We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
56
21
14
21
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
21
14
21
40
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2015

While all the information in advance described this as a lovely property, unfortunately, it was NOT. Building is actually just a large farm house and is badly in need of repair. Floorboards on deck are loose, bird droppings on hand rails and all over,... interior is dark and dingy and staff is angry that you arrived for your reservation. AC is ineffective and noisy, rooms are tiny and everything is VERY worn and dirty,. The gardens could be lovely but are not kept up at all....tree boxes are coming apart, nothing is cared for at a reasonable level. Can see why it is not on AAA and why they insist on charging you before you see the accommodations!
It is not a place to stay and certain would put a wedding off to a terrible start. suggest you move on!

Room Tip: stay someplace else!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

At one time this was a magnificent hotel but no more...The $168.00 that we paid for the one night stay in the "carriage house" was highway robbery - the small room was no more than a cheap motel. Actually, worse than that - the room had no amenities - no cups, the toiletries consisted of a half bottle of body cream (had been previously used), no shampoo, no shower cap -and paper thin wash cloths. The king bed were two twin beds pulled together. The window blinds did not function and the curtains appeared worn and dirty. No television - which is okay for me but good to know. Think twice before staying here - you might be better off in a Motel ...........seriously!

Room Tip: carriage house equivalent to a cheap motel
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Biancalove2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Our daughter and her (then) fiance were married in late August in a lovely ceremony at the Belevedere Mansion. And despite rainy hour during the time scheduled for the ceremony, the indoor ceremony was very lovely. Jill and her staff magically transferred the seating and chupah indoors and all was kept to a schedule. The dinner party and dancing were equally enjoyable inside the large tents - and once the flaps went up - the guests were treated to a most beautiful sunset. For us, Belevedere was an ideal venue to celebrate our children on this very special day - the well appointed rooms and the patios were ideal and gave an impression of having a cocktail party in a private home. All guests enjoyed the grounds and some even the swimming pool. We are most grateful to Jill and her staff for making this a weekend that will be remembered by all for a long time. The food and the accompanying wines were ideally paired by Nick. We are glad to have accepted his many suggestions. Finally, Vladimir is an exceptional barman - and all guests enjoyed his joviality and fine drinks. So - Jill, Nick and Vladimir and your staff - many thanks for making this special day a magical experience for our children, their friends, our families and friends. Thanks much. Wish you continued success.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slackerforhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Dirty, musty, bug infested! We booked guests to stay at this property thinking it would be a special stay for them. When we went with them to check the room we were greeted by about 20-30 bugs crawling all over the ceiling! When we complained the "rude" woman at the front desk she merely said oh you mean the "stink bugs" (are you kidding me?) They gave us another room, it had less bugs. After this embarrassing discovery we demanded a refund- the front desk woman had the nerve to have an attitude instead of being apologetic! Im sure this was a spectacular place in 1920, it looks as if they haven’t changed a thing! PS 300.00 for a crappy room, I’d rather stay at a Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Leela0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad I did not go by Trip Advisor reviews. We just enjoyed the nicest weekend at Belvedere Mansion. Our room ( Lafayette suite) was nicely appointed; comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, WiFi, spotless bathroom with deep tub, gorgeous views of Catskill mountains in the distance & Hudson River. There is also a large terrace off of the bedroom with lounge chairs. Breakfast was delicious (Vegetable fritatta for me & Belgian waffles for my daughter). The in ground pool was warm & refreshing. As guests, we were left undisturbed to explore the house & grounds at our leisure. We will definitely be back, hopefully with more time to enjoy this gorgeous historic (1760) property.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Maggie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews