We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stony Creek Ranch Resort
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The people there were freindly and very helpful. They had activities directors for adults and for children and they planned different activities at the resort and nearby. We went white water rafting which was amazing and good for all ages, I am 52 and my husband is 54. We also kayaked on the Hudson river. The horseback riding was good and the handlers were very helpful and made accommodations for my 15 year old son who has been riding for years to make it more challenging for him.

The food was amazing!! We loved all of the food and there were plenty of choices and more food than anyone needed.

The place was very clean everywhere, the rooms, we had a cabin, the grounds, the pool, and they had beautiful gardens. It was nice that there was an indoor pool as well as the outdoor pool, and there was a hot tub by the inside pool.

It was peaceful and restful and fun. It is a little outdated in the cabins but they said they were updating them this fall. The mattresses really needed to be replaced.
We loved that there was no TV in the cabin. There was wi-fi so my teenage boys were happy.

Room Tip: Cabins had great views and I think more privacy but I think most rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We went there because ranches near new York got booked up or don't accept pet due to long weekend. This ranch, a little farther, but takes our dog, whom we can't leave behind. We found out that the ownership just changed for 70 days. New owners are working very hard to improve the facilities and staffing. But they inherited a fascinating herd of horses and a thousand acres of pristine land. Trails through rapid creeks, wooded Hills, small lakes, an active railway and grasslands are long and ever changing. Wranglers are experienced and accommodating. Horses are obviously well-fed. That was why we went there for. I will come back again!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This past weekend I attended a Line Dance Weekend at the new Stony Creek Resort (formerly the 1,000 Acres Ranch and Resort) in the Adirondack Mountains. The new owners are in the process of fixing up the place and they are doing a wonderful job. The food was wonderful and plentiful, the front desk was more than helpful and the new manager treated you like family. We enjoyed all the facilities – horseback riding, swimming in the outdoor and in-door pool, Jacuzzi, hiking trails, campfires with s’mores, Cowboy coffee & stories with Ed on Saturday morning and line dancing in the Red Dog Saloon. The price point for a weekend was well worth the price of admission. If you love the out-of-doors with beautiful views, you will love the Stony Creek Resort.

Room Tip: Book a cabin for the best view of the mountains and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank EMoonDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My friend and I found this unlikely spot for a weekend getaway. We didn't know what to expect when we pulled up and the place seemed deserted. We came during their last off-peak week, but to our surprise we had the best time ever! Our cabin was clean and cozy, we had the Hudson as our back yard and a rowboat at our disposal. We went horseback riding daily. The meals were good and plenty. The staff--Alice, Scott, Michelle, Mike, Linda, Heidi, Tuff, and others--were all wonderful! We are planning our return trip next year! This is not your fancy 5-star resort so don't come expecting the Ritz.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I do have to agree that the ranch needs TLC and hope it does get sold and the new owners give it the TLC needed. The staff could not have been any nicer.They went out of their way to please you. Breakfast had all your basic food plus a couple specials. Lunch was your basic lunch meat, a hot dish and platter of cookies. Dinner our first night was a buffet with a choice of beef, chicken, pork and fish potatoes veggies dessert and more. The second night it was family style meal with beef and chicken, twice baked potatoes, veggies and dessert. I didn't hear anyone having a bad word about the food. The food to me was better than what I was expecting. The main reason to go to the ranch, horse back riding was great. The staff is very knowledgeable about the horses and a persons ability. You are checked out before you get done with the first 500 feet to make sure you are safe. They have a variety of trails so it's not the same ride all the time. You also have three levels of rides to choice from. You have one scheduled ride and can ride as much as you want after that. If watching tv is a priority stay away. You can enjoy yourself without a tv, computer and cell phone service. It was nice not to hear a tv blasting or phone ringing. You do have a phone in the room and able to call from free of charge.

Room Tip: make sure you can see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestguy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stony Creek Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Ranch Resort

Address: 465 Warrensburg Rd, Stony Creek, NY 12878-1613
Region: United States > New York > Stony Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Stony Creek
Price Range: ₹ 6,477 - ₹ 11,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stony Creek Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stony Creek Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1000 Acres Ranch Hotel Stony Creek
1000 Acres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing