We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal but couldn’t enjoy ourselves!!”
Review of The York

The York
Ranked #95 of 781 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Modern-American, Raw Bar, Craft Cocktails, Craft Beer, Seasonal menu, Lounge, Happy Hour Specials
Restaurant details
Description: Modern-American, Raw Bar, Craft Cocktails, Craft Beer, Seasonal menu, Lounge, Happy Hour Specials
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

This was our second time here. We had to wait about an hour which was fine. Had some drinks and some great chips while we waited.

Our service was good but the waitress was not very friendly and hard to talk to. Our last time the waiter was very nice and explained things.

Food was good... the meatball appetizer is more like a meal!!! Shrimp cocktail is excellent!

However, at 6:30 they felt it was important to turn up the music and the base! Felt like I was in a night club. Could not hear the people we were with and the bass was so high in it really turned our nice beginning to not enjoyable. It was so bad we didn’t stay for dessert or drinks...we had to go someplace else so we could talk.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gagen416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2018

I liked the York very much, we had a big group over Syracuse homecoming weekend and I was impressed with the service and the food for our party of 8. It is frustrating that they don't take reservations for smaller parties but this is a trendy, popular spot none-the-less. We were a few minutes late for our reservation and had to wait about 15 minutes but once seated we were treated to an attentive and patient server and delicious cocktails right from the start. We had lots of appetizers, the bacon, meatballs, the flatbreads (artichoke), fried chicken, and the wedge salad were really great but everything except the wedge was spicy so if you aren't a fan, make sure to tell your server. We had an allergy in our group and our server (and the kitchen) went out of their way to make certain that we knew what was in certain dishes. Very much appreciated. This is not a quiet place, there is a DJ spinning great tunes but it is loud and quite a scene which seems to get "scenier" as the night progresses. The desserts looked amazing but we didn't save room.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoriOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

The place was crowded and we had to wait two hours for a table. It was worth the wait, food was great, our waiter was fantastic and I need to say that although the wine list is not a big deal, people at the bar compensated with their ability to manage that crowd and get to you in seconds. But guys,.... you really need a new hostess, what a rude, stone faced and angry woman. Maybe she's working at the wrong job.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carlos e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

I came here to celebrate my birthday and recent engagement with some close friends. We had an awesome time! Food was very good, but pricey. Staff seemed very friendly, unlike some previous reviews I saw.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Langlokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Service was terrible, bar tenders were all rude and not smiling or friendly. Did not make it feel warm and welcoming. Food was overpriced and not worth it. Trying to be a trendy NYC restaurant in Syracuse and just doesn't cut it. The owner came over and was very arrogant and not listening to our needs, as customers. Would not recommend wasting your time going there unless you like arrogant non friendly environments.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing