We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
34
40
22
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
40
22
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room mirbeau spa log cabin finger lakes large person pendleton blanket adirondack decor rustic lodge adirondack feel comfy cozy coffee machine past few years cute shops sunday night place to stay an overnight stay in town
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

I planned a two-night stay here and was looking forward to it after reading all the great reviews. However, when we arrived to our room (714) there were spiders all over the walls, ceiling, headboard, and lamps. After killing about 12 spiders myself, we called the front desk and they said they were sending someone up to look at it. A housekeeping lady came to our room with her little duster and said "oh wow there are spiders everywhere again!" I asked her if this was common at the hotel and she looked at me and stated "yes, they're in all of the rooms and they keep coming back no matter how much we dust. There's even more spiders in the other room around the corner." She got rid of all of the webs and killed all of spiders she saw, but even after she left there were still spiders everywhere, including ones that were quite big and had a hard exterior. Disappointed, we drove back over to the front desk at Mirabeau and the receptionist looked at us and said she wasn't surprised if we wanted a refund because "who wants to sleep with spiders?" After being ignored for a couple minutes, they said they would finally process our refund and that unfortunately the Mirabeau was booked and that we would have to find somewhere else to say. However, it took 3 staff members to figure out how to process a refund and took up a good amount of time.The staff did not seem very empathetic and said we'll just have to find somewhere else to stay and suggested a couple places (all of which were all booked). After an hour and a half of calling around, I was finally able to find a place to stay owned by the Sherwood Inn, whom were kind enough to upgrade our room free of charge after hearing about what happened to us at the Mirabeau/Fingerlakes Lodging. It's unfortunate to think that the staff at the Mirabeau had nothing to offer as an apology for wasting a total of 2 1/2 hours of our time, but another hotel who had nothing to do with the situation was very kind and considerate and provided us with a room upgrade and free breakfast. Overall, I am extremely disappointed with this establishment and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 377kaylaf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

My wife has stayed here several times over the past few years and has always raved about her stay. Her stays were always late fall. We stayed during a heat wave and so the air conditioning was on. We were in room 702, an upstairs suite. The air conditioner was an older window model and so loud that it disrupted our sleep. The mattress and bedding were amazing - same as used in Mirbeau across the street so this is a huge plus. The shower, not tub is very good with a strong spray. The furnishings are getting tired. The desk chair is rustic and uncomfortable, and also there is no useful outlet near the desk making work difficult. The building certainly has charm and you are allowed to use some of the facilities and grounds at Mirbeau which is a big plus but overall the stay was no better than just OK.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the regular rooms and don't bother with the upstairs suite
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelingPaul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We travel quite a bit and stay in all sorts of places. Our daughter passes by this place each day on her way to work. She investigated and suggested we try it. We stayed across the street in their Finger Lakes Lodge.
From the outside it doesn’t look that great. The weather has deteriorated the rustic wood. However, the interior is very charming and has that Adirondack feel. The bed was very comfortable! The shower was good, too. We had trouble with our TV but they handled the situation to our satisfaction.
We will return as we really enjoyed the town and lake. The staff could not have been better, especially Jose!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We went to Skaneateles on a Sunday night for a friend's birthday dinner. The birthday girl and her husband were staying at Mirbeau for a couple of spa days. We couldn't see spending more than $275 for an overnight stay at the spa, but we did want to stay overnight. So we went to handy-dandy TripAdvisor to find an alternative. Finger Lakes Lodging (dumb name) is a simple little motel across the street from Mirbeau. It is owned by Mirbeau. We booked a room for $99.

The room was great. Clean, cozy and couldn't possibly be more convenient. There is an Adirondack feel to the decor - lots of birch, moose, deer, pine cones, etc. The bed was very very comfortable - complete with a genuine Pendelton blanket on top. There was a gas cast-iron stove in the corner for extra coziness, and a bentwood rocker for relaxing. The bathroom is basic - shower not tub, but very comfortable.

Several of the previous reviews complained about the size of the shower - no complaints here. As a large man over 6' tall, I had no problem. I thought it was a generously sized shower stall. Other complaints were of the general smallishness of the room. Again, no complaints from us. It is cozy, and slightly smaller than a standard hotel room, but we had no problems being in the space. It is well designed, easy to move around, and plenty of space. I would not enjoy this room if I needed to spend hours of awake time there, but that is not what we came to Skaneateles for.

No coffee in the room, but 2 doors down in the very comfortable Great Room there is a kitchenette, complimentary coffee, tea, cocoa and water 24 hours/day.

This is a great property. I would gladly stay again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RochesterTraveler585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

A small cluster of rooms, and a common lounge. Room was very spacious and clean. Interesting north woods decor rarely seen elsewhere. Pricey. Same management as an upscale hotel across and down the road. Should have included breakfast, but there is a diner across the street. Wish it were in Skaneatles. Not walkable.

Room Tip: We weren't given a choice of rooms. We were assigned an accessible room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDMalcolm, General Manager at Finger Lakes Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

October is our favorite time or year and one of the busiest in the Finger Lakes region. Thank you for spending some time at Finger Lakes Lodging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews