We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! It's Sweet and Sooo Good!”

Picasso's Pastries and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 26 Dessert in Syracuse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stopped in Picasso's during the Westcott Nation Cultural Fair and realized I should have come here a long time ago.

There was a long line, but the staff kept it moving quickly. I was glad for the line because it gave me some time to ogle all the pastries and baked goods on the counter and in the display case. Everything look delicious! The cookies appeared heavenly!

We probably could have ordered and eaten about a dozen items, but we settled for a slice (and it was a BIG slice) chocolate-pumpkin coffee cake and a piece of Hungarian nut-bread. Both were excellent. They were accompanied by a coffee and a hot, black tea.

All of the inside tables were taken and the couch and chairs were also occupied. Since it was a nice day, we opted to take our goods outside where there were a couple of tables and chairs.

Picasso's is going to be a regular stop. The baked items were just too good!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WarrenFretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

They actually don't know my name, but do know my face as I am a frequent flier, or eater in this case.
Arrived the other morning to find that I forgot my wallet. Bummer. I asked if they would let me eat, I'd walk back home and return with the money. Not a moment's hesitation.
This is what it is like to be a neighborhood joint.
Oh. I almost forgot. The croissants- plain, chocolate, or pistachio are all great. Haven't had the almond,but I'm confident they would be yummy as well.
The shop est tres petit, but the food and the staff are tres gentil.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lanny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Finally made it over to Picasso's Pastries and we were not disappointed!! The cases were filled with wonderful looking pastries and treats and they serve Cafe' Kubal coffee too!! We got iced mocha coffee and regular hot coffee - both of which were fantastic. They have wifi and a nice seating area arrangement that encourages people to relax and unwind. We loaded up on pastries to take home. The selections change all the time but we had the hungarian nut roll (amazing), lemon and mixed berry cake (light and delicious), chocolate croissants (mmm) and much more. Everything was fresh and delicious! They only use butter in their recipes - no shortening. It must make a big difference - their treats were very good! The service was great - very friendly and informative. Their prices are great - not overpriced! We didn't try the ciabatta or Italian breads but they looked very good. Recommend a stop at this great bakery!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

I am modifying my earlier review. I have been back many times since and have developed a greater appreciation for Picasso's. The pastries are not "polished: in the way they would be at a chain (e.g. Panera's) but rather display a hand-crafted hardiness. Also, the place sits nicely in the neighborhood with a cast of regulars drawn from Syracuse faculty and grad students. Also, again, Kubal coffee.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank unknown48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This place had the best cannoli cake I have ever tasted! Their prices on the coffee drinks are higher than most places, but the dessert prices are reasonable. The desserts are great but the drinks were just ok. However, I loved the place and the people!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picasso's Pastries and Cafe also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Picasso's Pastries and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing