We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bet all purpose one stop shopping for the home!”
Review of Hildreth's

Hildreth's
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Southampton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hildreth's Home Goods Established in 1842. Located in Southampton NY on Main street.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“the bet all purpose one stop shopping for the home!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If y ou need anything for the home, this is the spot. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable.
Many times I end of going to Gracious HOmes in the city and then find out that I could have gotten most of it right in Southampton!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgehampton
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Oldest Department Store in the Country”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The store is wonderful, the creeking wood floor are reminiscent of days gone by and the variety of inventory can't be found in any "department" store today. My favorite department is the lamps and lampshades - believe it or not! The prices are high - but this IS the Hamptons, but a walk through is nothing short of delightful.

Helpful?
Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Store”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Anything you need for home, Hildreth's has it! They are, if I remember correctly, the oldest continual store in the US. They carry furniture, lamps, dishes, housewares, lamps: everything. Sometimes I've gotten small things like place mats, other times, I've gotten outdoor furniture. All of it is charming and country-ish.

Helpful?
Thank ronacom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk County< NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Store”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is my favorite place to shop. The store has beautiful things. I walk thru even if I am not looking for something . I always bring my guest to see the store. It is the oldest deptartment store in the county! I find the people who work there to be very friendly, helpful and polite. And I just found out this past summer that upstairs they have furniture that is lovely~

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Interiors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for high end decorating ideas and needs!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I always love to browse through Hildreth's! They have beautiful items and home decor pieces that any beach home must have! They always seem to be on the cutting edge of home fashion ideas and trends.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah-AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hildreth's also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Hildreth's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing