We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Hamptons, average anywhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Southampton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southampton Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for Hamptons, average anywhere else”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is the first time I stayed in this property as the off-season rates are much higher than other Hamptons properties (Enclave, Atlantic). I had to wait to check in as there was a shift change, which was a bit frustrating as it was late and I just wanted to go to sleep. Once I got to my room, I was pleasantly surprised as my expectations were not very high.

The king sized bed was comfortable, and the size of the room was large. The room was clean and bright. The bathroom had a full tub with good water pressure and was also clean. The metal stand in the bathroom was rusted, so I would suggest the hotel replace that as it detracted from the appearance.

The wifi worked well. All in all, it was probably one of the better stays I have had in the area, but unsure whether I would stay here again when a room at the Hyatt or Indigo Inn in Riverside can be had for 50% less.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    57
    32
    56
See reviews for
78
90
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Easy to find, this was a perfect fit for a training venue as well as lodging experience.
Do not pass up "The Southampton Inn" if you are looking for a spacious, clean, classy meeting room for training or any corporate gathering.From start to finish, my visit to the Southampton Inn was amazing. Suzanne, a lovely lady who coordinated the seminar room for my training initiative, was on her game. Everything was set-up and ready to go upon my arrival. My one-night stay in the hotel was quite pleasant and peaceful. The bed was as comfortable as my own and the linens were immaculate. Even the girls that checked you in and out were efficient and friendly. It was a charming venue and I could only imagine how beautiful it is in the summer months. I've stayed in many places around the hamptons, this one is my favorite. The value was great too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryellendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We just stayed one night at the Southampton Inn in
hanuary. The room was pretty and clean. Same as the lobby and restaurant (but consider that restuarant is closed in the winter for dinner). In fact I have read bad views abiut the cleanliness of this hotel. I must say that I had a completely different experience.And I am snsitive to the dirt. If there is some dirt, I usually notice that. The hotel in the complex is basic but I don't think you should expect five star ambience for $149/night (I guess if the prices are higher in other moments, the expectations are higher, as they should be). the staff is nice (maybe not a lot of staff, if I can say something, but the people that I have dealt with, are nice). the best part is the playroom that is huge, has many toys, viogames and a pingpong table. we had a great time with the children. Only one notation for people that like me have allergy: I had a bad night. I don't know aht it was but I had an allergy attack in the middle of the night. The rug? I really don't know.(there is a nice kitty in the library and that is allergenic to me but I really don't think that they allow him in the guest rooms which would explain the attack - but as I said I don't think so because the rooms are clean and I would notice cat's hairs). There is a pool but I havn't seen it. in general, a good pick for families.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancyG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here 12/31/11 for the New Year's Eve party. We were a bit concerned about some of the negative reviews, but we were very happy with everything about the Southampton Inn. We have stayed in about 15 places from East Hampton to Montauk. Despite what you might think, very little lodging in the Hamptons is elegant...at least not for less than very big money.

This is probably at the high end of what we have seen. Sure, it is more like a motel, but again, so are most of the places out east. Everything was clean and in good repair, the hotel looked nice and they put on a decent party. Food was nothing to rave about, but for the price it was a good value. The management and staff kept checking to be sure we were having a good time, and they tried hard to please. We will most likely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Patchogue
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We went to a New Year's Eve Party Yesterday and stayed overnight. The accomodations were much nicer than we anticipated. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Parking was very convenient and adequate.
The food for the party was exceptional and the open bar was adequate enough for all in attendance. The staff was the friendliest we have ever seen in a NY setting Especially Dawn and Linda Marie. Any requests were simply met and the brunch the next day was extensive and due to the holiday they kept it going from 10am until 2pm. Everyone was given a late checkout. For the price of the weekend it was exceptional and this could easily become a tradition with some of our friends and family.
We would definitely try to come back for another quick getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vito L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
4.6 km away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
62 reviews
2.0 km away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
92 reviews
15.1 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.0 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
100 reviews
36.9 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Inn

Property: Southampton Inn
Address: 91 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,206 - ₹ 37,116
Hotel Class:3 star — Southampton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southampton Inn is a gracious 90 room hotel in the heart of Southampton Village. Set on 5 luciously landscaped acres and expansive lawns, we are only steps from some of the best shopping and restaurants in the Hamptons. During the summer season, we are proud to provide shuttle service to and from Coopers Beach, named the #1 Beach in America by Dr. Beach in 2010. Our kitchen is delighted to prepare delicious fare and present it to you in our own Oso restaurant, the Euro-esque courtyard or the patio adjoining our heated outdoor pool, from 7a.m. to 7p.m. 7 days a week in season. Best of all, our friendly and courteous staff is available 24 hours a day with all the Hampton's Inside Information to make your stay all the more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Southampton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Inn Ny
Southampton Bed Breakfast
Southampton Inn Southampton
Southampton b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing