We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was a fun place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stony Creek Ranch Resort
Reviewed 12 August 2017

My family started going to the ranch in 1972. Never missed a year. We found a wonderful place to relax and made many great friends through the years. The new owners have ruined it for my family and a large group of our friends. The new owner kept saying how she ran a large hotel etc., and how great she did. That attitude was not on display the week we were there; in fact just the opposite. All conversations ended up about her. She treated the guests like we were beneath her, and we owed her something. Any time you'd ask anyone a question you'd get a different answer. The food (what there was of it) was disgusting, Couldn't get WI-Fi (as advertised), not one activity planned and no social director, and on and on the negatives go. Very, very unorganized. It looks like we're not alone with our assessment of this place.
TRIP ADVISOR should update its rating charts, because most of the positive comments are years old and reflect what people thought of the place when it was called "THOUSAND ACRES" (The true ranch!)
They say, "change is good". Definitely not in this case!!!!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have been updated.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank swakgala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon,
I would first off like to apologize that your stay was less then satisfactory. We are working tirelessly to restore the ranch to its formal glory. Since your stay there have been a lot of new changes. The first and most exciting is that we have a permanent chef in our kitchen who is whipping up the most delectable dishes that have came out of the ranch since its heyday. Our meals have made a complete 180 and we haven't disappointed a guest yet. In regards to the WiFi due to the location of our property it is not as strong or as stable as a connection would be in the city. We do have wifi as we would be unable to book reservations without it. We do admit that the weather can influence the signal on our property just as it could influence the signal anywhere. Lastly we know have a set daily activities schedule suitable for all ages. Our set of GM's are also striving to improve customer relations and the general morale of the property. While we know this wasn't the trip you were expecting the only way to get the full experience would be to come back and give us another try. Day by day we are constantly evolving and with that improving. Please let us become "The True Ranch."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Stony Creek Ranch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

I have been coming to this ranch for 47 years and this year was the most unorganized and unstructured I have ever seen it. The website and brochure show numerous activities, however, with no social director for the kids or adults, there were no activities or very limited activities and most of the guests took it upon themselves to find something to do. If you are not going to entertain the guests, at least provide a great menu. The food was adequate at best along with the cleaning service. The owner has no hospitality whatsoever and should hire a general manager and stay hands off. Many of the guests who have been coming for years felt very disrespected by her and are not coming back.. Next year these guests along with my family will be going to Ridin' Hy. Such a shame, as the ranch is in a beautiful location and has great views of the adirondak mountains. Farewell Stony Creek Ranch! It will always be 1000 Acres Ranch to me!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
15  Thank Kamikaze47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon,
We are so sorry that this trip did not meet your expectations. The new owners officially purchased this property a year ago and just opened it up for service a few months ago. As with any new experience there will be some kinks but with that constant improvement daily. Just from your stay to now we have a set daily activities schedule suitable for all ages, a new and permanent chef who has amped up our food tremendously, as well as having an extremely hands on set of GM's who have taken over. With all of these changes taken place the ranch has really boosted up our customer relations as well as the general morale. Despite your last experience we hope that you will give us another chance so you can see these improvements firsthand. Thank you and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We recently visited what we thought was a dude ranch based on the advertising in the website and the pictures posted in the gallery. Unfortunately, the ranch is under new ownership and the website has not been updated. The cabins have very low water pressure, a non latching bathroom door, and out dated plumbing. The shower had mold growing along the corners and the carpets need to be vacuumed. The cabins do not have smoke detectors or sprinklers. And when we got there, we found out it no longer had a rodeo. All the pictures in the gallery are deceiving and the website is purposefully misleading. I would not return to this ranch nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jdm05599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good Afternoon,
Our website is in fact updated and was redone under our new ownership. This property was originally built in 1942 and the previous owners had not put in the money to update the property. Our new owners are working tirelessly to make the renovations that are needed. Every day there is something new being done so that we can modernize the ranch. In regards to our rodeo there are no places where a rodeo happens year round. We completed our season and plan on redoing it again next year. We are also conveniently located near the Painted Pony which hosts several rodeos a week. We hope that while this experience was not what you hoped for you will come back and give us another try. Thank you and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

BEWARE...Their website is very misleading!
"80 completely renovated rustic cabins" should really say, "rustic cabins that include bugs, spiders, and cobwebs. Showers with very, very low water pressure and mold growing along the enclosure wall and floor".
"Fine dining" should say "Leftovers from the previous night, complete with flies buzzing around the uncovered dishes. A slice of stale bread will make your meal complete"!
Stargazing parties, Cowboy Story Time Bonfires, Movies under the Stars, Riverside Music and Adirondack rodeos were no where to be seen! False advertising!
Due to overbooking, a family that had reserved our cabin in advance, was told that it wasn't available. We VERY HAPPILY cut our trip short, gave up the cabin, and got out of Dodge as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank C2568QIpatd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good Afternoon Pat,
We are so sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. Part of the beauty of escaping the city is experiencing authentic rustic living. Due to our property being located in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains it is commonplace to see more insects then one might be used to seeing. It is impossible to rid such a natural and untouched area of these pests. In regards to our food we do not serve "leftovers from the previous night." Every meal is created uniquely for that specific night. If a certain meal wasn't to your liking then our kitchen staff would have gladly created something more appealing to you. As for the activities you mentioned our Facebook page indicates what entertainment will be happening that night. As for the Adirondack rodeos we are located right by the Painted Pony which holds several rodeos a week. All in all we are sorry that you didn't get the trip you were expecting but hope that you will return and give Stony Creek Ranch Resort another try. Thank you and have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This place is disgusting! Our room WAS NOT renovated, filled with cobwebs & dust and the bathroom was filled with mold. There was no smoke detector anywhere in the cabin. The pictures on the website must be from the previous owners. The food is nothing more than you buy in bulk at a Sams club. The tray of breads you can pick at breakfast is brought out again the next day, stale, along with the same bowl of peanut butter half gone from the previous morning. Salad fruit or veggies?? You need to ask. (And the veggies are frozen bags) The dining hall floor was dirty with food. When talking with Carol the owner she did nothing but blame her staff. They booked our room to other people and told us at 1 pm we needed to be moved for a night all the while telling the other guests that we were told to move at 9am. The young staff were great! All Carol did was drive around on her golf cart name dropping & telling her life stories like she's all that while staying in her motor home! Take a shower in cabin 32 Carol!! Don't waste your money or vacation time! Your better off in a tent and digging a hole!

Stayed: July 2017
14  Thank Milojet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Creek
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
13.6 km away
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
91 reviews
13.4 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#18 of 89 in Lake George
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#22 of 89 in Lake George
419 reviews
12.7 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
10.8 km away
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Ranch Resort

Address: 465 Warrensburg Rd, Stony Creek, NY 12878-1613
Region: United States > New York > Stony Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Stony Creek
Price Range: ₹ 6,428 - ₹ 10,928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stony Creek Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stony Creek Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1000 Acres Ranch Hotel Stony Creek
1000 Acres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing