We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benjamin Porter House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benjamin Porter House
Ranked #7 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

This review is so long overdue! I spent an amazing 4th of July weekend in Skaneateles with my partner, visiting some friends in the area. Had heard that we simply had to check out the Benjamin Porter House, and that was no lie.

We've stayed at many fine hotels and resorts (paying much more than BPH charges, by the way) and the accommodations here compare very favorably. Rooms are admirably appointed with fine linens and antiques, paintings on the walls by proprietor Kathy...the list goes on.

Kathy and her husband Bill are gracious hosts. Breakfast was fantastic every time, but the company even better!

Skaneateles was very quaint, a totally relaxing escape from NYC. I've never seen water so blue! The weather was perfect too: cool mornings with comfortable daytime highs in the 70s. All in all, a great weekend.

If you're in the Syracuse area, stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The house itself. I could have stayed inside all day and been content!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLS10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

This has to be one of the most disappointing places we have ever had the misfortune to stumble on. The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful with the most comfortable bed ever however we got no sleep as our host spent ALL NIGHT watching TV in the room directly beneath us. What a waste of money. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The TV
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

This bed and breakfast is very conveniently located in the centre of Skaneateles. You can easily walk to anywhere you need to go in the town. We stayed in the Master Suite which had a beautiful jacuzzi tub that overlooked the garden, as well as a very comfortable four poster king size bed. The home itself if very tastefully decorated with the owner's art. In the morning, we picked up our coffee in the kitchen, chatted with Kathy & Bill and enjoyed the warmth of the open fire - so wonderful. A delicious breakfast was served in the dining room on fine china. Truly a wonderful place to stay. It's too bad the room prices in Skaneateles are all so over priced, because that is really the only complaint I have. I have stayed in bed and breakfast accomodations that were equally as lovely and only paid half the price elsewhere.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

My husband and I stayed at the porter house for a wedding we were attending and I plan on making another booking for this summer because we had such a wonderful experience. Owners Kathy and Bill are intelligent and hospitable--making for an overall enjoyable and enlightening trip to a small finger lakes town. You're crazy not to visit.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank larmatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
0.3 km away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
1.5 km away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
11.1 km away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
11.5 km away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
0.1 km away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin Porter House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin Porter House

Property: Benjamin Porter House
Address: 10 State St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1208
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,091 - ₹ 16,363
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Skaneateles bed & breakfast, the Benjamin Porter House is located in the heart of Skaneateles, a short walk from the lake, shopping, restaurants, and all the charms a small village has to offer. The home is surrounded tall maple trees, a stream that meanders around the property and a pond. A brick patio and fountain with a view of the large lawn and manicured gardens offer tranquility and beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benjamin Porter House Skaneateles, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing