We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Casual Italian Restaurant”

Dominick's Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 780 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Description: At Dominick’s, a Syracuse tradition since 1980, we’re all about family. In fact, family is at the heart of everything we do. It’s why we’ve always used the same cherished recipes for our special homemade sauces and why we’ll never bring anything but generous, shareable portions of your Italian favorites to your table. It’s why we always greet you with a familiar smile and provide service that makes you feel not only accommodated, but right at home. And it’s why our menu offers such an extensive variety of pizza, steak, pasta, seafood dishes, and more -- and that includes gluten-free options. Because family is all about togetherness. So bring the whole crew to our place, and join the family -- we can’t wait to share meals and memories with you!
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This restaurant is very casual so it is a nice spot for a low key meal even with kids. The staff is attentive and friendly There is an extensive menu to choose from. The food is good with very large portions. The scratch made desserts that are on display when you come in are delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EWING529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, Owner at Dominick's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Family is at the heart of everything! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our service, menu, and desserts with your kiddos. We'd love to serve your family again soon!

Kindly,
The Tassone Sisters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

On July 16, 2018 I took my family visiting from Texas (8 of us) for dinner. We arrived appropriately 5:40 PM. The restaurant was not busy and were several available tables. No one was ahead of us and we waited 20 minutes to be seated. All they did is put two 4 tops together with 8 chairs. We were not greeted by a servrer for 15 minutes who then asked if we wanted drinks. Server finally took our order. Once she took the order is was served in a reasonable amount of time.The experience then continued to go downhill. Two fettuccine with no mushrooms, broccoli, came with mushrooms, Kids lasagna was cold and cheese not cooked, Open Steak sandwich was full of fat and grizzle. Could not eat the lasagna and they took it off the bill. It was a 90 degree day and the restaurant had no AC. Chicken Caccatorre did not live up to previous times I have ordered it. Very disappointed and not sure I would go back again although I have been there many times over the years. The only positive I can say is they are known for large portions and reasonable prices. However, if the food is not good then who cares.I was very disappointed with the overall experience and embarrassed to take my family to this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mlbahb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, Owner at Dominick's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Family is at the heart of everything we do, so we're saddened to hear that your family's experience was not excellent. We work hard to honor the recipes and service standards that have been passed down to us, but it seems we dropped the ball in your case. We'd never intentionally make our guests wait. However, a large party can often create a bit of a wait as we set the table properly and get the staff ready. We want to be fully prepared so the customer experience is not compromised. As for the food, we should never serve anything but a hot and perfect dish. We're so sorry to hear your meals were not served this way. The chicken cacciatore is made from scratch, the same recipe we have always used, so we're not sure what you thought changed. Please let your server or manager know of any issues, and they'll happily accommodate. As far as the AC , yes, our unit was not working at the capacity it should have been and one was ordered, and was fixed as soon as they were able to get a unit in. We're glad to know you had many positive experiences with us in the past and hope to have you back so we can show you a great family meal again.

All the best,
The Tassone Sisters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Family Friendly Restaurant. As said above...Good Food...Good Prices...Good Service....Good Portions...Great Deserts. Always recommend to my out of town friends.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, Owner at Dominick's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Good, good, good to hear, Paul! Your recommendation means the world to us. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better. Eager to serve you again!

Thank you,
The Tassone Sisters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Have been going there since it opened..... Never had a bad meal. Big portions and prices are good. So many things on the menu it is hard to choose what to have.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank nabet211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, Owner at Dominick's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Welcome to the family! Thanks for being a loyal customer and taking advantage of our huge menu. Choices are tough, but we're always here to help you make the perfect one. Hope to have you back soon.

Warmly,
The Tassone Sisters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Our group of 9 showed up for Sunday afternoon lunch following graduation. Dominick's does not accept reservations and we were told to "just show up". Several other large post graduation parties showed up at the same time. The staff of Dominick's handled the onslaught of customers with ease and grace. We were seated within 20 minutes...not bad at all. Dominick's is a comfortable place. The menu, both food and drink, is extensive and reasonably priced. Be warned, the portions are HUGE and you will have lunch and dinner for the next day. I had the chicken riggies. They were outstanding! Others in the party had seafood and chicken. Everyone was pleased. We departed Dominick's stuffed and nap ready. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, Owner at Dominick's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Chicken Riggies for every meal! But really, we appreciate the kind words and are happy you chose us for such a special outing. Bring everyone in again soon -- we have many more dishes for you to try.

Thank you,
The Tassone Sisters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dominick's Restaurant also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dominick's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing