We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Dump, and What a Shady Operation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birds Nest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birds Nest Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Dump, and What a Shady Operation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I don't know where to begin. I reserved 3 rooms and specifically gave the dates, and asked for an email confirmation, which I never received. When my daughter called to add a day to her reservation, she found out that the rooms had been reserved a month LATER than we had reserved them for. Then, when I called the manager to tell him that someone else was picking up the tab on my son's reservation, and that my son had reserved his own room he said fine, no problem - he would deduct the room charge from my credit card deposit and cancel the third room. Again I asked for written confirmation, but received none. When we got to the motel, the room we had was musty and smelled awful. (We had to take all our clothes that were in a plastic wardrobe bag and further encased in clear plastic to the dry cleaners for an additional charge of $85.00.) We paid for two rooms for 2 days up front. Period. The second morning of our stay, the assistant manager called and told me we were being charged extra because our daughter never checked into her room. WE SAW OUR DAUGHTER TAKE HER ROOM KEY AND WALK IN THE ROOM. The assistant manager said I would have to take that up with the manager, Bob Evans. When we checked out, Bob told us we were docked $110.00 for the third room we booked. This after I had cancelled the third room well in advance of the cancellation date. He said he would have to "eat" the cancellation. I pointed out to him that I never received any written confirmation, and he said that they "always" send confirmation. LIE.
Then, I pointed out that he did not have the reservation date correct the first time, and he said in a menacing tone - "Don't even go there with me because that was rectified." He told me he would credit my account from the money he tried to dock, but to be on the safe side I called my credit card company and disputed any charge coming from the motel. If after this review you STILL decide to stay at this dump, make SURE you get written confirmation. Also, pay up front and do not accept any false charges. And bring your own shampoo, since the packets that are provided are impossible to open. If I have any problems with the disputed charge, this establishment is going to get reported to the Better Business Bureau.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bevi525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    14
    18
    24
See reviews for
24
27
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I made reservations five months in advance for five rooms from Friday to Monday to attend a family wedding. I was never sent a confirmation, but my credit card was charged $709 to hold the rooms, I suppose, but no one informed me of this! A few days before the event, two of the folks I reserved rooms for needed to arrive a day later, so they called the owner directly. Long story short, the owner said that the reservations were for Friday through Tuesday and he was not reimbursing us for the $709 charge. Even though he was able to rent out the rooms, I was out my money. Skanaeteles is a great little town, but I recommend that you stay anywhere but here. Bob Evans, the owner, is a crooked businessman who took my money and then did this same thing to other folks who were also in town for the same wedding.

Room Tip: Book a room at one of the inns in the center of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skaneateles hotels

Abingdon, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here at last minute on way through finger lake region. Stayed in a room with a jacuzzi at the back. Staff very helpful and friendly with loads of tips for dinner in town. Breakfast was ok - bagels and muffins really.

Room was quite clean though dont look too hard behind the beds... Rooms could probably do with a deep clean. Coffee machine in room hadnt been emptied between uses.

Quite good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Wasn't horrible, definitely seen better. Close to town, but smelled a little musty. The front desk staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 6Cal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osterville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Excellent place and very friendly staff. Spacious and very clean rooms with air conditioning and very cozy. Not noisy at all as last year when we stayed at the holiday inn at Auburn it was very noisy and this was a nice change. They have a nice pool here too and the doggy at the bird's nest is very friendly and likes to play ball. They have a food and ice cream place right next door which is convenient. Definitely coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
4.1 km away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.9 km away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
13.7 km away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
14.1 km away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
5.4 km away
Skaneateles Inn on 20
Skaneateles Inn on 20
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Motel

Property: Birds Nest Motel
Address: 1601 US Route 20, Skaneateles, NY 13152-8870
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lakeside town of Skaneateles, the Birds Nest offers you 31 rooms and suites on a quiet country setting. All rooms and suites are non-smoking. The standard rooms are 400 square feet and all feature high speed internet, Climate control heating and cooling, flat screen cable television, phone and private bath. The suites are 600 square feet and addition to the room amenities they also include coffee and tea service, full bath, microwave and refrigerator. They are great for families and the business traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bird`s Nest Hotel Skaneateles
The Birds Nest Hotel
Birds Nest Motel Skaneateles, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing