We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff exceeds inn”
Review of Three Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Three Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The staff at Three Village Inn is the ONLY saving grace at this historic yet completely in need of 21st century improvements. I love historic inns but the cigarette smoking right outside our room was a shock. We booked a "cottage" for a family wedding. The 'cottage" was more like a 1950s cabin. Right outside the bedroom of this cottage sat two people chain smoking. We immediately returned to the front desk. Everyone was apologetic but were not able to remedy the situation-it is the porch which runs in front of these attached cabins which is a smoking permitted area. They gave us a room in the main inn and graciously did not hold us to the second night we booked.. So these three stars are for the front desk staff-they were wonderful and clearly working with an impossible situation.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins seem acceptable. There is no wifi (in the entire town)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Frances J,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at the Three Village Inn. We understand that you experienced an unpleasant situation while arriving at your cottage, however we are glad that our Front Desk Staff was able to remedy the situation by promptly moving you to one of the Main House rooms. I hope that the unique room in the Main House of the Inn reminded you of why you love historic inns. It is truly a beautiful, historic setting we have here at the Inn and I hope our staff was able to turn your stay around for the better! We would love to welcome you back to enjoy a stay at the Three Village Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2016

At this lovely location to attend a wedding. The wedding was outside, beautiful grounds. As this was at 6:30 pm would have been nice to have lighting to see the bride and groom. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Food was delicious. Unfortunately did not stay here so can not review the rooms.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Deborah3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Deborah3302,
We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time celebrating Chris and Jessica’s wedding and enjoyed the food, location, and the friendly and helpful staff. We strive to make each wedding a memorable day for not only the couple, but the guests as well. Thank you for your suggestion and taking the time to share your experience. We hope you get a chance to stay overnight at the Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We were guests at a wedding held at Three Village Inn. It was so charming -- the food was excellent, the room just the right size for my adult daughter and I, and very pleasant and "colonial." The location is beautiful. If you're a fan of strolling (not hiking, not walking, but really strolling - looking as you meander) then this is a great place for a stay as well - the locale is worth spending some time. It also made a good home base for seeing more of Long Island, and the Hamptons. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed, and were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OlyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear OlyJones,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Three Village Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the room accommodations in our historically unique setting. Our location on Stony Brook Harbor is the perfect setting for strolling throughout historic Stony Brook, visiting the shops, and enjoying the scenery. Our staff is happy to hear that they were able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to you joining us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My wife and I attended a wedding held at this Inn in Mid September. The facilities are nice but not luxurious. That being said, they easily accommodated the guests and wedding party and the facilities were large enough to very comfortably seat over 100 individuals for food, dancing and drinks. But this is what most impressed us: A power outage that occurred when a transformer blew off-property and through no fault of the Inn. Some guests were totally out of power. Some had limited electricity in a few receptacles. This lasted until about 2 am when repair crews summoned to the property replaced the defective part. Staff had been checking on guests throughout the episode and assisting them in any way they could. In the morning, when we were checking out, without our even mentioning the episode, the desk staff announced that there would be no charge for our stay!
We felt that this was over and above what would be experienced at more internationally recognized properties and I gratefully declined the offer. The integrity of this establishment would warrant my return on future visits to the Stony Brook area.

Room Tip: cottages are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Tom L,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at the Three Village Inn! We are happy to hear that you found your stay comfortable and that our staff was accommodating during the power outage in the town. We appreciate your kind words as we always strive to provide excellent service! Thanks again. We look forward to you joining us again at the Three Village Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful place to stay. The room was amazing: Spacious, clean, and beautifully designed. Enjoy a walk on the harbor in the morning. Shopping is right across the street. I would LOVE to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Robert S,
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience at Three Village Inn! We are glad to hear that you found the room comfortable and clean and appreciated the room design. The design of the rooms really ties into the beautiful setting of Stony Brook Harbor. We would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Brook
7.4 km away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
516 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
15.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
11.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
913 reviews
14.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Village Inn

Address: 150 Main St, Main St. on the Harbor, Stony Brook, NY 11790-1986
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range: ₹ 11,140 - ₹ 16,710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Three Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Village Hotel Stony Brook
3 Village Inn
Three Village Stony Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing