We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn At The Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn At The Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Astoria, New York
1 review
“Cozy and lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Bev and Sal were just the most terrific hosts. When we arrived they left a cute note for us at the door which made us feel right at home. We got to play with their adorable litter of poodle pups and Ivy (our Rhodesian Ridgeback) was treated like a family member. Not to mention the breakfast which was AMAZING: Chocolate filled french toast, home fries with peppers and onions, zuccinni chocolate bread, coffee cake, fresh coffee, fresh yogurt, fruit and granola, fresh OJ AND yes sausage. Thanks so much Bev and Sal we'll definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Stay at the West point room. We stayed in the Lavender room which was quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
45
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

From the first communication with Sal & Bev, I knew my family and I were in for a weekend of celebration, good food and a wonderful location. Hurricane Irene did her best to get it in the way, but it just made more wonderful family memories. Every need & want was met within a most comfortable, hospitable, friendly & family building experience. It's a treat to sit down with 15 family members who although quite capable of dissension and mixed opinions along the spectrum, all agreed on the exquisite meal quality and taste experience provided by Sal in a professional, elegant, yet unassuming manner. Those simple touches of having basics available left us to concentrate on the family experience we were there to have. Definitely child friendly and a nostalgic break from the techno bombardment. Hammocks & bench swings replaced cell phones and hand held games successfully. A morning of catching 22 fish ( all thrown bag by good sports) hands down beat out an hour of MP3 headphones. Instead of the experience of a hotel away from home - we were able to enjoy a home away from home atmosphere provided with sheer joy and gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: We reserved the entire Inn. Keep in mind, the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at the Inn At The Ridge for two nights while visiting family in the area. The owners were so welcoming and there's just a calm, peaceful atmosphere about the whole place. We were traveling with our 7-month old and it was great to have a kitchen at our disposal for bottle preparation and cleaning. The breakfast was excellent -- everything homemade and very fresh. We talked about the scones for days. Our only regret was that we didn't have enough time to just sit out on the porch and enjoy the views.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

My significant other is in the Army Reserves and was assigned training near Stewart. While he trained all day, I hiked and explored the mountains in the area. Autumn is beautiful in upstate NY. This was the perfect home base for both of us to enjoy our time. The breakfasts were a delight and the property offered pleasant country scenery, in which to relax. My 2 australian shepherd-ish dogs enjoyed their stay as well and felt very welcome at Inn At The Ridge. It is hard to find NICE places that will accept dogs and My 2 try to be good ambassadors for this cause. Bev and Sal are great hosts and I look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit the wineries in the area. It's closely located to many of them. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing! So many delicious foods. We always left breakfast stuffed full. The decor is full of antiques and very cozy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09mltjet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
7.3 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
15.3 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
16.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
15.5 km away
The Borland B&B & Brunch House
11.8 km away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Ridge

Property: Inn At The Ridge
Address: 2098 Bruynswick Rd, Wallkill, NY 12589-3255
Region: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,346 - ₹ 13,833
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1796 HOUSE "Inn At the Ridge" Historic Wallkill Farm Home w/Wifi, Gorgeous Lotus Pond & Majestic Shawangunk Mountain Views! Just Minutes to Antique Shops, Recreation Excursions, Wineries & Much More! This marvelous 4-bedroom, 3-bathroom vacation Farm Home for short term and long term stays with affordable rates provides the perfect combination of historic charm and modern comfort for up to 10 guests in search of a memorable New York State retreat, just 90 minutes from New York City. You’ll love the abundant scenery in every direction! As soon as you arrive at this astounding property, you’ll be captivated by the immense peace and quiet that characterizes the silent beauty of the area. The surrounding land is garnished with a blueberry patch, a natural lotus pond, assorted flower and vegetable gardens, and a picturesque tree swing hanging from the 150 year old Weeping Willow. Settled in the shadow of the Shawangunk Mountain Range, this Historic Farm House presents all the simple and rustic characteristics necessary to create a calming ambiance for your stay. The home itself still features some of the original aspects of its constructions in 1796 and is adorned with tasteful decor to signify the Primitive Era in which it was built. In addition to home comforts and classic furnishings, you’ll also find modern attributes that add to the appeal of the residence, such as complimentary wireless Internet access and charging stations. Look forward to sipping a warm cup of coffee on the front porch swing, admiring the Black Angus Cattle roaming the pastures on a cool morning. Spend the day exploring, then return to unwind in the cozy abode or read a book next to the dazzling lotus pond. When dinner rolls around, there’s no better way to make the most of your pastoral getaway than enjoying a home-cooked recipe at the lovely dining table. Later, gather your loved ones to play a game of cards or watch a movie on the living room TV - quality time at its finest. You’ll never find a shortage of entertainment here! From restful relaxation activities to exciting entertainment options, your trip will include everything you dream and more. For the outdoor enthusiasts in your group, ample opportunities to revel in the stunning natural landscape can be found within minutes of the home. Inquire with the owners should you desire to explore the terrain with a FREE day pass to the Mohonk Preserve, follow a trail to the famous ‘Mohonk Mountain House’ castle with over 5,000 acres of trails. The thrill-seekers will enjoy scrambling and bouldering in the mountains, and those in search of a more relaxing activity will love fishing the many lakes and streams and rivers in close proximity to the property. Take the entire family for a fun outing at the Rosendale Street Fair, Ulster County Fair, an antique car show, or various other events. At the end of an exciting day, grab a bite to eat at one of the many local restaurants, such as The Bruynswick Inn, Lombardi Restaurant, The Bauhaus, and Rough Cut, followed by a tasting at one of the 5 local wineries and vineyards and the original Distillery in New York State. No matter how you spend your time here, this exceptional Wallkill/Gardiner vacation rental home will quickly become a destination you want to visit again and again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn At The Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing