We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Batcheller Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificient Escape”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have stayed in Saratoga Springs numerous time and have lodged at various hotels. None. Not one was as unique or as special as Batcheller Mansion Inn. From the second you you notice the building, your mind begins to imagine what it must be like within. Walking through the front door, you immediately know you have found an amazingly wonderful Inn. Every detail, from decorations to furnishings, make you feel special, as if you were back in time, and most delighted to be there. The guest rooms are elegant and stately with luxurious beds, and the abundant rooms give a sense of freedom from the outside world. And if you like a special meal to start your day, it will be personally prepared for you. It's a great stay.

Room Tip: Look on the website and choose one to your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
172
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here while visiting family in Saratoga Springs, and enjoyed the ambiance. Very quiet, so not for those seeking a party atmosphere. Our room was quirky (could have used two bedside lamps--but that is ALWAYS my complaint), and I'm not sure we mastered the heating unit, but the mansion was well maintained and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband & I were in town to visit our son at Skidmore. We indulged in a night at the Batcheller! Stayed in the Grant Room - the in-room billiards table and the double-sized jacuzzi were terrific enhancements! Enjoyed the mansion's ambience and history; appreciated the staff's friendliness. They assisted us last minute in changing a dinner reservation for two to a reservation for three during peak dining time on a busy weekend. Breakfast was a treat!! Convenient walking location. Highly recommend the Batcheller!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJayJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Beautiful rooms , friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. We would recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric12302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We are locals who take "backyard vacations" at Batcheller Mansion twice a year; once with friends from Boston and once alone. The fact that we have had this tradition going for 3 years is itself a recommendation. We've stayed at perhaps a dozen B&Bs from Virginia to Hawaii and Batcheller Mansion is at the top of our list. The property is architecturally unique having been built to order by George Batchellor in the 1870s. Dan, the innkeeper, and his team will gladly show you around and explain the history of the house and the Batchellor family. They all do seem to love their jobs and the house and that makes for a warm and comfortable visit.

Over several visits, we and our friends have stayed in most of the rooms. Each is fabulous from the smaller rooms to the Grant, which has a full sized pool table. You will find luxurious bedding, pillows, and lots of fluffy towels in all rooms. The common rooms are welcoming and far from a "hands off the antiques" attitude we have experienced at some B&Bs, here the house is meant to be enjoyed. There is even a piano with a sign on it inviting those with the skill to play. The entire house is spotlessly clean (thanks to Michael) and perfectly maintained with period details and modern conveniences. A minor issue reported at breakfast was being addressed before we even finished our meal.

Ah, breakfast! Scones are light, not too sweet, and subtly flavored based on season and presumably Dan's whim. Blueberries are a frequent addition to the scone batter but we enjoyed pineapple coconut on our last visit. Don't miss Dan's blueberry stuffed French Toast: the filling is creamy and the blueberry flavor comes through but the stuffing does not overwhelm. His hot mulled apple cider is a perfect accompaniment. My husband prefers an omelet with everything. Again, Dan hits the mark. All flavors are clear and present but nothing is over the top.

In fact, that is the best way to sum up Batcheller Mansion: subtle elegance that whispers perfection so that you notice nothing but the fabulous relaxing time you are having.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.0 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
575 reviews
0.1 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
398 reviews
2.3 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
756 reviews
0.8 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
294 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#11 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Property: Batcheller Mansion Inn
Address: 20 Circular St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4203
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,416 - ₹ 32,801
Hotel Class:2 star — Batcheller Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing