without a GPS it could be a little tricky to find at night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank YCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Calissa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Y

Thank you for the kind words. Our sign required some permitting but will be up next week. I do apologize for any confusion in the meantime.

I am glad you had a good time. Next time you come in please let me know so I may see to your reservation personally.

James
james@amalinyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

On the evening of Memorial Day, Calissa was almost empty. Even the valets didn't show up. We learned why.
In the space famously occupied by the hugely trendy Trata for several years ( and several short term failures thereafter ), Calissa was expected to be top flight, a direct descendant of respected New York restaurants.

Perhaps we missed something but the layout was unchanged from the Trata days except maybe the kitchen was opened up, decor was minimal. Nice baskets over the ceiling lights.
Service was lackluster and disinterested - perhaps our failure to order several bottles of wine weighed upon the interest of the staff. Also really slow for the entrees to arrive even though only three or four tables were occupied.
Pricing was typical for the Hamptons, exorbitant, but then every place is similar and hardly a negative mark in Water Mill. $18 martinis, $20 give or take for starters, pastas and risottos variable, other entrees all over $30.
Early selections included an excellent fried cheese, thoroughly average calimari and a disappointingly average Greek salad.
Entrees included a salt baked fish, risotto, and a half chicken. Boring, edible but totally unexceptional (see title of review).

Despite some suspiciously glowing reviews on Yelp, there is no enthusiasm here for Calissa.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank queenofhades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Calissa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Persephone,

While I am sad that you did not have a positive experience, some of your inferences in your review do give me pause.

For example, we have a large parking lot so we do not need to offer valet on Mondays - it was not because the valet somehow abandoned us.

Additionally, a cursory review of online pictures from Trata/Red Stix/The Greenwich Project compared to the current renovation show a new carrera marble bar, mosaic flooring, wood flooring, bathrooms, lighting, furniture and parking lot. It does not mean you had to like the renovation but to claim that it is the same, old, pace is inaccurate.

Finally, I find it slightly odd that any guest would have the time or inclination to engage in a Diogenes-eque cross reference of online reviews for a new restaurant. We have engaged in no sinister backchanneling to stack the deck for online reviews. When guests compliment their experience, we do encourage them to write an honest review. This is fairly standard practice for restaurants and hotels - in fact, Trip Advisor actually sends cards to restaurants to display and thereby remind guests to file online reviews.

There is no excuse for lackluster service - even on our third day of operations. But Occam's Razor would be that any delay in the arrival of your dishes is more likely a function of opening "kinks" rather than a avarice laden plot to ignore guests who do not order a bottle of wine. I promise we have neither the intention nor the time to engage in an organizational scheme to ignore guests who do not order bottles of wine.

Should you join us again, we will gladly treat you to a bottle of wine and hope that your second visit is superior to the first and inline with the guest experience we hope for at our new restaurant. As I often do, I ask that guests let us know how we can make their experience better in the moment rather than afterwards online where our ability to make up for any possible errors is diminished.

Respectfully,

James Mallios
james@amalinyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calissa also viewed

Water Mill, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Southampton
 
Hampton Bays, Southampton
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Calissa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing