We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, charming, beautiful views!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Renwick Clifton House
Ranked #5 of 16 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant, charming, beautiful views!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This truly is a lovely mansion right out of the old south, decorated beautifully with antiques, and special touches that make one immediately feel welcome, as did our hostess, Miriam. The pretty decorations at the entrance added to the feel of the autumn season. Our room was luxurious with a breathtaking view of the Hudson River. The bath was updated and spacious. The chocolates and bottled water refreshed each day were appreciated. The gourmet breakfast was delicious each morning, and the snacks and beverages provided throughout the day and evening, were a nice touch. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the parlor pre-dinner and a sip of brandy before retiring to our room at the end of the evening. Miriam is a gracious hostess and provides wonderful service to her guests. This is a lovely place to stay in the Hudson River Valley!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

From the moment Miriam greeted us at the front door, to our final good bye 3 days later our stay at the Renwick Clifton was perfect. The 1812 mansion retained the original charm and beauty and elegance that you would expect from that period of time. The 4 course gourmet breakfast, cooked by Eric, was unique and spectacular everyday. Our breakfast table was set with the finest China and the food was served by Miriam. The back porch view of the Hudson was beautiful. Our stay was quiet and peaceful and this is one location we would plan to return. Our goal was to see an evening play in NYC and visit Ellis Island, taking the nearby Amtrack was the only way to travel. Miriam and Eric are a genuine, down to team that are easy to talk to and offered suggestions about what to do in the area. Complimentary wine and cheese, unlimited coffee and snacks were available 24 hours a day. On the day we left, Miriam and Eric were decorating the front of the mansion for fall, a display worthy of a magazine cover. We plan to return in near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trenbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We are heading back to the Renwick Clifton House B&B in about 5 weeks....I am counting down the days. Days I get to spend with my husband, relaxing, taking in the country air, hearing the pretty music that plays in the Miriam's dining room as you enter for breakfast, snacking on Miriam's snack mix that she keeps in the table in the breakfast room, sitting on the back porch, hearing the birds, taking in the autumn scenery, the colors, the smell, the sounds....after a trip to the Renwick, I come home recharged, refreshed, rested and relaxed...sounds inviting, doesn't it?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalineLovesRoadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This mansion is gorgeous... each room is more striking than the next! The view from our room of the river was so nice. But, the best part was breakfast on the huge back porch overlooking the carefully manicured lawn and river in the distance. In the evening wine and hors doeuvres were offered, as well as snacks. Just a very classy place run by nice people!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaUtahlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Renwick Clifton House is by far, the BEST B & B that Ulster County has to offer if you want elegance, great views, and authentic Hudson Valley atmosphere. Everything from the decor of the entire property, to the bed linens, to the back patio view of the Hudson, to the delectable breakfast, the owners dotted EVERY "i" and crossed EVERY "t". Each room is decorated with taste that reflects the time period-no gaude, just class. Wine and cheese is served late afternoon, and any wish is your command.
This place says 5 stars with relaxation in mind. Even the bathrooms are luxurious with marble tiles and jacuzzi tubs! Wow!

Room Tip: Stay in the Mary Powell room -the best!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gcaNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.8 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
165 reviews
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
14.8 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renwick Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renwick Clifton House

Property: Renwick Clifton House
Address: 27 Barclay St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1905
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing