We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be better off sleeping on the street”
Review of Knights Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Utica
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You'd be better off sleeping on the street”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Dirty and filthy are the best adjectives I can come up with to describe this place.

Wear shoes at ALL times while in your room. Beware of dirty women's undergarments from the previous guest being overlooked and left hanging in the shower by the cleaning staff.

The owner was apologetic and seemed sincere when I emailed him about it, but unwilling to reimburse me even 1 of the 2 nights I stayed there, and didn't care about the bad review I told him I was going to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itlnmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    13
    30
    66
See reviews for
34
29
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gibsonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Do not stay here! Sleep in your car!
This is the nastiest place I have ever stayed in! My dog didnt even want to be in the room...the smell is horrific! the walls are visibly filthy...the rug was so dirty it crunched when you walked on it...we did not take our clothes or shoes off...and checked out when the sun came up.and checked into the red roof inn...10$ more and it was perfect!...
I believe they were making porn movies in one room....it was also obvious they were renting rooms by the hour...the emergency exit door didnt shut or latch, anyone could walk in thru the back...and did...all night long
anything that was broken they tried to fix with spray foam ..Shame on the city of Utica for not closing this filthy establishment down...shame on Super 8 for letting this building have its name attached!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mscaptain2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utica hotels

NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I stayed here one night when I was temporarily working in Utica and tried a variety of hotels. This was without question the worst. The room smelled like an ashtray, the toilet seat in the the bathroom off the lobby had something sticky on it, and the manager was creepy and unhelpful. The 'breakfast' was ...lets jsut say they had fake OJ, and that was the best thing on the menu. My wife stayed with me because we were going to a mmeting in Syracuse the nest day, and she nearly divorced me. The internet worked fine, and the highway noise was not a problem, even though it's just off the highway. Stay away. Use the internet from your car if you must.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VWFeature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trenton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We tried getting a room at the red roof inn and was sold out :( so we noticed the super 8 motel. we had been on the road comming from canada and was about a 6 hour drive. we get in at 5 am and number one it was noisy from the interstate. the room was $50 but got the aaa discount of $5 . we get to our room and the beds were okay but the sheets had a few stains. my wife wanted ice so I grab the ice bucket and there was hairs in the bucket and not our hair. i go to the ice machine and i had to hit a button for the ice to come out. 4 ice cubes came out lol that was it. they guy said it wasent working. and at 7 am all the noise started. the hotel cleaning staff were yelling and laughing and screaming. and this went on for over 2 hours, My wife had a very important doctors apointment and we had about 3 hours sleep because of this. when it came time to check out the guy(dont know if he was the manager or not if he was he should be fired and funny thing is he had an bout 2 year or 3 year kid like the others are saying) says oh are you checking out? I thought to my self gee when someone takes their suitcase to the car dosent that mean we are checking out? i said ya. he smiled and said how was your stay? i said if your cleaners had of shut up it would have been a bit better. hs said what? I said they were yelling and screaming and laughing from 7 am till atleast 9am. he said they are working!!!!!! They are just having fun!!!! I said well I wasent having fun and am cranky from lack of sleep. he said what do you want? I said my money back or 1/2 the money back. he said not gonna happen. I said the halls were disgusting. the rooms carpet was disgusting and the workers were disgusting!!! he looked at my bill and said Oh you already got $5 off isint that good enough? I said you know what fine. I will just call the head office. I did that and it looks like they will be sending us our money back. will never stay there again. will be staying at the red roof inn better staff and a lot nicer rooms.,

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostymeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I went to a concert at a local club and did not know much about the area, the first room we tried to stay in smelled so badly of smoke we moved rooms and when we left the desk clerk and his obesely pregnant wife were staring at us intently. Next thing I know we come back to our room and someone else is at the desk and my purse, my friends wallet, and my other friends bag have all been stolen from the room. Mama went and spent $30 at Burger King, $105 at Walmart, and got her hair done at the local Nice 'N Easy before we got back so I could see my purse had been stolen. If you don't want your identity stolen and to be broke until they're finally caught do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICantBelieveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
514 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
717 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
52 reviews
2.0 km away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.5 km away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Utica

Property: Knights Inn Utica
Address: 309 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2317 (Formerly Super 8 Utica)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,158 - ₹ 5,413
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Utica 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Utica Hotel Utica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing